We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking in charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chevy Chase MD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lacking in charm”
Reviewed August 5, 2007

I just returned from The Wick and while the scenery is magnificent, I found the resort to be very sterile and our room at the Point was very ordinary with limited views. The Ancient Cedars Spa was wonderful. The Point Restaurant was good but not as good as it should have been. We found dinner at the Shelter in Tofino fabulous. Next time I would stay at Long Beach Resort which seemed much warmer and cozier, with similar beach views.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank cecerecr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,009
    153
    56
    27
    14
See reviews for
189
836
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2007

The Wickaninnish offers everything you would expect for a spectacular Vancouver Island experience:
- A spectacular location overlooking 3 km of Pacific beach, with the restaurant sitting directly on the cliff and offering sights of bald eagles hunting dungeness crabs while you are enjoying great sea food.
- An architecture that from the outside is rather rustic and plain and blends in with the environment, yet at the same time has very nice and cozy rooms. (Comfortable beds, thick carpets, fire place, nice bath tubs etc.)

Many outdoor opportunities such as hiking trails, kayak tours, boat trips and the nice village of Tofino are right around the corner.

If possible try the crab bake on the beach which they do two to three times a week.

Service was o.k. but not quite as professional as you would expect.

But all in all a place to be highly recommended if you stay on the West Coast.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LehGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle,wa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2007

We were excited to spend our nniversary at this seemingly luxurious hotel (if one trusts their website, our mistake). We were so disappointed by the room which is akin to any motel and by the pretentious staff who felt it necessary to show up 'the TV', 'the fireplace', 'the balcony' and very basic bathtub. This hotel is sadly lacking in any amenities, charm or decently appointed and furnished rooms.

Additionally, my wife got food poisoning from The Pointe Restaurant and was very ill. This complaint was met with the inexperienced staffs' standard, 'do you want some water?'

I would recommend Stephanie's Inn in Cannon Beach which is by far superior with a spectacular view, antique furnished rooms and wonderful staff.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
21 Thank hazlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2007

I was really looking forward to visiting the Wick. Had heard wonderful things, and the picture on the website was terrific. I had stayed at the Kingfisher on the east side of the island, and was eager to see the west side.

My first two hours were tremendous. My room in the Pointe building was private and beautiful. Perfect for an all-alone, relaxing getaway. Then I discovered that all was not perfect.

Be careful when you visit. I learned that in July and August, there are many, MANY children. Even during a very nice and expensive dinner, I had to listen to whiny children around me. (The restaurant is truly special, by the way.) Breakfast and lunch were even worse in terms of active children.

And be careful about your accommodations. Because of availability, I had to move after one night to the beach building. I was assured (even after specific questions after I read reviews here) that the building is just as quiet, private and pretty as the Pointe. Wrong, wrong, wrong. I was on the second floor, and felt very exposed as I sat on my supposedly private balcony. Everyone walking to and from the beach could see me. The service was even worse in the beach building. The guys at the door were very friendly and helpful, but the front desk people were almost dismissive, and were clearly too inexperienced for this expensive property.

Bottom line - don't come in the summer if you want a quiet getaway. And know that despite the hefty price, the service will be inconsistent, and include very inexperienced staff that don't understand how to make a traveler feel welcome.

  • Liked — View from Pointe building
  • Disliked — Inexperienced staff with attitude
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank LuLuCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2007

After reading some of these recent less-than-extremely-positive reviews, I felt the urge to post about our June stay. My husband and I loved our experience at this hotel! I recently traveled to Vancouver for a conference. My husband and I made a weekend out of a trip to Vancouver Island. We had heard of this hotel through numerous sources - friends, magazines, this site - and really wanted to check it out. We felt that it lived up to the hype. We had a wonderful 3-night stay. The location of the hotel on the beach is spectacular. We stayed at the (somewhat cheaper) "Beach" building on the second floor. While there were trees in the view, the setting was still incredibly gorgeous. The detail in the hotel room - heated bath tiles, Aveda toiletries, DVD's, binoculars, rain slickers, candles, etc. was impressive. The public areas (building, art work, etc.) are really nice as well. We felt that the restaurant was elegant (what you would expect for this league of hotel), but not overly formal. We also had great dinners at the Rain Forest Cafe and the Shelter restaurants in Tofino. The sea kayak trip to Meares Island recommended by the hotel was also a very fun way to spend a day.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BermudaTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pfalz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2007

Beautiful room!
Breathtaking location: the pacific and the beach are really beautiful.
Fantastic restaurant: We never had better food and never had such a great view while eating.
Obliging service. Cedar spa seems fantastic, unfortunately we couldn't try.

  • Liked — Rooms, restaurant, location, service
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank xrudyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Wick at the beginning of June 07. The location was fabulous and everything we had hoped for. The hotel is beautifully designed and furnished, and our room was comfortable with a great bathroom and, of course, wonderful views of the beach and the ocean. As soon as we arrived we saw a river otter eating its supper on the rocks just below our room, which made our day!

What we were not impressed with was the atmosphere or character of the place - the staff were friendly, but so formal that it created quite a soulless feel. Eating breakfast and dinner in the Pointe restaurant were very formal affairs, at odds with the style and location of the inn.

We also dined at the Schooner Inn in Tofino, which was pretty good, and stayed for another two nights at Meares Retreat on Duffin Cove, just outside Tofino, where Charlie made us very welcome.

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — the formality
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TetleyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,027 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,627 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Property: Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Address: 500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tofino
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#1 Family Hotel in Tofino
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickaninnish Inn, a Relais & Chateaux property since 1997, overlooks the Pacific Ocean from a rocky point on Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast, near the eclectic town of Tofino and Pacific Rim National Park. Two contemporary cedar buildings, set against a backdrop of ancient rainforest, boast an extensive local art collection (complemented by the neighbouring wood carving shed), and all rooms and suites offer ocean or beach views, gas fireplace, soaker tub and individual balcony. Uncompromising service, including a Clefs d’Or Concierge team, is a standard. The sole resort on Chesterman Beach, Tofino’s longest at 2.5km/1.5mi, the Inn is home to refined West Coast cuisine at The Pointe Restaurant and naturally-inspired treatments at its intimate Ancient Cedars Spa. Tofino’s McDiarmid family welcomes you to this locally owned, world renowned sanctuary offering Rustic Elegance on Nature’s Edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Hotel Tofino
The Wickaninnish Hotel And Pointe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing