We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A+ Views, C+ Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A+ Views, C+ Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed for four nights at Long Beach Lodge Resort at the end of August. The lodge is beautiful - contemporary with lots of wood and huge windows overlooking the lovely Cox Bay. The beach is sandy, very wide, with rocks full of tidepools teaming with marine life. We didn’t try the surfing but it looked like great fun.
We reserved the room a few weeks in advance and the only room available was an oceanfront standard under the dining hall. While we could hear chairs scraping on the floor above a bit in the late evening and early morning, this did not bother us. Otherwise, the room was very quiet but for the sound of the ocean roaring out our sliding glass doors. Even though the room was on the ground floor the view of the ocean was great and we had a patio with two chairs just outside our door.
Our room did not have some of the amenities of the deluxe oceanfront rooms. We did not have an overhang for our patio, so it was hard to sit outside as it sprinkled/rained off and on the entire time we were there. We also did not have a fireplace or a soaking tub as do the deluxe rooms.
Oddly enough, the room did not have a screen door when we arrived, as did the other rooms. When we complained, the staff told us the door was being repaired, but they came up with one for us. Also the 4 pillows that were on the bed were all extremely thick. We made do the first night but complained in the morning and staff replaced two of the thick pillows with ones of a more standard height. One would have hoped for a mix of pillows to start with.
Our biggest problem was that we did not find the king bed comfortable at all - it hurt our backs. My husband had extra problems as the length of the bed had been turned sideways, so it was wider than long – and not long enough for him (He is 6 ft 4 inches, as was the bed, as it was oriented). We told the staff the bed was oriented the wrong way, but they didn’t turn it. I felt uncomfortable having to make so many requests during our stay. We found the staff polite but not cordial, for the most part.
Our internet access was okay, but slow. We were near the business center and a conference area so our wireless was as good as our wired. If you are concerned, bring your wire to plug in.
The breakfast, which was included, was fine by us. It was a buffet with lots of freshly baked breads, including a different type of scone each day, croissants, sweet rolls, yoghurt, fresh fruit salad, granola, other cold cereals, oatmeal, great raisins and fruit compote, bread, homemade jams, and more.
We ate dinner at the lodge one night and the food was delicious. The views in the dining area are stellar and the service was satisfactory. One standout in the dining area was Chris, who was extremely helpful to us when we first arrived, giving us good recommendations for other places to eat as we had arrived too late in the evening to eat at the lodge. He continued to be very friendly to us whenever we saw him during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CascadiaPNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review. Hopefully on your next visit you will be able to get a deluxe beachfront room and you will be able to give us two A pluses! We do book up early for the summer, so it is a good idea to book well in advance when there is still a good choice of room types.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,104
    461
    120
    51
    17
See reviews for
727
1,531
95
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Awesome food and service. Breath taking scenery and only a few minutes from Tofino. We were not disappointed at all. Would recommend LBL. Also I'd suggest making reservations when it comes to dinner as the resturaunt gets booked up pretty quick.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faceripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Loved our stay at Long beach even though we got more than our share of rain over 4 days but still managed to enjoy ourselves between sea swimming ,soaks in hot tub , sauna and walking the beach in driving rain .spectacular setting on ocean for surf watching .Great friendly service from all the staff .Food was very good with good fish choices . On asking organised a sea view table for 5 late one evening .Cottage was spacious and well equipped. Only drawback was in the decor, brown and gloomy with no place to sit outside to enjoy outdoors .Would love to come back .a peaceful restful place to be savoured and appreciated .

Room Tip: Hotel rooms have super views Cottages surrounded by trees with little or no sunlight
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilda0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for yor review, I am delighted you enjoyed your visit. We are adding outside picnic tables to the cottage patios for next season, so that meals may be enjoyed outdoors.


Tim hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Breakfast was very mundane. Continental breakfast with One type of meat and no cheese is not continental. Had to find the restaurant manager to get a cup of coffee. Shortage of staff and poorly trained staff seemed to be a problem. Dinner food was very average. No place to sit to have a drink and watch the ocean. We were there for two days and received no room service. Your bartender was well trained.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lbgingras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I am sorry that you were not able to enjoy your visit as much as most guests. It is all a matter of perception, most people love the complimentary buffet. The great room has the best view on the coast, with lots of seating to enjoy a drink. Room service is provided daily.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

First time out on the island - we stayed in one of the great cottages - some housekeeping issues but the front desk promised to report them...The cottages afford families a lot of space and the beach is perfect for them to play, explore, surf etc. Staff shout outs have to go to Alan and Mike in the restaurant / bar - great suggestions of trips in the area and very amenable to our dining requests for our party of 11...would go back for sure....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 147elainew42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I am delighted you enjoyed your visit. We will look forward to welcoming you back.


Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a deluxe king room for two nights at Long Beach Lodge Resort. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed. Fabulous ocean view from our second floor deck! The Lodge is set back in a beautiful wooded natural setting and the beach was superb. We've never stayed in such a peaceful, relaxing, quiet place. The Great room is a lovely place for breakfast, drinks and/or dinner. The wait staff was very friendly and attentive. The breakfast buffet had a nice variety to choose from. The front desk staff, especially Jennifer - was wonderful! Jen was very friendly, helpful, great suggestions of what to do in Tofino and even unloaded our car and brought our suitcases upstairs for us!! When we discovered a flat tire that night, she "volunteered" one of their maintenance men. The next morning, Jeff cheerfully changed our tire and we went into town to have it fixed. The auto repair shop Jeff recommended was across from the Tofino brewery, so waiting for the tire was actually fun!
Staying at Long Beach Lodge Resort was the highlight of our trip to Vancouver Island. I highly recommend this Lodge and hope to return one day!!

Room Tip: Ask for room on higher floor with balcony and ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review, it is comments like yours that makes what we do all worthwhile. I and glad that Jen and Jeff were able to look after things for you. Somehow it doesn't surprise me that Jeff knew of an auto repair place, near the brewery! I hope you will visit us again, as return guests. I have visited your beautiful state.


Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Look, Tofino is one of the most spectacular places around, and this is an excellent place to enjoy it from. Very nice continental breakfast, spacious oceanfront room with a large bath (but a teeny shower that needs to be replaced pronto!). Very comfortable bed and things were clean and modern. The staff is laid back and helpful. I was wowed by Tofino and the beautiful beach upon Long Beach Lodge sits. We loved our trip and felt we celebrated in style. Long Beach Lodge is a very nice property indeed, not as elegant or expensive as its classier neighbor, the Wickaninish Inn. I would come back to Tofino in a heartbeat, and I'd be pleased to stay at Long Beach Lodge when I return.

Room Tip: Get an oceanfront room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickynotsnooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your visit. I like the Wick as well, while both great resorts, we both offer guests a little different experience. The Wick is really the only other high end hotel in Tofino.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Property: Long Beach Lodge Resort
Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing