We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why stay anywhere else?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Black Bear Guesthouse
Ranked #12 of 41 Tofino B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We have been to Tofino many times before and have always stayed at one of the big resorts with the find dining restaurants and high price tags. Since this particular trip was a spontaneous one, and we failed to consider the tourist rush of the long weekend when we left home (which is several hours away) we got to the coast and soon realized that there were not many rooms available at the resorts. The front desk clerk at one of those resorts told us that there was one room available at the "Best B&B in town" and that the owners would save it for us if we wanted to give them a try. I'm not sure if we'll ever stay at one of the resorts again!

The Black Bear Guesthouse was perfect in every way. We left feeling like we had made new friends. Jay and Bobbi are so comfortably hospitable and accommodating that we felt like we were staying in our friends' home. Their house is beautifully crafted and full of local art and West Coast design features. The food was healthy, well prepared and beautifully presented (not to mention yummy!) My husband took a photo of his breakfast because it was so pretty! The room was spotless and comfy. The view was beautiful, and the atmosphere ~ peaceful and relaxing.

Both Bobbi and Jay were full of useful info about activities, local dining, events and beaches.

We're going back soon and why would we stay anywhere else?

Room Tip: Our room was great! Everybody who was staying in the house when we were there, were happy with the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Was great meeting you both and so glad you stumbled upon us. Enjoyed the conversations and I'm hoping we'll see you again one day as you're pretty much locals ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 136 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at the Black Bear Guest house for two nights and had a wonderful time. The house is beautiful and the owners Bobbi and Jay are warm and welcoming. They really made us feel at home and helped us make the most of our time in Tofino by recommending their favorite restaurants and places to visit. Bobbi's breakfasts are delicious and the rooms are comfortable and quiet. We stayed in the Inlet Room which has a private deck facing onto the Inlet. We had a wonderful relaxing time and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband and I with our two kids slept in this wonderful B&B for three nights at the end of July. We were accomodated in the two queen bed guestrooms on the ground floor (Inlet and Black Bear rooms) and had a bathroom in between. The rooms are beautiful ( Inlet enjoys a stunning view over the bay) and so is the bathroom (featuring a huge bath tub)! The owners, Jay and Bobbi, are adorable hosts and made us feel at home from the very moment we pulled in with our car. Bobbi's breakfast is simply delicious and Jay's smile is contagious ! One night we sat by the fire pit on the deck of the house overlooking the bay, eating roasted marshmallows and chatting with Jay and with other guests until dark. It was magical.
The house is just one year old and it is a short strall from Chesterman beach and a few minutes drive/bike ride from town. Super recommended !!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria Sole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for staying with us!! I miss your lovely children. Was such a pleasure having you enjoy our Guesthouse and Tofino, all the best to you! Ciao!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Tucked away with stunning views across the tidal inlet, we couldn't have found a more comfortable and stylish setting for a family reunion. We stayed in the private suite (self-catering) - extremely well-appointed, whilst our two 20-something daughters had the master suite (B and B) with breathtaking views and a bath to die for. Jay and Bobby were very welcoming hosts and the home-cooked breakfasts were both delicious and different. The 7am phone call to our suite to join Bobby in the kitchen to watch a bear ambling across the mudflat was the icing in the cake! Would recommend this to everyone.

Room Tip: Black Bear suite great for self-catering In main house, Master bedroom has best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Enjoyed having you at our place immensely and so happy to hear it was such a highlight!
We are glad to be able to share our little piece of paradise with so many lovely people.
Hello to you and your girls (hopefully one of them we'll see this winter). Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Great place, and very knowledgable, friendly, accomodating hosts (Bobbi and Jay) who made us feel right at home for 4 nights in the private suite. Short walk to Chesterman, short drive to town, pretty view of the inlet the main house sits on. If you are staying in the suite and preparing your own meals, I'd suggest calling ahead to see what if any sort of staples are stashed in the cupboards (e.g., coffee, salt, pepper, etc.) as you might be able to save a couple of bucks on groceries. All in all it was an excellent experience that we'd do again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Beautiful place with amazing people. Highly recommend this little oasis just steps away form Chesterman beach and great surf.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

A beautiful brand new house on a stunning piece of land over looking quiet inlet with forests surrounding. Perfectly placed to access Tofino and beaches. Cozy beds, large bath with huge soaker tub, dead quiet at night. Bobby is a superb gourmet cook, made a special vegan requested breakfast for me that was the best I have ever had and I am not joking..amazing!! Beautifully presented, will try to include a picture. Wonderful people with a B&B that worth the trip on its own.

Room Tip: "Inlet" room is really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StyleInTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thanks for the great review, was so nice having you and your family at our place... And a pleasure testing out my gourmet oatmeal recipe on you. Hope to welcome you back one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.9 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,088 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Meares Vista Inn
Meares Vista Inn
#13 of 16 in Tofino
46 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
2.8 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Guesthouse

Address: 926 Black Bear Lane, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range: $72 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Black Bear Guesthouse, a brand new Westcoast designed home, overlooking the beautiful calm waters of Clayoquot Sound. Offering two accommodation options, a full self catering vacation Suite for the traveller looking to book their home away from home and a simple, clean comfortable room and private bathroom for the budget conscious guest. Guests are welcome to walk around the property to view the Inlet tidal waterfront. The Bay is a protected wildlife sanctuary with river otters, bald eagles, osprey, harbour seals and if you're lucky you'll spot a local grey wolf. Come experience the tranquility of the Inlet side of Tofino. Whether you're here to relax, rejuvenate or seek adventure, Black Bear Guesthouse is your home away from home. We are within a few minutes walking distance to popular Chesterman Beach with its long sandy shoreline and great surfing. The town of Tofino with all its amenities, restaurants and boutique galleries is only a 5 minute drive down the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Black Bear Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing