We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Cox Beach Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Perfect Cox Beach Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was our third trip to Tofino having stayed at the Wickaninnish Inn (4-5 years ago) and Pacific Sands (last summer) before. We are luxury travellers and like to stay in Four Seasons level properties. We also like to bring our dog with us when travelling close to home so that is a factor when picking a resort. Last time we stayed at Pacific Sands, while the location is the same amazing spot on Cox Bay and the room was nice, it was a "no frills" experience (no restaurant on site), while there we went to Long Beach Lodge (2 min walk away) for drinks and appy's and loved the Great Room, the view was amazing and the the staff delivered us lovely service so we decided to give it a try next time.

Our room was not cheap but a price point we are used to paying at luxury hotels. Upon arrival I pulled our car up at the entrance and sat there waiting to be greeted and helped with our luggage. No one came, so we parked the car, checked in and took our luggage to the room by ourself.

We booked a deluxe beach front pet friendly room. The view was very important to us and while the room was on the main floor it truly was at the front of the property with a lovely view, of course the views from the 2nd and 3rd floors would be better but with the dog this was great. The room was a standard hotel room, it really was all about location and view. The bathroom could be uncomfortable for some, while it is separated with blinds from the bedroom, there is no sound barrier. This was not an issue for us but please be sure you are comfortable doing all bathroom activities within earshot of your room partner.

Housekeeping was exceptional, very clean, even in our pet-friendly room. Top marks!

A buffet breakfast is included with your room and it looked amazing, lots of choice (I don't know why people complain!). I like a hot egg breakfast and was happy to pay a few dollars extra for bacon and eggs, etc. The hot breakfast was delicious, hot, fresh and nicely presented. At breakfast they let you seat yourself which sometimes means you sit for 5-10 minutes before someone notices you and offers coffee or asks for your hot breakfast order (waving arms required one morning), this did annoy us.

Last time at Pacific Sands, while there was no restaurant on site, they offered free shuttle to and from Tofino, where there are many amazing restaurants to explore (we are foodies). I expected this service would also be offered at the much more expensive Long Beach Lodge. Not so. As dinner usually involves wine I was not comfortable driving the 6km to and from town. The best the hotel could offer was bike rentals or a chance encounter with Tofino's ONE taxi (could be 45 min wait we were told), I guess this keeps guests onsite to dine. So, 3 dinners in the same Great Room restaurant, normally we would do one dinner on site. The first night we did it up fine dining style and the next couple of nights we decided to just do some appy's off the apres surf menu (would have preferred to have been exploring dining in Tofino).

This is a lovely property but for us the lack of transport to and from Tofino would probably prevent us from booking again. So many good restaurants to explore for dinner in Tofino (if that is your thing).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,103
    460
    120
    51
    17
See reviews for
727
1,529
95
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Loved our weekend away at long beach lodge. The cottages are perfect for families and the location on cox bay is spectacular. The private hot tub was a big bonus. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Only critiques are:
- cleanliness of dishes provided at continential breakfast was hit and miss
- pet-free family was booked in a pet friendly and smelly cottage.( i didn't want my 1 yr old crawling around the floor)
-free wifi was non-existent in most places
Our kids loved exploring the beach and at low tide small pools by the rocks had sea anenomes, starfish, sunfish and other sea creatures.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funwithfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the resort, thank you comments concerning the staff . Wifi is poor in Tofino, the good news is that Telus has committed to providing service to the area.

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the resort the cottage was perfect. The staff was warm and welcoming. The new hot tub from when I was there last was a bonus after the fog rolled in on the beach. Chance at the surf club was one of a kind helping my nephews with all of his surfing needs. We will be back for years to come. Thanks Samantha and Tim it gets better everytime!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoastmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your great review, I am delighted you had a wonderful visit. I also think our staff are the best! We are planning an exciting new feature for next year, which we will be excited to announce, once we have approval.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have not been to Tofino in 12 years, only staying at Middle Beach Lodge in the past. We had high expectations for this trip with our 2 children and 2 dogs. Our ground floor, deluxe beachfront, pet-friendly room was spacious and well kept and very clean. Excellent housekeeping services. Direct access to the beach from a super clean hotel room was the best feature of the trip. The lodge is nice, the surf club building is new and nice as well. Restaurant food was good but wine prices ridiculously overpriced. Servers very friendly but not too quick to refill coffee.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aemom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your great review, I am glad you really had a great visit, that is what we wish for all our guests. I will get onto those servers about the coffee service, I assume it was the breakfast buffet you were referring to.


Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

the location was great, wonderful ambiance and setting but the food was really expensive, good quality but too much money for too little food. it really was a disappointment.it was as the locals call it 'fogust' so a consideration if you travel in august. We liked the layout, felt it was very well done but in the end, just not enough substance to match the glorious setting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleMolly_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our food prices are very competitive in Tofino. Food costs are a lot higher here than in the States, especially in such a remote location. Also, it really depends on what you order; a steak or halibut is more costly than say a pizza.


Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bredenbury
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

we loved the location and the amenities of the resort. the only disappointment was that our ocean view room had lots of dog hair on the floor and had the wet dog smell. when we told the receptionist when we checked out they just smiled at us and didn't say anything. but over all we might be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bredenburycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your visit. You were obviously in a dog friendly room, not that is an excuse for some dog hair on the floor and a dog smell in the room, I assume you had a dog, otherwise it was the only room available at which point front desk staff would have informed you it was a dog friendly room. The rooms are throughly cleaned after each visit, so I don't know how this was missed. If ever there is a problem with a room upon arrival, please just call the front desk and they will be delighted to resolve any issue immediately.


Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Seaboard
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spent three days in Tofino in mid-August using the Long Beach Lodge as a base. Unfortunately it rained much of every day, but we still had a great time in part because of the warm and gracious hospitality and amenities of the Lodge. We stayed in one of the top floor penthouse suites which had a fantastic view and plenty of space for our two kids to each have a bit of room. The fireplace was wonderful in the evenings, which got a little cool. The shower was hot and powerful and the bed could give the Westin Heavenly Bed a run for the money. The main lodge is perfectly sized and the rooms are all reasonably close to the dining facilities and the beach -- perfect for a quick walk or a nightcap. The staff could not have been more helpful -- from helping us arrange tours and travel in town to suggesting the perfect wine to helping us out on day three AFTER we had checked out when we needed a place to change and dry out before hopping on a flight back to Vancouver. Service came first, the food was wonderful, the quality of the room was exceptional, and the natural surroundings were incredible. Highly recommend if you're going to Tofino. (And yes, we've visited before and stayed at the Wick -- this was far more laid back and welcoming.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSPrufrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for such great feedback, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Lodge. We have had some very wet weather this August, last week we had two days when it rained all day! Thank you for your comments regarding our wonderful staff, they will be most appreciative. We will look forward to your next visit.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Property: Long Beach Lodge Resort
Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing