We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay, did not even know somewhere this perfect existed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay, did not even know somewhere this perfect existed”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at the Long Beach Resort last weekend and we had an amazing time. Everything was perfect. Our room (307) was facing cox bay and with a view of the ocean the room was perfect. There was a bath from where you could see the ocean! The food was incredible. The best part about it was that the food tasted so fresh and not heavy like most restaurants. We had fish both nights the Salmon, Halibut and Tuna everything was perfect and tasted like it had been caught only a couple of hours prior. We went surfing with Laurie, she was a great teacher and we have some great memories in the water. Overall nothing was too much trouble and all the staff we met were more than helpful to our travel plans. I am looking forward to the next time we will get a chance at the Long Beach Resort. Thank you for an amazing stay

Room Tip: You must chose one of the deluxe rooms facing cox bay. We stayed in 307 Excellent Room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexisonsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for such a great review, it is greatly appreciated. I think our Chef Ian has done a great job with the new menu, using only the freshest ingredients. You are correct, the fish is literally right off the boat! I am delighted that you had a great surf lesson with Laurie, she is new with us this year and is a really positive addition to our wonderful staff. We look forward to welcoming you back as a return guest.


Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,160
    473
    122
    51
    17
See reviews for
752
1,569
97
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel has a great location, it's clean, bed is comfortable, the bathroom is great (I love the heated bathroom floors) but...
If you are going there to sleep in and relax, please make sure you do not book the beach front room that are directly below the dining room. It's super noisy from 6 am for breakfast until dinner time ! You hear people moving their chairs, the staff vacuuming early in the morning, people walking with high heels on the wooden floors... It was a big disappointment for me as I was hoping to get some sleep but couldn't pass 6 am !
Also, they have a fire place in the room which is great but there is no A/C. It was hot when we were there so we didn't want to leave the patio door open because there is people walking in front of your room at any time of the night so we had no way to cool off other than a fan provided by the hotel. A/C would be a nice thing to have even if I understand that it doesn't get that hot that often in Tofino.
Staff was great and friendly, food was decent and view was awesome from the room.

Room Tip: Do not book the rooms under the dining room !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mevebou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Guests going into the room under the great room are always warned they they may hear some noice from the diningroom above, even though the floor is soundproved. The room is the very closest room the beach and a number of guests request it for that reason. AC cannot be found in any of the beachfront properties in Tofino, it never gets that warm. There is a lock provided on all the sliding glass doors so that the doors can be open at night,to let the cool air in, with out any security issues.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were married at Long Beach Lodge this weekend, and could not have been happier. Where to start? First, Megan did a great job in making sure everything was organized- we appreciated her being on top of things while it still feeling more laid back. Nothing was missed, and though I hope we weren't the most demanding group we did present with some challenges in that we asked for vegan canapes and meals for dinner, which were all great. We didn't actually meet the chef but our huge thanks and the reviews from our guests about the food were all amazing. We also had a signature drink which was a bigger hit than expected, so required someone at the lodge to make a run into town mid wedding which they did without making a fuss to us about. It just happened. Because of the rain the ceremony was indoors which was absolutely fine- in truth I might have liked it more as I really liked the way the guests were able to line the aisle then fill in behind after all the girls made there way in. It was a great setting and beautiful room and we loved it. For the reception and dinner we had Mike and Jesse and these guys nailed it. These would be your two most thoughtful servers in any of the best restaurants in Vancouver- LLB is lucky to have them. Despite their different personalities each was equally great at what they did and made our night stress free and fun. The next day they remembered all of our names and treated us as though we were friends who had just hung out the night before. Great guys.
Our room was perfect- we had the penthouse so how could it not be? All the staff treated us great at every interaction. There was one little glitch with one of our guests and a staff member but I truly believe this was a one off and doesn't affect my impression of how we were treated overall. All of our guests were happy and well taken care of at all times.
If I had to come up with one bit if constructive feedback I would ask for better wireless service. All of our phones had poor reception, so a stronger, more reliable wireless service would have made things a but easier- especially since our wedding was on a Sunday so people were there for a few business days pre and post and feel better when they can access the internet easily.
That's it though, everything else I have is nothing but positive, and we would go back in a heart beat. Loved our weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vangroovy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
CONGRATULATIONS, our best wishes for a long and happy life together. I am delighted that your wedding was such a success. We are very proud of Megan, she really enjoys looking after everything to try to make sure your day, is just a little bit more special. I am happy that you enjoyed the food and the service provided from Mike and Jesse. Sorry about the rain, I will need to speak to Megan!
Our wireless service is still our biggest issue. We left the local provider, because it was so poor, last year, and spent a lot of money on a satellite provider, with the promise that is would be much better, it wasn't. Every resort is having the same problems. The good news is that Telus has just announced that they will run in a land line to provide proper service to the West Coast. Their service is about two years out., it is a big job.


Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel was beautiful and the staff were all friendly and knowledgable
The wedding reception we attended there went without a hitch. The meal was superb!
The great room was comfortable with many choice places to sit. I especially enjoyed the large bathtub in the room.

Room Tip: the view on the ocean side was gorgeous make sure it's the second or 3rd floor to see better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
I am delighted that you had a great visit and time at the Lodge for your friend's beautiful wedding. Glad you enjoyed the soaker tub! I hope you will have a chance to visit us again, thank you.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here to attend a wedding, which is really the only reason we picked the hotel. The hotel gave the wedding group a wonderful rate, which made the place a little more affordible. We were in a partial ocean-view room on the bottom floor, and I couldn't have been happier with it! We had a great view (I would argue there was nothing "partial" about it) and as we were on the bottom floor we had a path straight from our patio to the beach.

The beach is breathtaking, but every beach in Tofino is. They had a great surf club to get your rentals for the day. Didn't get to try the hot tub or heated pool, but they looked nice.

The hotel also did an amazing job of the wedding I attended.

Room Tip: We were in room 116. I would HIGHLY recommend requesting this room. Corner ground floor unit with pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielle-duperron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment, it is greatly appreciated. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and your room. We work hard to try to make weddings extra special at the Lodge, we love weddings! I hope you will return sometime for another visit.


Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Very much enjoyed 5 nights in June. Lovely room on ground floor of Lodge just a few feet away from beach with breathtaking views. We also had a massive, ultra-comfortable bed. Staff happy, smiling and very friendly. Excellent breakfast included. A very special place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doris18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your great review, it is greatly appreciated. The secret is out, ground floor rooms have very immediate access to the beach and a great view!


Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

What a wonderful 2 night stay we experienced at this "world class" resort on one of the best beaches in North America! The accomodation is magnificent, tasteful and rustic, and the staff are friendly and eager to assist. I would give the "lodge" experience a 10 star rating (out of 5!). The surfer beach is probably the best strategically located beach in this area, and has just hosted a Canadian Surfing competition. We found the Great Room excellent and the dinnig superb. Yummy is the word to describe the cuisine! The complimentary breakfast is to "die for".....scrumptious baking, great jams, jellies and cereal. We especially liked the Cream Cheese scones. WOW! Our deluxe kingsize ocean front room was large but cozy....the bed super comfortable!

This is truly a world class resort and we're so lucky to have it situated on gorgeous Long Beach on the west coast of Vancouver Island. We're alreadsy planning our next visit! Bravo!

Room Tip: We had one of the "Premier " rooms in the lodge....third floor facing west....listening to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkor154945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review, I believe that Cox Bay beach is one of the most beautiful beaches on the west coast of North America. The Lodge is placed, front and centre, to take in all the open Pacific Ocean has to offer! We will look forward to your next visit as a return guest.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,027 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Property: Long Beach Lodge Resort
Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing