We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dump!”
Review of Dolphin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dolphin Motel
Ranked #38 of 41 Tofino B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 6, 2011

$285.00 for 2 nights and that got us 10% off of our Hot Springs Cove Tour. Smelled the sewer (or septic) all night, place was rundown and dingy-dirty. Towels were grey and the bed covers were stained. Shower was a joke. I am glad I travelled with my own linens and pillows! Never again! Tofino was packed solid so there wasn't anywhere else to move to. Friends and loved ones were the only reason it was doable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divinelavine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 55 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

Clean motel, but not much more. Price is relatively good, though maybe only an OK value.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pliem50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

A very nice spanish lady runs this place.
117$ a night- for a double bed that had a Montreal canadians blanket and really old school grama style sheets. The water faucet leaked. About the size of an 8x8 kids bedroom. Shampoo and soap in a tupperware container near the tub. Had cable.
Compared rates to other hotels: this one is cheap for the area at 117$ a night. Hard to find some last minute hotels and also its expensive in general. I couldnt believe it was that stingy at 117$ (since you can get a NICE CHAIN hotel for that say holiday inn or other in a different city....) I was alittle upset at first but then realized we were only using it to sleep, so who cares.
Great location. I went with a guy, i felt safe.
Overall- if you dont plan on spending much time in the room, do it. If you do, dont.

Better idea? Screw the hotels and camp it out ! Lots of camping spots and more affordable than any hotel in this area.

We went surfing with Bruhweiler surf and also took a boat to the hot springs and whale watched as we did. Beach is nice and very close.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magically_delicious7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Thought I'd struck gold by getting a reservation at what appeared to be a retromotel. NO! I kept my shoes on in the room the whole time - for fear of picking up something nasty. I paid for three nights but after the first, received a limited refund...seems if you have two double beds in your room or use an extra pillow from another bed - you're charged more! Regardless of prior arrangements.

A good place for the Bandidos or Hell's Angels. Not for others - those with a job or looking for a safe, clean room.

I found a room at another hotel, paid the same price as the rip off Dolphin and enjoyed my trip, especially since I didn't think the bikers or other whiskey tangos would bust into the room at night. UGH.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SkiHikeKayakPlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Travel back in time to the 60/70s - this place is great! The prefabricated cabins generally consist of two bedrooms, a small kitchenette and a bathroom. Immaculately clean with simple furnishings, staying here instantly teleports you back to the Tofino of old. Sensibly priced and in a great location not far from Chesterman's Beach - the nicest beach in Tofino by a country mile. Parking is plentiful and free. Owned and run by a little oriental lady who is very friendly. Highly recommended - and mentioned in the Lonely Planet - no surprises there!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sunflower_Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronic_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Mikamika79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofino
1.6 mi away
Tofino Swell Lodge
Tofino Swell Lodge
#12 of 20 in Tofino
36 reviews
19.9 mi away
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
0.5 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
0.3 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
330 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tofino Resort + Marina
Tofino Resort + Marina
#14 of 16 in Tofino
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Address: 1190 Pacific Rim Highway, Tofino, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range: $79 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing