We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Setting,” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Long Beach Lodge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Mission, Canada
1 review
“Beautiful Setting,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The staff were fantastic - extremely helpful and friendly. Sami in Reception gave us an especially warm welcome and a great introduction to the lodge and its facilities. We stayed in a cottage and found it to be large and comfortable with all amenities provided. The king size beds in particular were very comfortable.
Unfortunately we were only able to stay one night and were not able to take advantage of the many activities available. What we saw was dozens of people, young and old, surfing or learning to surf. Even so, the beach was not crowded.
We would highly recommend this resort to anyone who wants to experience the Long Beach/Tofino area in first class surroundings.

Room Tip: Low numbered cottages are closer to the main lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. I agree, Sami is wonderful! I hope you will be able to come back as a return guest and stay a little longer, one day is just not long enough!

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,064
    451
    119
    51
    16
See reviews for
707
1,508
92
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

My son and I stayed at the Lodge for 4 days at the end of June. We chose to stay in one of their cottages which was fantastic. We each had our own bedroom and bathroom and our own private hot tub where we relaxed each night after a long day exploring the coast. The housekeeping was impeccable. The room safe didn't work, but that was okay. My son thoroughly enjoyed the surfing lessons and couldn't wait to try it again the next day. The grounds are beautiful and so clean. Dogs are welcomed and it was so much fun to see them run on the beach with their families in tow while enjoying a good meal from the lodge's main restaurant. The sunsets are spectacular. There are so many beaches to explore in the area. The bike trails are very well maintained. The town is very quaint. We flew from Toronto to Nanaimo then rented a car and drove almost 3.5 hours (with stops). Incredible scenery and fun drive. But keep your eyes on the road. Many, many twists and turns. Best to be driven during the day. All in all a very relaxing holiday. I would definitely go back... may even retire there someday!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCRToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your great review, I am delighted that both you and your son enjoyed your visit and cottage stay. Next time I hope you will try surfing! Your comment about driving the road in the daylight hours is great advise.


Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invermere, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed in a beach front room in the lodge. All of the staff that we encountered were very friendly and helpful. Our room was beautiful - amazing views, and a pathway from our patio door right to the beach. Room was large (but double beds, so a little cozy for two people in a bed), and bathroom was the nicest we have ever had in a hotel room - large double soaker tub, separate shower, louvered doors to the rest of the room. The amenities were all very clean and well kept. Perfect location whether you want to surf or just enjoy the views. The hot tub and the showers at the surf club were a very nice touch after a day in the water, and always very clean no matter what time of day we used them. Our only disappointment were the meals - menu very expensive and meals overall were not that good. The Great Room was a beautiful place to begin the day and check out the waves while enjoying the complimentary breakfast, but for the price of the accommodation a hot buffet breakfast would be nice. We would highly recommend this property and while it is more that we would normally pay for accommodation we have no regrets and hope to stay here again.

Room Tip: We paid the higher rate for a beach front room, and while the view was exceptional, we would probabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review. I am happy that you enjoyed your visit overall. We have just responded to other guest comments and improved the buffet by adding a selection of protein to the menu. Meal prices are similiar to all quality restraurants, even without the view! Wholesale food
costs are high in Tofino, it is so remote. The menu also includes many items less expensive, to give some variety.


Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife & I stayed in an Ocean View King room at Long Beach Lodge for 1 night in June and overall were disappointed that the hotel does not live up to it's billing. Long Beach Lodge is in a wonderful location right on the beach. On arrival check-in was very friendly and efficient - our bags were taken to our room while we were checking in. The room was very smart, modern and spacious as was the bathroom. So far, so good, however it was downhill from there! We didn't eat in the lodge, instead we went into Tofino for dinner, but on our return decided to go for a night-cap to take advantage of the views (which are great) from the restaurant/bar. The service was very poor - we waited some time initially for a drinks menu and then for a waiter to take the order.

We awoke the following morning to the loud noise of someone in another room running a bath (I assume) and when my wife ran herself a bath, it was so loud the noise drowned out the sound of the television in the bedroom! I don't know if the problem is poor insulation between rooms or a particularly noisy water system, but I've never stayed in a hotel before (and I've stayed in hundreds) and not been able to hear the television when the bath was being run.

Service at breakfast was no better than the night before and the buffet on offer was, by some way, the poorest we had in a 2 week trip. Check out was slow - there seemed to be some problem with a printer - although, to be fair, the reception staff were very pleasant.

If this hotel really is the 3rd best resort in Canada, as rated by Conde Nast, it is a very poor reflection on the standard of resort hotels in Canada! Similarly I struggle to see how it has won the Trip Advisor Travellers' Choice award 2013. All in all disappointing particularly as this was the most expensive hotel we stayed in during our trip to Vancouver Island. Next time we are in Tofino we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alastair_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife, daughter and I stayed in a cottage for 3 nights. Overall it was a wonderful experience. The location is great, the beach and the views from the Great Room are amazing. And, even though most of the staff seem young, I thought all of them were engaging and eager to help - right from front desk, chef, wait staff to housekeeping. They were all terrific.

We paid extra to stay in a cottage to have our own kitchen. This worked out well because our daughter has severe dietary restrictions and we were able to cook and BBQ for her. The private hot tub was also a bonus after a long day of surfing. It was quiet and clean. It was lovely.

I have to agree with some other writers that the buffet, although complimentary, was a disappointment at this price range. A hot breakfast is available for an extra charge - and I did use the $8 upgrade to the buffet once. We of course could go back cottage to eat as well. Breakfast, for us, is the most important meal of the day because it gets us primed for our days adventures (we usually only snack for lunch).

The kitchen is organized and well managed it seems. The chefs even graciously accommodated our special requests. It just seemed that some items were exceptional (the hamburgers and salad greens) but some was very poor (ie the "mayonaisse" on the Caesar). Don't know why that is.

Overall it was more than we would normally pay, but we have no regrets. We only have wonderful memories. Thank-you LBLR.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSL260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review, I am delighted that you had a wonderful visit, staying in a cottage. We have had a number of concerns concerning the buffet, in the past couple of weeks, so have now added a selection of protein. I agree that with the higher summer rates we needed to offer something more.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The lodge is set off the main road and is secluded and quiet. Staff were extremely helpful in making suggestions and reservations for local activities that did not disappoint. The chef created a wonderful meal for a special celebration dinner that focused on local/regional foods. Very, very tasty. HIghly recommend the lodge, staff and setting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am happy that you enjoyed your visit the Lodge and our rugged West Coast. Our Chef Ian delights in serviing wonderfully fresh food and will be appreciative of the mention.


Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The service staff were pleasant and courteous and we had no issues with the room. However the hotel provides a complementary breakfast which was inadequate and below standard. I did send an Email to the hotel and the chef answered and apologized for the breakfast and a bad meal. Still I think the management are not caring for their customers to the levels of high quality that one would expect for the cost.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanuckCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments, please be assured that we are always very concerned about our guest experience. we work hard everyday to try to exceed guest expectations. There have been several complaints concerning the buffet recently, and we have met this morning to come up with ways to improve it. There will be immediate improvements starting tomorrow.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
3.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
1.4 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Property: Long Beach Lodge Resort
Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing