We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in the best part of Canada”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, B.C.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in the best part of Canada”
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

I booked a pet friendly cottage to treat my parents for their anniversary. The cottages are beautifully appointed and decorated and have a cozy living area, full kitchen and 2 bedrooms (two bathrooms too). I didn't use the hot tub on the deck outside the master bedroom but it is a nice touch. All cottages are a short walk to the main lodge, and my parents, who are getting on in years, didn't have any problems walking throughout the resort or getting to the beach.

We ate breakfast in the great room. The view is SPECTACULAR. The fresh baked goods are a nice treat but I'd recommend considering a nice plate of meats and cheeses to accompany what is otherwise a carbo-load of a breakfast. I appreciate that you can order an eggs n' such meal at extra cost but I prefer the European middle-ground style breakfasts of pastry with protein.

The staff were very friendly and courteous. My parents felt pampered. The bottle of complimentary wine to celebrate their anniversary was also a nice touch. A special thanks to the swat-team-like efficiency of the room service staff. In the cottages, at least, a team of 5 or 6 cleaning staff showed up on a golf cart and transformed the cottage into clean state in mere moments - but this swat team was super friendly!

The location is perfect- a better beach than the Wikininnish and so private. Imagine sharing one of the largest beaches in Canada with less than a dozen people at any given time. I love coming to Long Beach and have now found the place I simply must return to on my next trip!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KVanCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review. It sounds like your parents had a wonderful anniversary. The rest of us are wishing we had a child like you! It is great when families come to the Lodge for a special occasion.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,231
    500
    126
    52
    17
See reviews for
801
1,611
99
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Long Beach Lodge Resort is an absolute must if you’re traveling to the west coast of Vancouver Island! Located directly on the ocean, amongst the forest, you can NOT get any more west coast!!!

The resort was extremely clean and comfy, the staff very friendly and an added bonus (for us) they are pet friendly too … and those with dogs have their own wing which is great for everyone!

Can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kari l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Wow, thank you. The staff and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went here for a three day getaway. Flew into Victoria and rented a car for the 4.5 hour drive (easy and beautiful) to Tofino. We got a double room with a seaview and balcony. The hotel is located right on the beach so you get great sunsets (if it isn't clouded over) and the entertainment of watching the crazy surfers in mid winter tackle the waves crashing on the beach. The room was very clean, nicely furnished and mostly quiet (although twice we did get a significant amount of running water noise from an adjacent room). The balcony had two chairs for sitting outside , which we did on a sunny day. The gas fireplace makes the room all tghe more cozier - you'll need it in the winter after a hike, walk on the beach or , if you are insane, surfing. Actually watching the surfers was good fun.

The restaurant is excellent although expensive - we had dinner twice and three breakfasts. Continental breakfasts were included and you can supplement these for a few dollars more with hot dishes. The one complaint I have is that a hot tub is advertsied, as part of the surfing club. Well, it is available, but located about 100 meters away across the parking lot from the hotel - not exactly convenient or well situated for views. We did not use it because of the location - however the two person tub in the room was a nice alternative. We had room 213 which is a pretty good room. The best rooms are probably on the third floor over the restaurant because of the views. Be careful that you do not get a room right next to the restaurant on the second floor because my guess is that it will be noisy and it will definitely have a restricted view because the restaurant extends out, thus blocking part of the view.

There are a number of good restaurants in Tofino and a great little pizza spot in Ucelulet. The hotel is next to the Pacific Rim National Park (and UNESCO Biosphere) and has a number of great hiking trails and great beaches. Our Canadian neighbors do a great job with their parks and should be commended. They have their priorities right in this area.

Room Tip: We had room 213 which is a pretty good double room with a sea view and a balcony. The best rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Pin_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment. We had considered a hot tub in front of the hotel but were concerned it could distract from the peaceful enjoyment and natural setting of the beachfront hotel rooms.
Friday Harbour is a favorite place for us, we often visit in the summer on our yacht, Flying Colours.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The sights and sounds of the ocean right outside the door, the smell of fresh baking in kitchen and wonderful melt in your mouth meals, the very courteous and friendly staff, the comforts of the Great Room with the big overstuffed furniture and large stone fireplace... Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaRose55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review. We will look forward to your next visit as a return guest.


Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

I have posted other great reviews of this location. It's definitely a 5 star. However I was very surprised to find that the new gift shop has no food/snack items. This is unheard of in resorts and hotels. No vending machines, no fruit bowl, no local granola bars. Literally no food, unless you want to sit in the restaurant. Very tricky between meals, and with small children and teens who needs snacks. I wish we would have known to bring our own food. It seems like very common practice to stock something for guests to take for hikes in other resorts we've stayed at. Disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gojengo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and your concerns around food service, this is something that we are working on to improve.
We are in the process of stocking the new gift shop with some food items, bars etc. We did not know initially what the demand would be. It is difficult to find companies that will supply vending machines in such a remote location. The last company we worked with have recently gone out of business.
With our new Chef, we are going to be providing take out lunches and snacks for our hotel guests who wish to be away from the hotel enjoying activities during the day.
I am concerned that you found the staff to be unfriendly, this is not a common experience at the Lodge.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Loved loved loved Long Beach Lodge Reort. We stayed in one of the cabins last May for just one night (time restrictions) and want to go back and staylonger. Loved the coziness of the cabin as well as how clean it was - inside and out. First time in BC for me and can't wait to go back and stay longer. Food in the main lodge was amazing and everyone was so friendly. The beach was awesome and loved climbing the rocks - made me feel like I was 6 again.

Room Tip: Book a cabin...it's like home away from home. So beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaceyL00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, I hope you get to visit again as a return guest. With all to do and see, one night is never long enough. We are excited that the launch date for our new Marine Adventure boat is now with in a month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed three nights in a cabin. Very nice and well appointed. Having your own personal hot tub to jump into after exploring the beaches is fabulous. Good pet friendly place to stay. We didn't dine on sight but went into town to explore the many local, awesome places to eat and grab treats. I don't think you can go wrong staying at the LBLR.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canukgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your positive response, we are doing some upgrading in the cottages this string, to make them even more special.
While you said you did not dine in the Dining room, I am hoping you enjoyed our hand crafted continental buffet breakfast , included in your room rate.
Next visit I would reccommend that you try our our dining experience, there is a wonderful variety of fresh and local food, served in the most beautiful setting on the West Coast.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofino
1.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,049 reviews
126.5 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Cox Bay Beach Resort
#9 of 16 in Tofino
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Property: Long Beach Lodge Resort
Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing