We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couple Get-a-Way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couple Get-a-Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I haven't gone away without our kids in about 7 years, so this was to be a relaxing couples get-a-way. We have traveled quite a bit in the past years and can tell you that any negative review on this resort is by people who are never happy. We absolutely LOVED this resort.
The resort is upscale without being pretentious. It is a very classy but warm and inviting. The staff are there to help you with absolutely anything you need. Our room was a second floor ocean front and I could not get enough of the view. Truly, beautiful and tranquil. The rooms are a perfect size with a big relaxing soaker tub.
There is a lot of activity on the beach in the daytime with surfers and families enjoying the beach. If you have a dog, this is the place for you because this resort caters to families with pets.This resort is a little gem in the peninsula.
The food is simply delicious. I have to compliment on the continental breakfast. It had a selection of fresh baked goods, cereals, fresh fruit salad and more. The dinner we had was unique and tasty. The chef here, really knows his food. The wait staff are extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Excellent service.
We booked two excursions through the resort. One, was a boat tour to go whale watching and we were so fortunate to have a family of Orca's swim past us!! We also had the chance to see grey whales, otters and sea lions. My husband, being an avid bird watcher, had the great opportunity to see a rare Tufted Puffin. It made his day! The guide was very knowledgeable on the wildlife and history of the area. It was quite a ride and I got some amazing pictures.
The second excursion was a surf lesson for my husband. Although he ended up getting sea sick, he had a great experience and had nothing but good things to say about the instructor.
The front desk staff are nothing less than great. They made you feel like family and gave you a warm greeting every time you walk in the doors. They were very informative on the activities and local events in the area. Check-in and out was fast and efficient.
This was one of the best trips my husband and I have ever taken. I have been raving non-stop to all my family and friends about Tofino and the resort. I will be back but next time I will bring my kids. They will love it, too.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are amazing. If you can afford one, the cabins are perfect for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, it is comments like yours that makes it all worthwhile for our staff and myself. We are all passionate about trying to make the guest experience special for every single visitor. We look forward to welcoming you back, with your kids, as valved return guests.

WE ARE HONORED TO HAVE BEEN SELECTED, BY TRIP ADVISOR, AS THE 8th BEST HOTEL AND RESORT IN CANADA AND NUMBER 1st IN TOFINO. THANK YOU TO ALL OUR
WONDERFUL AND SUPPORTIVE GUESTS.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,104
    461
    120
    51
    17
See reviews for
727
1,531
95
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountainburg, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had a king room with a beach view right on the front of the property. It was so nice to go to sleep listening to the sound of the waves and to wake up watching the surfers outside our windows. We stayed about a week and the room was always kept clean and comfortable. The property is right on the beach and in close approximity to lots of hiking trails. If you like outdoor and nature activities this is the place for you. Not a long ride into town from here. The breakfast buffet was very good and we enjoyed the muffins. The restaurant and lobby area were not as big as what was pictured, and the food was kind of pricey. But, we would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for visiting us from Mountainburg, Arkansas, I am delighted you enjoyed your visit to our rugged West Coast. If you are out our way again, we would love to welcome you back as return guests.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I had no expectations of Long Beach resort as my son and his fiance had won a wedding package contest (Pimp your wedding) with them. But I was blown away by the facility and the excellent service we received. EVERYONE was extremely helpful in every aspect and so happy!! The wedding was beautiful and the resort handled every aspect of it so that every guest and the bride and groom could truly enjoy the day! A few days actually! The setting on Long Beach is extrodanaire! We did enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of the resort, not a snotty high class place. Although the prices are very high. My only complaint.

Room Tip: cottages are wonderful and very roomy for large families. Kitchen facilities are excellent so all m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Congratulations on your son's wedding. I am delighted that we exceeded your expectations of the Resort. Our staff will be pleased with your comments regarding the service they provided everyone.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had really mixed feelings about this hotel. The setting ist beautiful and the beach is really worth a stay, especially for surfers. But the hotel didn't match our expectations, especially regarding the high price they take. Every little thing has to be paid extra, which was most disturbing during breakfast, where even a hot chocolate for the children had to be paid extra. The continental buffet was quite poor, so an extra order was nearly unavoidable.

We had booked a beachfont deluxe room with two queen beds who were much too small for two - unfortunately nobody had told us when we booked, that this room wouldn' t suit a family. Plus we were given a very poor room of that category and when we tried to change there was no effort made by the rather young and inexperienced staff at he reception to offer us a better room of the same category, instead they offered a cottage for a higher price.

The dinner in the Great Room was okay, but far from outstanding.

Our overall impression was, that
this hotel is joust relyig on the setting without really being interested in welcoming its guests. It was maybe symptomatic, that in four days we haven't met a person who gave the impression of being responsible for the hotel.

Housekeeping was very good.

Room Tip: Chose one of he beachfront rooms in he upper floors but be aware, that some of them are very close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikita4441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
In response to your review, when you booked online you would have seen all the room types available, with a description and price. When you arrived at the hotel and the front desk staff saw that there were two adults and two teenage boys, they IMMEDIATELY offered you a cottage with two bedrooms, which you refused, choosing to take the room instead. We then offered you other rooms that were available but they were refused as well. Bottom line is that the hotel rooms are not designed for four people, most rooms have one king size bed. Our front desk staff really attempted to help you, as they do all our guests.
You fail to point out that the continental breakfast is complimentary! Most guests love the breakfast; fruit is cup fresh each morning and the baked goods are served right out of the oven. A selection of juices, teas and coffee are also included. If a guest requires something more, a egg or some ham, there is what we call an add on price of only $4 per item.
The overwhelming response from our guests is that while the property and location are beautiful, it is our staff that keeps them coming back.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with very friendly staff. It's plonk on the Tofino beach with pleasant beach walks. After visiting the wonderful BC museum in Victoria we could identify all the starfish and she'll fish left stranded in the many rock pools. Of course Tofino must be one of the wettest places on earth but staying in this hotel made up where the weather was less inviting. The food in the restaurant was also very good and breakfasts excellent

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for visiting, all the way from the United Kingdom, I am glad you enjoyed your visit, dispite the rain! Last week was exceptionly wet, this week is sunny and hot. Weather can change so quickly on the coast. We have an annual rainfall of about 12 feet, it is not uncommon to recieve 6 inches of rain in one day! The summers and fall are usually dry.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jabbeke, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Because the local agent forgot to mention we wanted a double room with seaview, after a short call to the hotel, they managed to get us a private cottage at the same price with two bedrooms, two bathroom, kitchen, living room with fireplace and one bedroom even had a terrace with private jaccuzi under the pine trees. This was the most spacious stay at our two road tours of 4 weeks in western Canada. The restaurant, although not cheap, is definitely worth the money, not alone for the view and the interior, but please do not leave without having dinner in this top quality restaurant. We usually do not spend that much money on food on our trips, but here it was definitely worth the money. The area has something magical, especially if there is the Sunshine and the fog together. I made my best pictures ever on the beach at the hotel.

Room Tip: a cottage with private jaccuzi on your bedrooms terrace is pure pampering
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngeJabbeke_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I am delighted that we were able to meet your needs for two bedrooms when you arrived, as you mentioned the cottages are very spacious and can sleep six guests. I really hope you enjoyed your trip to Western Canada and will come this way again.


Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Have stayed in a wide variety of places in Tofino over the years, and this is just wonderful. Gorgeous cottage, attentive and concerned staff who will help in any way they can, beautiful dining room and delicious food. Just heaven!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments, it is great to hear such positive feedback from a guest who can compare us to a number of other Tofino properties. We look forward to your next visit.


Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Property: Long Beach Lodge Resort
Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing