We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jamie's Whaling Station Whale Watching”

Jamie's Whaling Station and Adventure Centres
Ranked #3 of 50 Tours in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jamie's is the West Coast's Original Whale & Wildlife Adventure Centre, navigating the waters of Clayoquot and Barkley Sound since 1982. We are thrilled to be celebrating over 30 years on the water! We have the largest fleet in the area, offering whale watching & bear watching on larger covered cruisers or zodiacs! Join our experienced and knowledgeable crew as we help you discover this beautiful destination. We also offer tours to Hot Springs Cove (by boat or seaplane), kayaking, water taxi service to Meares Island, scenic flights, and much more. Visit us at our Tofino and Ucluelet locations, where we have gift shops and lots of FREE parking (including RV parking in Tofino). Please note that all Jamie's tours are subject to a $3 research fee, which goes directly to benefit local, non-profit groups involved with wildlife research, rescue and education. We also have complimentary kennels in Tofino for your dogs while you're out exploring with us!
Tofino, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jamie's Whaling Station Whale Watching”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

It was a wonderful whale watching trip today! The crew was so friendly and helpful for the whole trip. We saw many whales and when they were a little slow on there dives, the captain took us around to see seals, sea lions, and sea otters. I had a wonderful time and then to top it all off, just as we were heading back to the harbour, we saw a grey whale breach 4 times!! Jamie's Whaling Station is definitely worth it. A must do in Tofino!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    639
    140
    43
    27
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Alberni, BC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great afternoon”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just went on a whale watching tor this afternoon. Jamie's staff and crew looked after all our needs and gave excellent service and knowledge. The Capt was always in contact with other crews to make sure we were directed to the best locations for whales. Seen breaches and lots of blows and backs. His skill at navigating the 65' ship made our experience that much better - particularly in moment so calm seas. The crew were always available and answered all our questions. As a note, we were using gift certificates bought at a silent auction, but I selected a 5 for value (as there was no non-applicable) as I would bring friends/family on this trip without hesitation.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The scenery was spectacular and ocean trip to hot springs was exhilarating.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The staff was informative and accommodating as well as friendly. The highlight of the trip to Hot Springs Cove was relaxing in the warm pools while looking out at the west coast ocean's enormous waves pounding on the rugged rocky shoreline below. We had time there to eat our packed lunch too while enjoying nature surrounding us. Would definitely love to make this trip again!
A big thanks to everyone at Jamie's :)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tiggygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiel, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great time in Tofino bear and whale watching- money worth it”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I do not understand those last really negative comments below- we had an awesome time. We stayed at the Jamie´s Rainforest Inn, Tofino, so could use some discount. Even without disount from the hotel, it would have cost less than those tours starting in Victoria etc. and I think there is a discount when you book more than one trip anyways. Free Parking as well!
We did the whale watching tour (with the zodiac) first- as we know, we were not in the zoo but in pure nature, we weren´t expecting much to see. AND we had a great time, we saw 3 grey whales, sea lions, seals and even humpback and one of them just "jumping" out the water right in front of us (see pic enclose) :D After that we did the bear watching- of cause after that great event having a whale coming right out of the water infront of you, it wasn´t THAT spectacular, BUT still it was so nice and beatifull- after some time cruising down the Inlet, we finally got to see some black bears and even two with their cubs.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sustue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't go there (they are unprofessional)”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is the report about the location of Ucluelet. This is my first time to Ucluelet with my family and this trip is not what we expected.
We were told when we purchased our tickets that they guaranteed whale sightings but I can't see anything only feel SAD about I spend almost $480 and waste 2.5 hours tour and doing nothing only enjoy the outdoor sunny day....but they said GUARANTEE....I wish they can offer me to go again but NOTHING....its sad sad sad sad even my kids and my parents feel bad too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sparfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWSAdventures, General Manager at Jamie's Whaling Station and Adventure Centres, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear sparfamily,

We are very disappointed to hear that your tour with Jamie’s did not meet with your expectations. Our goal is to offer each and every one of our guests a memorable experience, and we do our very best to find whales and other marine life that are so abundant here on our west coast.

Contrary to your comments, on the rare occasion that we do not see any whales, each guest receives a raincheck to go out with us again on a complimentary tour. Our guarantee is not offered or advertised as a money-back guarantee -- it is a sight-unseen guarantee that we’ll find the wildlife you are looking for -- whales for whale watchers, and bears for bear watchers. Rainchecks have no expiry date and we will take you out as many times as needed until you see them! Further, rainchecks are transferable from zodiac-style vessels to large vessels & vice versa, and they can be used from either of our locations in Ucluelet or Tofino, which offers an opportunity to experience both types of vessels and see both marine areas (Clayoquot Sound or Barkley Sound).

Please look at the back of your original boarding pass, as the raincheck voucher would have been stamped on the back by our crew, and willingly explained and handed to you as you disembarked the vessel. Information about our guarantee policy is readily available on our website, on our brochure, at our check-in counters, and explained in full detail by our staff and crew upon query.

For over 30 years we have offered this guarantee, as it is our sincerest desire for every one of our guests to have the opportunity to see whales in the wild. Last season, we had guests return with a raincheck originally issued 16 years ago! The first time they went on a tour they were a newlywed couple, and 16 years later they returned to redeem their raincheck, along with their 3 children….and they saw whales! :)

If you have any further questions or concerns that you feel have not been addressed, please contact me at 1-800-667-9913 or email corene@jamies.com.

Yours truly,

Corene Inouye, General Manager
JAMIE'S WHALING STATION LTD.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamie's Whaling Station and Adventure Centres also viewed

 

Been to Jamie's Whaling Station and Adventure Centres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing