We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Bear Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 42 Tofino B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Lovely oasis”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Lovely accomodation with glorious view over estuary hosts lovely. great breakfasts. beach not far away. definately recommend it. lovely deep bath and luxorious bath robes . only thing could add was tea making facilities in room although you can get a hot drink from hosts. S and m

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salseros13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
75
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pointe Claire, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Bobbi and jay were exceptionnally welcoming, they made us feel like we were home. The bed and breakfast was gorgeous. the view on the inlet part of the ocean is stunning and the beach to the pacific is 5 minutes away. we just felt we wanted to stay longer and may be get the chance to view some wildlife directly from the B&B. All recommendations (restaurants, walk, activites,...) were amazing. we look forward being able to come back and spend more time there. The breakfast were also fantastic and very healthy (yes, it is not incompatible!). Next time, we will come without my mother and get the osprey guestroom which is stunning.

Room Tip: both inlet and black bear have a private entrance, but the view of the inlet is fantastic. the ospre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thanks for the kind review. It's always nice to hear how much guests appreciate all the details we put into the B&B. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Black Bear Bed and Breakfast for 2 nights last June. Bobbi and Jay are wonderful hosts and have a beautiful home that they lovingly share with their guests. Because our stay was impromptu and we didn’t have reservations (i.e. prior bookings), we stayed in a different room each of our nights.

The first evening we stayed in the luxurious Osprey Guestroom. It is exactly as pictured on their website – beautiful. The next evening we moved to the Black Bear Guestroom. Although smaller, the beds and bedding were of the same wonderful quality and the shared bathroom (i.e. with the Inlet Guestroom across the hall), was very large and modernly appointed with everything a guest would need.

Along with providing a great sleep, Bobbi, had a selection of beverages available first thing in the morning….taking coffee back to the room was a nice treat. The breakfasts were fabulous – delicious and beautifully plated and served.

During our stay, all our encounters with Bobbi and Jay were so pleasant and relaxed. Both are very willing to share their knowledge about Tofino and the area – making great suggestions about restaurants and things to explore and do.

We’ll definitely be back and wholeheartedly recommend that if you’re able, stay with Bobbi and Jay at the Black Bear Guesthouse.

Karin and Kevin

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandKtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for such a rave review!! We greatly appreciate all the thought put into your words. So great to have created the perfect stay for you guys, it's what makes having the B&B so rewarding! Thank you again and come back for another stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed for only 2 nights but it was a wonderful experience. We felt at home and very comfortable. The breakfasts were incredible. The suggestions on places to visit and restaurants to eat at were awesome. Can't say enough about the hospitality - jay & Bobbi and of course Audie know how to make you feel welcome.
The room was beautiful and the bathroom - wow!
The stay just wasn't long enough, but will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the King room upstairs - awesome view of the inlet - so quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thanks for the great review guys, we appreciate the feedback and are so happy to hear you had such a good stay! Come back soon to enjoy paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was our first stay in a B&B and it was OUTSTANDING. Having never stayed in a B&B we were very apprehensive, with Bobbi and Jay they are perfect hosts. Informing us of all of Tofino's highlights and made us so welcome to their home. Their home is beautifully furnished and very west coast. We stayed for 4 nights and felt that it was too quick, once you become acclimatized to zen of the west coast, you do not want to leave this paradise. This stay was highlighted by their beautiful 11 month daughter Auley, she gives the most beautiful smiles and giggles!!
Another new experience at the B & B is the breakfast, Bobbi's breakfasts are better than any five star top hotel breakfast!!!
Not only tasty, but very filling and organic, lunch is not necessary

This B & B is truly a love story for my wife and I
We love the location,
We love the hosts,
We love the accomadtions,
We love the exquisite breakfasts
And we would love to return very soon!!!

Thank you for the wonderful experience, it was truly appreciated!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdnballboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Wow guys, what a fantastic review!! Thank you so much and we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly. We really appreciated such detailed review that highlights areas of the B&B we really focus on. Would love to have you come back for another relaxing stay at the Black Bear Guesthouse!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My father was visiting from Alberta and wanted to see Tofino. The last time I was there was 16 years ago and I had no idea where to stay. Looking at accommodations, I came upon the Black Bear Guest House and decided to give it a chance; I'm so glad I did! Fabulous, large, and well presented breakfasts were offered. Super friendly hosts that instantly made us feel at home, I honestly felt like I was staying at a friends house, not a B&B. Jay, Bobbie and Auley are terrific; they were so welcoming to me, my father and my two boys. I loved the fact that I could bring my 2 and 4 year old here and let them pick berries, climb and wonder around without feeling like they were being a nuisance. The rooms were wonderful, clean, spacious and the bathtub heavenly. I'm already planning our next trip back, this time with my husband and our boys so we can have more adventures and fun! We will be back and no we will not stay anywhere else in Tofino from now on.

Room Tip: The inlet and black bear rooms are perfect for a family, while the Osprey room is perfect for that r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi guys! Come back for a visit soon! Was so great having your family here. Your boys were so lovely and are welcome anytime :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

View was great. Bobby and Jay take you in like you are close friends. Very nice experience for first time in tofino. They gave so many great tips about where to go and what to do. So clean and the house is just about brand new with very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustinandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.1 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.9 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Guesthouse

Property: Black Bear Guesthouse
Address: 926 Black Bear Lane, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Black Bear Guesthouse, a brand new Westcoast designed home, overlooking the beautiful calm waters of Clayoquot Sound. Offering two accommodation options, a full self catering vacation Suite for the traveller looking to book their home away from home and a simple, clean comfortable room and private bathroom for the budget conscious guest. Guests are welcome to walk around the property to view the Inlet tidal waterfront. The Bay is a protected wildlife sanctuary with river otters, bald eagles, osprey, harbour seals and if you're lucky you'll spot a local grey wolf. Come experience the tranquility of the Inlet side of Tofino. Whether you're here to relax, rejuvenate or seek adventure, Black Bear Guesthouse is your home away from home. We are within a few minutes walking distance to popular Chesterman Beach with its long sandy shoreline and great surfing. The town of Tofino with all its amenities, restaurants and boutique galleries is only a 5 minute drive down the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Black Bear Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing