We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value relative to one's choices nearby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very good value relative to one's choices nearby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Great location on the Cove Bay Beach. Booked a partial view Oceanside room with breakfast included for $229. Thoughtful touches throughout - complimentary nuts with afternoon cocktails and rain slickers in the guest room closets. Would definitely stay here again - possibly grab a cottage instead with a larger group.

Room Tip: partial view is approx. $50-60 cheaper than full view and you still get a great vista over the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canoehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your make a good point regarding our partial view rooms; the view is still pretty awesome. I always remember booking a room billed as a partial view room in Hawaii, if you hung precariously over the balcony rail, you got a tiny glimpse of the ocean!

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,104
    461
    120
    51
    17
See reviews for
727
1,531
95
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Saanich, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We recently stayed in one of the Rain Forest cottages at the Long Beach Lodge in Tofino. What an enchanting few days...incredible weather, wonderful service, superior accommodation, amazing sunsets and of course the overall ambiance of this magical place. I'd like to comment about the arrangements made in advance of our visit to attend our every need. We had made very specific requests regarding our daily activity which other resorts had not attempted to provide for us. The attitude of the staff here was to try in every way to make our stay as positive as possible; everything we had asked for was provided. We also had our dog with us and I can definitely state that this is a dog-friendly place! What a paradise for any pet. The Great Room in the Lodge is one of the most relaxing and spectacular places in which to wile away some hours... easy to forget that time is slipping by. Don't hesitate to visit this resort. My only regret was that we had to leave and I can attest to the fact that this was not our first visit to Long Beach Lodge, nor will it be our last.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ccorgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your great review, you are a real fan! Comments like yours makes it all worth while for our wonderful staff and myself. We will look forward to your next visit.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed a weekend for a friends wedding. We come to Tofino once a year and this was our first time staying at the Lodge.

Check In: Smooth friendly process. Our room was ready to go when we arrived and they provided us with a good overview of the property and amenities. We were given a lovely reusable bag and a coupon for a discount at the gift shop.

Room: We stayed in a deluxe oceanfront room. The room was clean and spacious. Very comfortable bed with nice amenities in the room. A little fridge, coffee, tea, wineglasses and more. The bathroom amenities were nice too. The fireplace place was lovely, we lit it up in the evening and dragged the chairs to enjoy both fire and view with a glass of wine. The only negative I would throw in for the room was the shutters for the bathroom. If you are a private soul, the toilet is more shared time than private time. In a perfect world ... leave the shutters so you can enjoy a bath with the view and enclose the toilet space. In lieu of that turn on the radio or TV for quiet time.

Food: we enjoyed two mornings of the breakfast buffet which was included in our room cost. it was delicious... for extra $$ you can order eggs and other items a'la carte but we were quite satisfied with what they had out for us. Premium coffee and tea, lots of croissants, cinnamon buns, cereals, yogurts and fruits. We ordered room service on one of the afternoons and had the seafood chowder. Oh so delicious.. no really... you must try this if you are a chowder fan. Our dinners were provided through the wedding party. Pizza night on Friday and catered on Saturday. For those interested the catering menu provided was wonderful.

Surfing: There is a surf club at the lodge - a bit pricey for one soul to go have a lesson as there were no organised group lessons. $189 plus cost of gear $39. If you have more than one in your party then the $189 is split... up to a group of 5 where it becomes very reasonable. Cox Bay is great for beginner surfing, I have participated on another occasion with a different group.

Gift Shop: They have great lattes, cappuccinos. mochas etc there and also some lovely local artist crafted jewellery. They also carry the usual gift shop sundries , t-shirts, boots, hats etc.

Overall: We really enjoyed our stay at Long Beach Lodge, it is pricey but they provide the service and quality one would expect for those $$. I would recommend this resort to everyone looking for that full service getaway.

Room Tip: Waterfront room is worth the $$. So nice to sit and enjoy the view, coffee in hand
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Lodge and your friends wedding. We are doing some exciting changes and improvements to the resort this winter, so hopefully you will enjoy them on your next visit!

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

If this is the first time you've headed out toTofino, you wont be disappointed with your stay at Long Beach Resort(LBR). You can be accommodated either in the Lodge or in one of their cottages. We stayed with two friends in a two bedroom cottage with two bathrooms. They are not ensuite - I guess so that there is more flexibility with the number of people staying. The Lounge has a remote control gas fire with good flame effect, small TV and DVD - You can obtain DVD's and games from reception free of charge. The cottages come with a hot tub which is really only suitable for two and is only semi private as the cottages are semi attached. There is a hot pool by the surf club but this was occupied in the days by children. LBR is not an Adult Retreat.

Free internet is provided but was almost non existent in our cottage- there could be improvement by remedying that. Signal was fine in the lodge.

There is a kitchen but surprisingly no dishwasher - which I would have expected to be the norm in a vacation rental of this calibre - safer for hygiene purposes too. Although we didnt have a pet, you can take your dog, although some owners had sadly allowed their pet to foul the roadway despite facilities provided by LBR.

If you dont want to drink and drive( pretty normal nowadays), the lodge has a good restaurant and you can eat in the Main Hall too, which is fabulous it you just want to enjoy the view, relax on a comfy sofa or sit by the log fire.

The Food is good, however, portion sizes vary form Nouveau Cuisine style to generous, particularly with the fish and chips!! Wine is outrageously priced and spoiled the occasion a little.. Of course Tofino is not the easiest place to get too and increased transportation costs must be considered but $56 for a cheaper bottle of BC red is a tad high. They do offer wine by the 5oz glass but again, overpriced.

Tofino has a good selection of Inns and eateries but as we ate in on the second night,we will have to experience these on our next trip.

Despite the comments above, we all loved the feel of this resort lodge and would highly recommend it to travellers. Our last visit was 10 years ago - so we do come back. I think I would rate it at 4.5 Stars rather than a 5 - I guess if it was a 5 star, the wine prices would be even higher - LOL :)

Room Tip: If Internet is important to you and youre staying in the cottages - ask for a cottage with a Wifi ae...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments, i am glad you enjoyed your visit. The wifi is our biggest issue, very annoying as we have no control over it. Telus has agreed to supply service to the area, with in the next two years, it is a big job as they need to run in new cable from the centre part of the island.
We are starting a program, in January, where dishes will be washed daily by cottage staff.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

LBL is definitely going through some changes. There is a lot of new staff and the home away from home feeling was missing from our recent visit. But, with all changes, things will return to the norm. A core group of staff remains and will bring the new staff up to the exceptional standard we have always experienced. We know our next visit will find LBL remembering all the details of a returning guests that made us feel special over the years and a renewed standard of exceptional service. Highly recommended, and the view from the Great Room can not be beat!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrJBjornson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am delighted you got to experience one of our beautiful October sunsets, they have been spectacular! After the departure of our General Manager, September a year ago, there were some management changes. I believe we now have the best team we have ever had. Also, this winter we are doing a number of upgrades and improvements to the hotel and cottages, that we are very excited about.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

As we only had 5 days on the Island and wanted to see Victoria also, we only ended up with one full day in Tofino which is just beatiful. As others have said the setting of this hotel is amazing, we watched the sun go down on our balcony with a glass of red, just perfect end to a day. Our room was really big and looked over the beach, just such a lovely way to wake up and see the beach. The restaurant setting is wonderful with great views and great food. We will be back for longer next time as didn't have time to use any of the facilities, or fully experience Tofino.

Room Tip: Book a room that looks out onto the beach, just amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tetchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, one day is not enough time in Tofino! I hope you have an opportunity to visit us as a return guest, in the not too distant future.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

A very pleasant way to spend a few days in any season, from summer sun to winter storms. Pleasant, casual staff, surf lessons with complete rentals, dining room, and near to the charming villages of Ucluelet and Tofino.

Room Tip: Beach facing rooms offer a view of the surf coming in off the Pacific. Pets are allowed in ground l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your visit. You are correct in that every season is great at the Lodge and Tofino. The Pacific marine environment is very unique, the ocean sets the mood!

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Property: Long Beach Lodge Resort
Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing