We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food. Amazing service. Awesome atmosphere!!!”

The Fish Store and Oyster Bar
Ranked #12 of 52 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Come in to buy the freshest local seafood to take home and cook or sit back, relax and allow us to do the cooking for you.
Port Alberni, Canada
1 review
“Great food. Amazing service. Awesome atmosphere!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Freshest seafood in town. Delicious oysters shucked right in front of you. Local beer. The service was amazing, both from Marcy and Courtenay. Great laughs and such a good time. Will definitly be returning!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hotblonde270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    45
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

While traveling along the west coast for two weeks this has been one of the best restaurant stops I've made. Simple but elegant atmosphere with wonderfully friendly service.

Great menu. Some of the freshest food I've tasted and wonderfully prepared. Simple as that.

Helpful?
Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“As fresh as it gets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

In house smoked fish, local oysters, local line caught fish, live crab.. The list goes on.

Unbeatable service and local eats - a must while visiting this beautiful coastal town

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
1 review
“Best PNW Seafood Experience Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Was on a business trip to Nanaimo last Friday and got done early. Since I wasn't flying home to Houston from YVR until early Sunday morning, I decided to drive over to Ucluelet/Tofino and spend the night. Was walking along the waterfront and stopped in at the Fish Store as it looked like "my kinda place"! What a wonderful experience! They had fresh PNW oysters on the half-shell that looked great; however, I always avoid them because they are so pricey compared to southern oysters, and I love them so much I usually eat 2 dozen or so. I settled for the crabcakes, squid, and the smoked salmon platter. All were truly outstanding, but the smoked Chinook bellies were to die for. I've had smoked salmon all over the word and frequently smoke my own when I'm brelles with a PNW fishing trip. The owner (Lutz) and his lovely lady were charming; hence, I'll BE BACK!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larrytktx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
1 review
“No fresher or more delicious seafood exists!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

If you enjoy what the chef creates for you, you can take the main ingredients with you afterwards! As many local merchants as possible have been brought into this gem. At the back of the building there is a wharf and docks below with a sweeping view of the inlet.

Love this place and the people!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanRiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Store and Oyster Bar also viewed

 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to The Fish Store and Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing