We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutley Perfect, Private and Secluded”
other travelers have booked this property
Cedar Shack Private Hot Tub, Deck and BBQ surrounded by natural vegetation and complete privacy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cedar Shack Private Hot Tub, Deck and BBQ surrounded by natural vegetation and complete privacy
Private Deck with Cedar Adirondack Chairs and Hot Tub in complete privacy Living Room, Skylights, Fireplace, TV/DVD, Wifi
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Cedar Shack Private Hot Tub, Deck and BBQ surrounded by natural vegetation and complete privacy
Private Deck with Cedar Adirondack Chairs and Hot Tub in complete privacy
Living Room, Skylights, Fireplace, TV/DVD, Wifi
Living Room with Fireplace and Bay Window
Open Concept at Cedar Shack, Full Kitchen and comfortable Living Room
Well Stocked Cedar Shack Kitchen
Kitchen with 4 appliances, all cookware/dishes/untensils
Master Bedroom with French Doors to Deck and Hot Tub
Master Bedroom - Queen Bed
Second Bedroom with Queen Bed and Deck
Full Bathroom with Separate Shower
Full Bath - Soaker Tub and Shower
Cedar Shack Private Hot Tub for 4
Cedar Shack Cabin
Path to Cabin
Chesterman Beach - one minute walk from the property
Walk Chesterman Beach at Sunset, a mere 1 min from your cabin
Chesterman Beach - Cedar Shack Location
Chesterman Beach
Stunning Sunsets at Chesterman Beach
Chesterman Beach 1 min walk
Surf on Chesterman, steps from Cedar Shack
Chesterman Beach Winter Storm
Chesterman Beach a one min. stroll from the cabin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound, Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Tina S
1 review
“Absolutley Perfect, Private and Secluded”
Reviewed October 15, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

An amazing cabin, we booked Cedar Shack for our annual getaway. We've been visiting Tofino for many years and stayed in quite a few very nice vacation rentals along Chestermans Beach. Cedar Shack is the best, the owners took lots of care and thought into this gorgeous cabin. Its very well appointed, cozy and welcoming. We loved the homy feel and decor, we had our own hot tub which is next to the back deck and surrounded by shrubs and west coast vegetation providing us with absolute privacy. The property is beautiful and well kept. Chesterman Beach is a hopscotch away and easily accessible via treed pathway. We already look forward to our visit to Cedar Shack next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There was nothing not to like
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janette C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enchanting and Tranquil”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at Cedar Shack couldn't have been more wonderful. The beautiful surrounding, the enchanting and tranquil setting and the gracious welcome by our hosts Barbara and Daniel, made our anniversary even more special. We stayed here for a week and could not have picked a better spot, the cabin is well equipped and looked after. Great attention is paid to small details that truly shows how much the owners care about their guests.
We had a lovely back yard with our own hot tub and deck which leads directly from the master bedroom through french doors. The deck is furnished with beautiful cedar lounge chairs which we made good use off each evening. The sound of the ocean was a constant what more can one ask for.

Thank you so much for making us feel at home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Ameneties
Liked least: Wished I could have stayed longet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed March 14, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close to the beach
Liked least: Not staying longer
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jan201255
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet perfect little cabin in the woods.”
Reviewed February 25, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Best spot to just chill out and spend quality time with hubby and pup. The two bedroom cabin is set back on the property with green space which made visits to the hot tub nice and private and was just off the bedroom on the patio. We loved how close and easy it was to get onto Chestermans Beach for our walks and taking photos. The best place for sunsets and the beach is so big you don't even notice other people and their dogs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was the perfect size and was nice and clean.
Liked least: Would have liked to drive closer to the cabin but they did have a great wagon to carry our luggage.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P
1 review
“Private, Relaxing, Just what we needed”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My spouse, kid (4.5 yrs) and our dog all stayed at the Cedar Shack for 3 nights. We should have stayed longer. We had the best time in Tofino at the shops, on the beach, and enjoying fantastic food and drinks from vendors in the area. I couldn't believe how close we were to the beach, and the privacy of the Cedar Shack. Hot tubs in the evening was a special treat whether we were looking up a the stars or being rained on.

We would like to go back again, but I noticed that dogs are no longer allowed. I hope this policy changes back to allowing them again so we can regularly return as a family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: privacy
Liked least: TV could use updating... but I really couldn't care; Please continue to allow dogs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2015
Thank you so much for your review. Its wonderful to hear you enjoyed your getaway at Cedar Shack. We would love to have you stay with us again, as we continue to welcome pets at our property. A Television has been on our list of updates, we have just completed renovation of the cabin and added a new TV. Yes, it needed updating.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelcol...
Camrose, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A wee bit of paradise”
Reviewed November 17, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a wonderful time at cedar shack and will return. It is quaint and full of charm. I love the seclusion of the trees but the beach is just a short walk across the road.
This cottage is comfortable and has all the amenities you need for a delightful well taken care of stay. We enjoyed the hot tub a couple of times and we aren't usually too excited about this feature in a rental. But the star gazing is something to be reckoned with and I highly recommend you check it out.
The cottage is well stocked with all the comforts of home and all of the supplies lasted our entire 5 days, which is usually not possible. We appreciated this so much. Not having to purchase all our paper products and laundry soap.
Thank you for such a beautiful stay and for assisting us with the non- allergic bedding.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing