We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surfing with awesome instructors!!”
Review of Tofino Surf School

Tofino Surf School
Ranked #8 of 50 Tours in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Tofino Surf School is a local owner operated business. We offer small group sizes and personalized surf lessons. Surfing and teaching people how to surf is our passion. Tofino Surf School has taught thousands of people to surf young and old, including people with disabilities. We would love to get you started too!When you take a lesson with Tofino Surf School you have many options to choose from. You and your friends can opt to book a group lesson, you and your friends can join one of our scheduled lessons. You can can book a private 1-on-1 lesson or if you have some surf experience and your own equipment you can sign up for a surf guide where we show you the best surf spots and paddle out with you. You can give us a call and we will try our best to accommodate you.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great surfing with awesome instructors!!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Thanks Jeff and Eddie for having the patience to teach Monica and me how to surf! What an exhilarating feeling standing up on that board and the waves were awesome that day! Too bad we didn't get to play with that cougar that people saw :p

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RahKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TofinoSurfSchool, Owner at Tofino Surf School, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
It was super fun to surf with you and Monica, you guys caught on quickly and did a great job. We had such sweet waves that day too. Hope to see you guys again and keep an eye out for that cougar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    2
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“So much fun!!!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Estuardo and Jeffro did a fantastic job with our family. Four adults and three kids. We booked a private lesson with these two instructors and couldn't have been more pleased. The instruction was just enough and there was lots of time in the water. We had a brief lesson on the beach, a little first aid and off we went. Our whole group had a marvelous time and we would definitely do another session next summer. The only complaint we had was that we didn't get any photos because we were all in the water and we could not leave a camera on the beach! What a great experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TofinoSurfSchool, Owner at Tofino Surf School, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thanks so much Joanne! We had an absolute blast surfing with you and your family as well, you guys were such great fun. And we had such epic surf and sun conditions too. It was our great pleasure to give you guys this experience and hope to surf again with all of you in the future... but we'll make sure everyone is fully hydrated first though!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Great Experience”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I had a morning lesson with Jeffro at Cox beach. By a large margin we were the first surf class in the water catching waves instead of rolling around in the sand. Had a great time with Tofino Surf School!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nilsk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TofinoSurfSchool, Owner at Tofino Surf School, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Stoked to get you guys out surfing with us and that you had a great time! Way more fun to get rolled around by the waves than rolling in the sand. The water is where the fun is. Hope to surf with you guys again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tofino surf”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My children, age 17 and 13 have had 3 hours tuition with Ed today at South Chesterman beach. Fabulous introduction to surfing. They are complete beginners. The beach was picturesque and Ed was a great tutor and extremely nice guy. Well worth the money as the children are now looking forward to renting a board and wetsuit for the remainder of our holiday. Thanks Tofino Surf school.

Helpful?
Thank DianeKM1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TofinoSurfSchool, Owner at Tofino Surf School, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Great to hear that the kids had so much fun and thanks for the kind words Diane. Sorry for getting your kids so addicted to surfing and becoming surf bums!!! Awesome to see them charging the waves during the lesson and the days afterwards. Looks like all the future family vacations will revolve around surfing, now we just have to get you and dad out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Simply the best in Tofino”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I had a lesson with Tofino Surf School August 2012 and were incredibly impressed. Tofino surf school emphasized getting in the water and surfing!!! Our 3 hour lesson consisted of about 2 and a half-hours in the water. I actually left tired after having caught wave after wave. We followed our lesson with 4 extra days of surfing (ask about the deal with long beach surf shop, another excellent establishment) and had a good chance to watch the other schools from Tofino, and their lesson style. Consistently the other schools spent a lot of time on the shore. One school spent less than an hour in the water. I chose this school because of the consistently low ratings other schools had received on Google reviews. I am extremely glad I did.

I would highly recommend Tofino Surf School. After our 3 hour lesson I left feeling very satisfied that I had the tools needed to head out and practice myself, which I was able to do with confidence for the rest of my trip.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank NAP626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TofinoSurfSchool, Owner at Tofino Surf School, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thanks for the compliment. We take great pride in doing our teaching in the water, as that is where the action is and giving our clients the most amount of time in the water. We want you to finish your lesson with us with your arms about to fall off!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tofino Surf School also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Tofino Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing