We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best trail ever”

Walk the Wild Side Trail
Ranked #23 of 52 things to do in Tofino
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walk the Wild Side is a 11km hike historically used by the Ahousaht people. Visitors now have the opportunity to experience the culture of the trail while hiking along forest boardwalk and 8 gorgeous beaches. Used by the Ahousaht people for thousands of years, Walk the Wild Side Trail is an 11km escape into the remote wilderness of Clayoquot Sound. First restored in the early 1990’s, Walk the Wild Side Trail has developed into must-see ecotourism destination for those visiting Tofino and Ucluelet. Take a tour through the Maaqtusiis reserve and then head out on to the trail with your Ahousaht Heritage Trail guidebook for the ultimate cultural experience!
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best trail ever”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Must see if you are in the area. From whale spotting to giant slugs - this is a beautiful easy walk - perfect for the entire family.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PdCTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    4
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

You can see almost everything on this trail, ocean life and beautiful rain forest! Such a great walk to take with family or your sweetheart!
Even nice to do in the rain, gives you a feel for being out in the elements and feeling the rugged west coast

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Pagnell, Bucks
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“We saw Killer Whales!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Brilliant trail along the pacific coast - make sure you walk all of the different sections. Fantastic for wildlife spotting - we say Killer Whales off the coast as well as Garter snakes on the path.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katkuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We didn't plan it. We had like 3 hours before our whale watching from Ucluelet & we thaught to visit the pacific rim national parc .we stopped for 2 minutes in the visitor center ( the one next to cox bay resort) & we were told that we will probably won't have enough time and suggested to take the walk the wild side traile which was really really amazing

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rutis10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace Bay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just breathtaking”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Loved everything about the trail. Well marked, easy to access, breathtaking views of the ocean! Highly recommended on our bucket list!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 335bobcat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walk the Wild Side Trail also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Walk the Wild Side Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing