We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My daughter & her beau were married this past weekend and opted for the package deal offered by the lodge. It was a very warm & friendly atmosphere & sleeping in a bed on the beach where I slept in the 60's was a very different experience. While the lodging, food and views were amazing they were eclipsed by the warm & friendly staff, that bent over backwards to make this a quality stay. The wedding planner Tracey & our server Tariq went way over & beyond to ensure all our wants & needs were met. My daughter & her husband took surfing lessons from Ryland & I've got pics of them both getting up on board.....which they never thought would happen.
Overall a great time and a big Ontario hug for all the staff that made it so....see you soon

Room Tip: stayed on the surf side rooms next to the great room.....close to the food & not to far to stumb...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Congratulations to the bridal couple. It sounds like they should take up surfing!
I know that Tracey, Tariq and Ryland will really appreciate the nice mention. We often get comments like yours that say that while the hotel and location are great, it is the wonderful staff that really make the visit memorable.
Thank you and best wishes to your whole group for a wonderful New Year.

Tim Hackett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,984)
There are newer reviews for Long Beach Lodge Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,175 - 2,181 of 2,984 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

I won a two nights stay at Long Beach Lodge and was able to use it over new years eve with my husband and two young children. we had a wonderful stay and enjoyed a beautiful new years eve dinner in the great room. the staff was very friendly! and the setting was stunning!

on a previous stay six years ago (august 2006) we stayed in one of the cabins ... and it was PURE luxury! not a cheap stay ... but one i will never forget ... and hope to be able to do again! it was a great private and 'homey' stay for us ... especially great with a little toddler in tow.

Room Tip: the room we were in (bottom floor, deluxe 2 double bed beachfront suite) had one wall between the ro...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeahLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

I am happy that you were able to join us for New Years, it is always great when someone who wins a visit enjoys it so much.
I don't know it you receive our newsletter, or follow us on line, but there are special offers available for stays, most of the time. I hope you will visit us again soon.
Best wishes for the New Year.

Tim Hackett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is our third time to stay at The Long Beach Lodge Resort..............

Great location - yup
Fantastic view - yes
Friendly staff - oui
Fantastic complementary Breakfast Buffet - sì'
Beautiful rooms - you bet

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El_Jefe_Gordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thanks for your review, glad you had so much fun! The cottages are perfect for special week ends, especially if you can split the costs with friends. I hope you will visit us again soon, maybe take a surf lesson?

Tim Hackett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was our second 5 day stay at Long Beach Lodge in the last 12 months. On both occasions we stayed in one of the 20 cabins as we brought our two dogs both of whom give this resort a 5 paws rating! In some cases a second visit can be disappointing but with Long Beach Lodge our returning expectations were more than satisfied even during a busy holdiay period. The setting itself is magnificent with the breakers depositing the surfers at the foot of the hotel. The beach on Cox Bay is pristine and except for the water temperature, is the equal of any on Hawaii. The facilities match the setting and the owners who were in residence throughout the holiday season, demontrated their commitment to maintaining very high standards of service and cleanliness which isn't always evident in similar hotels. The staff was universally competent and friendly and left you with the impression that you were friends invited to a family holiday. As we left the owners waved us goodbye but we are sure we will be back.

Room Tip: The cabins are side by side 2 storie duplexs that run back from the beach along a curving minor road...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for your five paws rating! I am delighted you enjoyed your visit over New Years. I always say that it is our wonderful staff that truly make visits memorable.
We also had a great time, over the holidays, the kids surfed everyday!

Best wishes for the New Year .

Tim Hackett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Finding a wonderful location that really gives you a break from the routine is always exciting. Accomodation was clean, well decorated with a fantastic view. Book room with ocean view. Worth the extra.
Hats off to the friendly staff! What a great way to start the year.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcelBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for your comments.

Best Wishes for 2013!

Tim Hackett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I eagerly looked forward to our trip away from job stresses and the chance for a completely different landscape. We arrived in the evening after an exhausting round of airport connections and driving the long, twisty road over the pass at night, so we were disappointed to find the room we'd asked for was not what we were assigned. It was my boyfriend's 60th birthday, so I'd wanted it to be very special. Instead, we were given something in the pet-friendly section and on a different floor instead of a walk out to the beach, as it was described when I booked the reservation. The desk clerks said that was about all that was available but agreed to show us a couple of alternatives. The one fellow said they always assign rooms as people arrive instead of holding specific rooms, which we didn't understand. Problem with the alternatives was the view--there was none--or proximity to dogs, so we took what we were assigned, which had no clear view to the water, but at least it was some view, once we moved furniture a bit. Seemed like the slider and curtains should have opened on the other side to afford a view. Also and very oddly, we had to walk through the kitchen to get to our room! That all seemed pretty nuts.
Once we settled in and learned a side route in and out of the building, we loved our spot and being able to open the slider to listen to the surf at night. The very comfortable bed, too, made for a wonderfully restful sleep. In the morning, we shifted the chairs to see a bit of the waves and have the fireplace nearby as we had our coffee. There was so little counter space in the bathroom and in the coffee/refrigerator alcove in the next room to do much, but we squeezed enough space to make up a cup each morning. After that, we just took off from the hotel and went exploring, eating while out and about and only having dinner at the hotel once, dessert another time. Too bad we didn't find out what a glorious view the restaurant had until the last morning we were there and before heading back, because we would have enjoyed doing that each morning instead.
We loved the lodge's close proximity to trails, beaches, and other sights, and the island itself was amazing and fun to explore. The first impression of our accommodations was disappointing, to say the least, but staff was accommodating as best they could be and the grounds were lovely with Christmas lights. I also appreciated finding the discount with a 3-day stay. After all our work to find just the right spot before booking, though,I do wish someone had been more effective in making good our original reservation.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank TravelnTchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for visiting the Lodge, sorry you were not completely satisfied. I believe there were several misunderstandings.
Firstly, when a guest makes a reservation, the guest selects a room type, as you did. Hotels only ever assign room types, not specific room numbers. Upon check-in you were assigned room 203, again the room type requested. When you asked for a ground floor room you were shown 116, the only other room available in that room type. When the second room was not satisfactory, we gladly returned you to the original room. Partial beach front have pretty good views and are somewhat less expensive than the deluxe beachfront rooms that have a beautiful full view. We once stayed in what was described as a partial beach view in an upscale hotel, to see the ocean you had to hang over the balcony railing, kind of dangerous on the sixth floor!

There was also a misunderstanding around our breakfast program. Everyone guest is given, upon check-in free breakfast coupons , to enjoy breakfast every morning in the Great Room Dining areas. Every guest, even full kitchen cottage guests, take advantage of the breakfast program.

Finally, just so future guests don't get the wrong impression, guests do not walk throw the kitchen to get to any room. Four rooms are accessed down the hallway, between the open kitchen and dining room, these rooms are 203, 4, 5 and 6.

I hope you will visit us again, and hopefully have a better experience.

Tim Hackett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was our second trip to Tofino and staying at the Long Beach Lodge. Just as the first time, our experience there was excellent, from the staff, the facilities, the services, the room, and the food. The Lodge setting is an excellent complement to the scenery and activities that abound outside it.

Room Tip: We've only stayed in the Deluxe Beachfront Rooms, but they are well worth it.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for your very positive review, it is comments like yours that make it all worthwhile for our staff and family. I hope you will visit us again soon.
Happy New Year.

Tim Hackett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,067 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Cox Bay Beach Resort
#9 of 16 in Tofino
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: $180 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing