We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent - enjoyably informative

Johnny was a great guide, being pleasant, patient and informative. The Coastal Combination tour was... read more

Reviewed June 9, 2018
DavidG897
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Land and Sea Amazing Adventure

We knew we were in good hands as soon as we met Liam and Jeff. We booked the Land and Sea tour... read more

Reviewed June 5, 2018
Pat M
,
Tyler, Texas
Read all 15 reviews
  
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveler rating
12
1
0
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
1
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flora and fauna old growth forest great guide liam hike information sea
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 15 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2018 via mobile

Johnny was a great guide, being pleasant, patient and informative. The Coastal Combination tour was excellent.

1  Thank DavidG897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2018

We knew we were in good hands as soon as we met Liam and Jeff. We booked the Land and Sea tour because we wanted to experience both the “sea” experience of traveling around the many islands and the “land” experience of hiking on one of the islands. We were amazed by the beauty of the islands and the interesting board walk on our hike on Meares Island. However, more importantly, we were very appreciative of the knowledge of both Liam and Jeff about the history, the people, the complexity of the sea, and the beauty of the land. Our hike on Meares Island with Liam was highlighted with information about the beautiful tall timbers, the plants, and the wildlife. Liam has the unique ability to interact with people of all ages. On the hike he walked at our pace, never rushing and always ready to answer any of our questions and supply his bountiful knowledge. We felt that this tour really helped us to more appreciate the beauty of Tofino and its surrounding area. This tour also helped us to appreciate the people who live in Tofino who want to share the beauty of this area with others.

1  Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBNatureTours, Owner at Long Beach Nature Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2018

Thank you so much Pat for such a kind and wonderful review. Our goal is to connect our guests with nature, provide an intimate and genuine private tour and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience. We hope you continue having a great holiday in British Columbia, we wish you all the best and safe travels.

Sincerely,
The team at Long Beach Nature Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017

Great experience with Liam, owner and lead guide of this tour company. He was informative, personable and fun. Great way to get a new perspective of the forest, beach and sea. He could have talked for hours on any subject we were interested in.

2  Thank Dianaleeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017

I signed up for a hike with this company while staying in the Tofino area, one of my most favorite areas in BC. I took a long leisurely hike through the old growth forest near Schooner Cove with a guide, who was informative, relaxed, and extremely knowledgeable about the area, flora and fauna. I learned how to identify specific trees, birds, and a lot about the history of the area that I really wanted to know more about. I was fortunate for some perfect weather and a really nice guide who made it a really nice hike.

1  Thank S6772FWpaulb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017

My wife and I booked a full day excursion to Clayoquot Sound during our visit to Tofino. Being both from overseas and from the city, it was an ideal way to become immersed in the mystical west coast landscape. Our guide was very knowledgable and taught us a lot about the various species that inhabit the intertidal zone and how they are interconnected with the rainforest. I highly recommend Long Beach Nature Tours to anyone with an interest in coastal biology or the outdoors in general.

1  Thank dom2222017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2017

Our family of 5 had the pleasure of 3 enjoyable and informative hours with Alexander as he took us hiking through beaches and forests. He is so knowledgeable and observant. Terrific to deal with in every aspect.

Thank nfishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2016

I booked and paid for a tour to view black bears salmon-fishing, scheduled for mid-November 2016. I was to meet the tour guide in Ucluelet. However, while driving to Ucluelet from Tofino to meet the tour guide I received a phone call from the guide to advise that the tour had been cancelled. The reason given was that access to the viewing area was through a salmon hatchery and the hatchery had decided to disallow access that day!
At no time was I advised that access to enable the tour was DEPENDENT on the good will of a third party. Where a tour involves such an arrangement, it is incumbent on Long Beach Nature Tours to advise a customer in advance of that situation to enable the customer to make alternative arrangements (with other than Long Beach Nature Tours!).
I was an overseas visitor to Vancouver Island on an established schedule and so was unable to return on another day.
So if you are contemplating booking a tour with this company, BEWARE!

1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Manager at Long Beach Nature Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2016

Dear Viet-tripper
Thank you for your feedback… apologies that the tour did not work out as planned; I can understand how frustrating that would be given you had traveled to the region for the express purpose of bear watching. We value your feedback, be it positive or negative; as it allows us to continuously improve the experience offered. Unfortunately access to many of the areas in which we operate are contingent on third parties who are responsible for ensuring the safety and wellbeing of the public. We take the experience of our guests very seriously and all efforts are made to ensure the availability of the tour that day; in this case the hatchery had planned to be open (we had inquired before hand), but unfortunately had an unplanned closure that day. Again, I am truly sorry that the experience did not meet your expectations and sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to speak with you personally. We would like to offer you a complementary guided hike if you return to the region; hopefully to make up for the experience you missed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2016

Booked 2 hiking tours out of multiple very good options provided. each 3 hours. Tour guide, Alex, very interesting guy - passionate about the area, the local environment/eco system. Great exercise hiking rain forests and sand dunes while learning a great deal about the local ecology. Saw things we would never had known existed without the tour. Very hands on, worked great with our kids (13 and 7). Highly recommend.

2  Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander M, Manager at Long Beach Nature Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2016

Thanks for your feedback Joseph; I really enjoyed spending the two days with your family. Had so much fun with your kids; I love having young minds out on a hike, inspiring for me as a guide to connect with folks of all ages. So glad to hear that you enjoyed the rain forest hiking and sand dune explorations; come back and visit anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2014

We did two three hour tours with Silva who was an absolutely wonderful guide, delightful and extremely knowledgeable. In the morning we did the "Wild Pacific Trail" which provided lots of variety. Even though it was November the sun was peeking through which only added to the positive experience. Silva answered all our questions and some. She produced maps and other information to supplement what we were experiencing. During our lunch break she even researched some items we had been discussing so that when we met up for the afternoon tour she had the answers. How good is that. We spent the second tour in the Long Beach area exploring the rock pools, the beautiful beach and the sand dunes. Just a wonderful day and thanks also to Cat in the office for putting this together for us. Simply the best.

1  Thank Watsonsgotravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Five of us; 2 seniors, a couple and 10 year old took a 3 hour nature hike with Cat Glashier of Long Beach Nature Tours. What an education! We chose The Schooner Cove Trail - rainforest, beach and sky - she knew it all. Extremely interactive we touched, smelled and examined everything. She opened up whole areas of nature we were unaware of with her relaxed, patient manner. It was a highlight for all of us, do not miss it.

Thank Beaverskins24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews