We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful getaway in beautiful Tofino”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We just got back from spending two nights and three days in Tofino at the Long Beach Lodge. It was my first time in Tofino and I'm smitten! Since it's February the weather was typical: some sunshine on the first day followed by fog and rain the next two, very west coast rainforest! Tofino was beautiful in every light and it felt cozy and romantic at the resort.
The location is great, right on the beach and you can see and hear the ocean from your room. The service at the resort was great, particularly our server at dinner on the first night. He was knowledgeable and polite while remaining completely unpretentious. We enjoyed the casual feel of the service by staff there, while the resort setting still felt luxurious.
We got a ocean view ground floor room, which we requested. The room was spacious and romantic, with a huge soaker tub, heated floors and comfortable king bed. The only complaint I have is the shower - it's too small for two!
We ate every meal except one at the resort. The food was good, with some dishes being better than others. I'd recommend the roasted beet salad, salmon and bbq chicken pizza. It didn't seem any more expensive than a dinner at a high end restaurant in Vancouver. Their prices for wine by the bottle were very reasonable. The dining room has a breathtaking view of the ocean, with tables and a bar area as well as cozy couches by a crackling fire where you can relax and unwind with a drink.
There is no spa at the resort, which is probably why it's ranked a 4 star instead of a 5 like the Wick.
Overall, a wonderful stay and I would gladly return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caribbean_Zingara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our resort, February can have some beautiful weather, between winter storms. We will look forward to welcoming you bck as a return guest.

Tim Hackett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,274 - 2,280 of 3,105 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

Been wanting to visit Tofino for a few years during storm season, so threw the dog in the truck and away we went - Jan 26,27,28/2013. Stayed 3 nights at the Long Beach Lodge and all had fun. Very dog friendly with a basket of goodies to greet our 4 legged friends. Room was excellent and had dinner at the "Great Room" restaurant 4 nights out of a 5 day stay in Tofino. Loved the way the restaurant was set up - you can sit at the bar, have a formal dinner, sit at a kitchen table or just sit by the roaring fire in a comfy couch and order dinner there. We have to give praise to our wonderful server on the first night, Alanna and after that asked to sit in her section every night! The resort itself, ambiance, staff, food, walks on the beach with our dog was amazing. Had a wonderful time and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moosepoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for your very nice review, Alanna will be delighted to know that you enjoyed her service. We hope to welcome you back again as one of our valued return guests.

Just a note to all our followers, I am have trouble understanding Trip Advisor! They announced in January that Long Beach Lodge Resort was the #8 rated property in Canada and yet in Tofino we are presently #3. The Wick was the only other area property that was rated at #16.

Tim Hackett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed 3 nights with the Long Beach Lodge. We really had a great break. From the time of our warm welcome and assistance getting our bags to the room through to check out we were pampered. Our room was on the 3rd floor looking out on the beach, quiet & very comfortable. There is a balcony to sit out and listen to the surf with a morning coffee or evening glass of wine. We had the most spectacular sunset one evening. You wake up in the morning to the smell of cinnamon buns and fresh bread baking. The dining room is well appointed and cozy, the food was very good, we had steak the first night and seafood the second. We used the hot tub, had it to ourselves. We spent mornings walking the beach. Didn't get a storm but enjoyed the misty fresh air. The staff are lovely.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor facing the ocean - would recommend it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am happy you had a great time. Winter can be a good time to visit, not as many people around! Also, if there is not a storm, you can get beautiful bright days, with wonderful sunsets.

Tim Hackett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Two friends and I rented a two-bedroom cottage for a girls weekend and had the time of our lives. The cottage was more like a full duplex that afforded an amazing amount of privacy. The photos do not fully do justice to the beautiful decor, ample size, fully equipped kitchen facilities and the private hot tub. Everything was clean and well laid out and not once were we disturbed and when required staff were accommodating but respectful. The great room is aptly named for its view of Cox Bay and their concept of the "continental breakfast" was a fantastic surprise. Fresh muffins and pastries were accompanied by oatmeal with fresh berry compote or the topping of your choice and fresh fruit. We found everything we needed at Long Beach Lodge.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the cottages for up to four people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyJ8454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thanks for your review, glad you had so much fun! The cottages are perfect for special week ends, especially if you can split the costs with friends. I hope you will visit us again soon, maybe take a surf lesson?

Tim Hackett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We get to Tofino often as we live a few hours away on the East side of Vancouver Island. This was our 1st stay at the Lodge, although we know lots about it from other friends and family who have stayed there. The stay was excellent, staff friendly and helpful. We stayed in an ocean front room on the ground floor which was perfect as we had our lab with us, so we had both a view and an easy route to the beach. Although on the ground floor, the design of the building is such that privacy is not a concern (the water view might be better from one of the upper floor rooms but as we stayed in Feb, with dark coming early, the view wasn't something we spent a lot of time worrying about & I doubt the upper floor rooms are pet friendly). We ended up eating all meals in the lodge. Breakfast was good with a wide selection of cold buffet items. I have made Granola for over 30 years and the offer on the buffet which is made in house, as were the pastry selections, was as good as anything I can make. Dinners were v good. A welcome addition was that the menu offered a wide price range, from top end to an Apres Surf selection that catered well to family needs. We ate from both areas and have no complaints. For dog lovers, the location was perfect. Access to the beach was easy, the walking great and there were lots of other dogs , all friendly.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms on the uppr floors might give a better ocean view, but the ground floor rooms are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we are always delighted when guests bring their dogs, as we know how much dogs enjoy the beach. If my pup had his way, we would never leave the beach! The views may be a little better on the 2nd and 3th floors, but i love viewing the ocean through the natural landscape from the first floor.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon as a return guest. The largest percentage of visits, to the Lodge, are from return guests.

Tim Hackett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Sitting under the stars in a steaming hot tub... can life get any better? It was a weekend that surpassed all expectations, from the seared tuna that seduced my taste-buds to the golden sunset that stopped everyone on the beach. A highly recommended experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieJHuston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for your great review, glad you had a wonderful visit. I hope you will come back and try a surf lesson or ocean adventure.

Tim Hackett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

lovely walks along the beach, the electric wood fire making our room so cosy, soaking in the hot tub under a clear starry sky, long lazy breaky in the beautifully decorated 'Great Room', fabulous service and the food, the food is to die for! Don't leave before you've tried the seafood linguini or the chocolate cheesecake, yum, yum and yum!!! We had an extra bed put into a double room, it was super comfy and there was plenty of space still for three of us. It's also an easy drive down to the shops. All in all ... Fabulous!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Manager at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Glad you girls had a great visit, the cottages lend themselves so well for girls getaways. Next time you come, you should try a surf lesson, or at least use the facilities. Thank you for choosing the Lodge.

Tim Hackett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,086 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
331 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: $177 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing