We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No screens in the rainforest???”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The cabins are clean, modern, spacious, and seem to lack nothing. They are beautiful! Oh wait! They do lack one thing, and that one thing is a very vital one for me: window screens! For the life of me, I have no idea why a cabin IN THE RAINFOREST has no screens! The first evening we were there, my mom got 3 mosquito bites IN the cabin. She gets big, itchy welts that last for days. We could not open windows because of it.

I had booked with an ocean-front resort so we could enjoy ocean air. The cabins are further away from the ocean - in the rainforest. So I was looking forward to sleeping with open windows to enjoy the fresh air, but under the circumstances could not. I got a fan, since the bedroom upstairs was very warm, which cooled the temperature, but was noisy and blew air too directly. Not what I had expected or been looking forward to. VERY disappointing. For $534/night, with a private hot tub and fireplace and everything else you need, you'd think they could have put in screens too!

The other difficulty we had was inconsistent and/or slow internet - including the lodge computers. I finally gave up completely on all computers.

Everything else was wonderful! Great place to stay if these things aren't issues for you!

My favorite thing - the chairs provided overlooking the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fraumutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

I am very sorry that there was no screen on your upstairs bedroom window, it will be replaced.As I have had to explain to many guests, wifi is very poor in Tofino, as it is such a remote location, The good news is that Telus has committed to running in a hard line to service the west coast.


Tim Hackett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,193 - 2,199 of 3,194 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

Undoubtedly a fantastic location and great for surfing and the beach especially. Given the reputation and price we were surprised that the service wasn't more attentive. It was 'ok' but with the exception of a couple of individuals service lacked warmth, empathy and attention to detail. Eg the breakfast greeting wasn't 'welcome back how are you today' but 'can I have your ticket please and you do know that's only for the (mediocre) cold buffet don't you ?' Similarly on 2 occasions we sat in the grand room and either weren't offered any service at all - or waited so long for 1 small beer I actually gave up. Then at checkout they charged us a completely different (higher) price than the booking price. All in all these details added up to it being a less perfect stay than it should've been. Tofino was delightful - but long beach needs to truly look after its customers to be an 'A' list place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkshire4Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for your review. When you booked your visit in Febuary, a rate was quoted to you that we honoured. As we move closer to the summer the prices increase. Then you checked out the system, mistakenly showed the desk agent the wrong rate, which she was able to adjust immediately.

Tim Hackett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The lodge and cottages are beautiful. We stayed in one of the two-bedroom cottages, and it was fabulous. Buffet breakfast was included each day, and was very good. The front desk staff was very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. We had dinner in the lodge's great room our second evening there, and this is where the rating went from excellent to only very good. The dinner service was very slow, and the food was not that great. And for the prices, it should have been great. My Dad and my aunt had the chicken ($34.00 each), and my Mom and I had the prawn linguini ($28.00 each). When our meals finally arrived, they were not that hot. That doesn't bother me, but it does my Mom, so she had to send her meal back to be re-heated. The restaurant very kindly deducted the cost of Mom's meal from our total bill, but we certainly didn't feel that the meal we got justified the price we still had to pay. Other than that, the Long Beach Lodge Resort is a beautiful place to stay; you may just want to have dinner in town instead (though it won't be much less expensive!).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kfortner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit, except for the chicken dinner! I don't know what went wrong as our kitchen has been excellent at keeping up with the very heavy demand all summer. Going to town don't mean any shorter waits or cheaper meals, only a 15 minute drive each way.

Tim Hackett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Long Beach Lodge is our go too place for chilling in the great room, storm watching, gourmet dining, ambience and just getting away from all normal things. Because LBLR is ABNORMAL in the simple things - breakfast spread to start your day is humongous and soooo tasty. New Exec Chef Ian is having a remarkable impact. Tried the ocean safari with Capt. Josh Lewis. This is not whale-watching but something way more special. A naturalist, brilliant photographer (he HAS to do a book) and skipper of this beautiful but purposeful craft. Takes you places and shows you things you will remember forever.

The resort continues to shine after all these years of coming. Just gets better and now in the VERY capable hands of Samantha Hackett we feel assured it will climb to new highs. Well deserved promotion. So perfect rooms/views, fantastic food. Lucky to be there during FEAST the local Ocean to Table celebration and everything set up for you to chill with the beautiful Cox Bay beach at your doorstep. Loads to do for the more active or maybe less lazy!! But Long Beach Lodge is chilling #1 and we look forward to many more years of excited drives over the passes to get there. There really is nothing like it!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a Beachfront DeLuxe on the third floor - the views are unbeatable and whatever else do the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for your great endorsement , such a positive review it is really great, especially when it comes from one of our regular guests. We keep working to try to improve the property and service for our valued guests. Again, this next winter we are planning a really exciting addition, for the enjoyment of guests. Reviews like yours makes it all worth while, thank you.


Tim Hackett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel has great views of the ocean and all the surfers this beach attracts (despite it's name, this hotel is not actually on Long Beach). Because of the high prices to stay in a room with a view, we chose to stay in the "disabled room", which was cheaper (still cost us $300 a night) and also had a king-size bed. The room was quite dark and had some features that made me question its designation. It had a bathtub and not a walk-in shower. I wondered how someone who was disabled and in a wheelchair could climb in and out of a tub. Secondly, the tile floor was quite slippery when wet, again a hazard for a disabled person. Very little light got into the room as it was located behind some bushes on the ground floor. The dining room was nice and our dinner was tasty. Continental breakfasts were good, with a selection of fresh fruits and yummy baked goods.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Our handicapped room is build to code, for a guest, confined to a wheelchair, with a special sink, toilet and bathtub with grab bars. The bathroom tile floor is a non slip surface designed for rubber tire use. Tofino is an expensive destination in the summer, some properties have nightly rates in excess of $1500.


Tim Hackett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Fantastic location. Our first floor room had a balcony overlooking the beach BUT we could actually see very little due to the low cloud / fog. This particular section of the coast seems to have its own micro-climate. Several times during the course of our 2 day stay we left the foggy atmosphere behind and drove just a few miles into Tofino where it was sunny and warm. Every time we hoped that the weather would have improved on our return, but no...We did actually sit on the beach but in our fleeces. Wetsuits were obligatory for those venturing into the sea; this is a beach for surfers rather than swimmers and definitely not suitable for small children. The resort itself is beautiful but there isn't a lot to do if you're not a surfer! Room was comfortable and spacious; fire a nice touch. We ate in the restaurant the first night - crab highly recommended and inclusive breakfast perfectly adequate. Service was good - staff were pleasant, attentive and efficient. So...come here if you're a surfer rather than a sunbather.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizW19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for giving us top marks on what we can influence! During very warn weather we can get a marine fog what can extend right along the west coast to California. Most days, when it does occur, it will dissipate by early afternoon as the sun burns through. Surfers are only a small segment of our guests and there are tons of other activities in and around Tofino and the National Park. A very popular activity is our own Marine Adventures, a three hour daily tour where guests regularly view our abundant wildlife, including whales, sea lions, sea otters, marine birds, bears and wolves.

Tim Hackett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We wanted to write a review as we find Tripadvisor so useful ourselves when choosing where to go on vacation or restaurants.

We stayed at Long Beach Lodge Resort as part of a wedding party in July 2013, It is a bit pricey but totally worth every penny. We reserved a Deluxe Beach Front Room and from other Trip Advisor's advice request the third floor which gave us spectacular views. Every time we walked in our room we were treated to the beach right in front of our eyes, to be able to lie in bed at night and hear the waves was exactly what we needed to relax

The wedding was incredible and every detail and thought was done my Megan, she was amazing and totally put my best friend Nancy who was the Bride at ease.

The reception area was always helpful and welcoming, the room staff were amazing and left our bedroom clean and fresh every day. The staff in the dining room and bar were also always smiling and very efficient. We can thoroughly recommend ordering a packed lunch from the hotel, the are beautifuly prepared and make for a very special picnic.

The views speak for themselves, if you want a little peace of heaven look no further. We can't wait to come back in the winter to watch the storms

Thank you so much and we will be back for sure for years to come

Room Tip: Top floor gives you an amazing view, there are elevators so easy access if needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your great review, I am delighted that the wedding and vacation was so wonderful. We look forward to your next visit as a return guest.

Tim Hackett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,091 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: $236 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing