We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch Takeout, Memorable Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of RedCan Gourmet

RedCan Gourmet
Ranked #17 of 52 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $50
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lunch Takeout, Memorable Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Ordered sandwiches for our excursion to the hot springs. They were fresh, delicious, and filling. The staff are enthusiastic about the food, friendly, and extremely accommodating (allowing us to pick up sandwiches early a.m. before our tour). Thanks RedCan!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KTandLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    61
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Gourmet Take Out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Sometimes you have done plenty and changing for dinner would be a bother. The RedCan Gourmet has the solution. Their food is amazing and so easy to pick up then take back to a beachside picnic table or a common room at your lodge.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CameraBluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Tofino!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I had read about the RedCan Gourmet before we arrived in Tofino and for our last night we decided to pickup dinner from their restaurant, located just minutes from our B&B.

I had the Charred Albacore Tuna with greens and avocado and my wife had the Pork Tenderloin, though she did request a switch out of the Risotto for the Roasted Potatoes from another menu item... Pregnancy cravings! We also ordered the Cumin Scented Seafood Chowder with fresh herbs.

Once we got back to our accommodation and unboxed our selection, we were wowed by the quality of cooking they put out! There was no drop off in quality or quantity even though this was take out (they do have some park benches at their location to sit at if you choose, however).

The tuna was perfectly seared on the outside and a beautiful rare inside. The pork tenderloin was superb and moist, even though my wife requested it to be well done. I was impressed with the chowder as well... well balanced and with plenty of seafood.

Service was excellent and they were more than happy to accommodate my wife's pregnancy cravings and concerns. We could see the pride the chef took in preparing our dishes and for making sure that we were happy with our selections.

We were so glad we had the chance to try RedCan Gourmet and are kicking ourselves that we didn't stay an extra day or two in Tofino! Do yourself a favour and make a plan to visit the RedCan Gourmet!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YEGTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We called in at Redcan after a day bear watching, a trip to Ucluelet and then a fantastic time on Chesterman Beach so just fancied something to take back to the apartment and crash out.

I had read reviews on tripadvisor so knew of Redcan and found it easily.We ordered a beef short rib sandwich and a salmon one and whilst the quality was really good, $35 for two sarnies is a bit steep.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rovers90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
224 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Outstanding sandwiches!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stopped here for sandwiches to take to the beach. What delicious food we enjoyed! My husband thought the pulled pork sandwich was the best he has ever had. My turkey sandwich was excellent. Staff is very nice, too!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RedCan Gourmet also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to RedCan Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing