We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's not fishing, it's Catching.”

Ospray Fishing Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fish with Tofino's pioneers! Ospray Fishing Charters, are strategically situated near the most productive fishing grounds and coastal recreation areas available on the west coast of Vancouver Island. Since 1987 our focus at Ospray Fishing Charters has been to deliver the most memorable and highest quality Tofino fishing charters as possible to our valued clients. Since we have incorporated our freshly refurbished accommodation in Tofino we are now a full fledged fishing lodge! This allows us to offer affordable fishing packages, providing: accommodations, lunches, full breakfasts and personally guided fishing adventures. Whether you‚re a first timer or an experienced angler our friendly veteran guides will teach and assist you to experience fishing at it's best. Our Tofino fishing charters provide your best value with the most experienced guides piloting our area, with the largest and most comfortable boats available. All ocean fishing is done from safe, comfortable cruiser style boats equipped with convertible soft tops and toilets. We use electric downriggers for trolling but with light tackle options. Ospray Fishing Charters' boat also won the 1st annual "Hooked on Miracles" fishing tournament sponsored by the BC Mining Association, with a 1st prize of $100,000. The derby raised over $353,000 for BC Children's Hospital in Vancouver!!! What a great opportunity to give back. Ospray Fishing Charters has won the Tofino Legion Derby twice in 3 years. Ospray Charters has won this derby a record 8 times! Our state of the art boats, personal service and award winning techniques will ensure you a quality adventure that will be the envy of all your friends and family. Come fish with us and find out why we are #1.
Peachland, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's not fishing, it's Catching.”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

First time fishing with Osprey, and what a fantastic time. Sean Hart is a great guy and a great guide, we wern't fishin we were "catchin" for all three days. The Grady White was very comfortable for the three of us and very well looked after, obviously Sean loves what he does. We got lucky and had three days of great weather, tons of sunshine. Shawn and Deb looked after us well, with a good beakfast and lunch as well as good accommodations. No doubt we will be back and bringing our friends.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Fishing Experience on Vancouver Island”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We've been fishing at Ospray Fishing Charters for the last 6 years and it only gets better and better each year. We actually fished in June and August of this year and plan to do the same next year. Shawn's 25 years of guiding experience takes you to a whole new level. He has a passion for fishing and it shows. He and Sean know where the fish are and how to get them to bite. Double headers are not uncommon!!! No need to look any further for accomadations because Shawn and Deb run a beautiful bed and breakfast. Comfort, good breakfasts and lunches & commaderie, who could ask for anything more?

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fish On”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I started salmon fishing 14 seasons ago. We have been B&Bing and fishing with Shawn for 7 years. I first saw Shawn on a West Coast Fishing show and liked what the host said about how an owner/operator would work harder and get you more fish than one of the big lodges and I have to say Shawn and his assistant, Sean, have always found us lots of good fish. On our first trip with Shawn, after our first day our 3 coolers were full and I picked up 2 bigger coolers for the second day and we filled them, too. I have recommended Ospray Fishing Charters to friends and they enjoyed their friendly, knowledgeable fishing as well. We have caught Tyee, Chinook, Coho, Pink, Hali, Ling, Rock fish, Black Bass and Sole...pretty well everything Shawn has targeted for us. I would recomend this experience to everyone.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RedSummerlandBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Fishing is Great”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Shawn has been guiding in this area for more than 25 years. He knows where to find fish and how to get them to bite. Both of their boats are fast and excellent on the open ocean - sea-kindly could be the description. I think this was my 7th trip with Ospray, and I'll be back again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JCMFridayHarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
2 reviews
“3 years running ... and more to come!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Ospray Fishing Charters provides excellent service in bountiful waters. Whether we're targeting Salmon, Halibut, or Ling Cod – Sean always finds the fish for us! The entire operation is top notch – great staff, great cooperation with other charters, solid connections with related businesses (e.g., Trilogy for fish processing), and well informed about what’s happening in Tofino. We’ll be back again for sure.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Harry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ospray Fishing Charters also viewed

 

Been to Ospray Fishing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing