We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Baltimore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The Best of the Best”
Reviewed August 24, 2006

My wife and I have been fortunate to stay at many fine properties but, this is one of the best. The location, quality of rooms and service make this property stand out!

Tofinio itself is a wonderful small town with a few nice restaurants including The Point.

  • Liked — Quality Room and Location
  • Disliked — Cost
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LocustPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,032
    157
    60
    28
    15
See reviews for
195
856
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2006

We stayed at the Wick as part of a bank-account-busting honeymoon that took in Vegas, Hawaii and Vancouver before we reached Tofino. We stayed in some pretty special hotels along the way but I think we both agree that our two nights at The Wickaninnish were unforgettable.

We flew from Vancouver Airport into Tofino with Sonic Blue Airways which was a fantastic experience on its own. Never before had we been in a plane so small. Once we landed at Tofino's tiny airstrip, we were picked up by the Hotels private shuttle service - a nice touch as this was totally unexpected. I think the Airline rang ahead and booked it for us.

We stayed in the new building on the beach which has been criticised by some people on this site - in our opinion, the fact that the view of the beach is framed by trees just added to the magic. You just felt like you were right in the rainforest. Which of course, you were...

Our room had a magnificent picture window, as did the bathroom. Seeing a Pacific coast storm create 15ft waves just metres away from our room whilst we sipped champagne in the two person bath tub was something very special. The hotel complements its surroundings and doesn't intrude on the landscape - the driftwood furniture and the natural colours all add up to create a feeling of serenity and of being at one with nature. The very essence of the area.

It was also great to be provided with your own rain gear - jacket, wellies and trousers - together with a flashlight and binoculars. (Presumably not to be used at the same time). This allowed us to make the most of the area despite the first days rainy conditions.

We had two brilliant meals at The Pointe - if you like seafood then you can't go wrong. It is pretty pricey but the quality, service, ambience and presentation is second to none.

It was an experience that will stay with us for a very long time and even though we live half a world away we are already planning when we can return.

  • Liked — Overal Ambience and location. In fact everything!
  • Disliked — Restaurant is very busy so we never got our table by the window. Minor point...
  • Tips/Secrets — Go there and relax!
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bobberridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2006

We arrived with great expectations at The Wickininnish Inn. We expected our two night stay to be the highlight of our vacation. Our room was beautiful - in the original building, facing the water, on the 3rd floor with a clear view of the water. We knew from other TripAdivsor reviews, and from a friend, to stay in the original building, not the new building, because the view is so much better if you request the 3rd floor facing the water. The new building is set further back on the beach. Our room had the same view as the restaurant - quite spectacular. The double soaking tub with large window overlooking the waves lapping over the rocks below only added to this beautiful spot. We also had a small patio with 2 chairs and a gas fireplace.

We ate in The Point Restaurant, which is the hotel's restaurant, the night we arrived. It is located in the same building as our room, which was very convenient. We enjoyed our meal. The following morning we returned to the same restaurant for breakfast and found the service extremely slow. It took 45 minutes for our breakfast to arrive. When we inquired, our server told us the "kitchen was backed up". The following morning we purposely ordered a cold breakfast (apart from coffee and toast) and, once again, we waited 30 minutes for the order to arrive. In the meantime we noticed other guests also waiting a long time and complaining to their servers. We also observed that others were walking in with the newspaper and when we asked at the desk where we could get a paper we were told they were gone. This sounds like a small thing, but we were annoyed. Given the high cost of the room it would have been reasonable to expect that sufficient papers would be available for all guests.

Given our experience, if we returned to this area again, we would try one of the many bed and breakfasts, or another inns, located near Tofino or Ucluelet.

  • Liked — Scenery
  • Disliked — Slow service in restaurant for breakfast
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Lynel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2006

We spent 6 nights of our honeymoon at the Wick and had a wonderful time. The hotel has 2 main buildings, the "Pointe" and the "Beach." The Pointe rooms directly overlook the ocean and have a spectacular view. The Beach rooms are located back from the rather deep Chesterman Beach and have the potential for a nice view, however there is a row of very tall trees between the building and the beach which makes the view "partial" at best. When first calling to make this reservation, I was told that the beach rooms were newer and bigger than the Pointe rooms, and that they had a "beach view" plus a "rainforest view" that was every bit as good as the Pointe. Unfortunately this was not the case. The "rainforest" was actually the obscuring row of trees. To the credit of the Customer Service at the Wick, they were extremely apologetic about the skewed room description and offered a half-off discount for one night of our next stay in any room.

Other than the view issue, all other features of the Wick are fantastic. The rooms are beautifully furnished, include a nice pair of binoculars for use, several field guides and books about the area, raincoats and a flashlight for beachcombing at night. There is a coffee bar downstairs in the Beach building, but drinks are pricey. The workout facility is tiny, but does have a treadmill, stairclimber, light free weights and complimentary bottled water. The Pointe restaurant is very pricey and we had better meals elsewhere in town (loved Tough City Sushi Bar -- best value), but the service at the Pointe was excellent.

We would definately stay at the Wick again (once our pocketbooks have recovered), but only in a room in the Pointe building, and only for a very special occasion. We checked out a few other hotels while in Tofino, like the Middle Beach Lodge, and they looked just as great, with excellent views, for a lower price.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank ClevelandDoctorMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2006

As they say in and around Boston, the Wickaninnish Inn is "Wick"ed Awesome! My wife and I just returned from a 6 night stay at the Wick and could not have been more delighted with our stay. We stayed in one of the premier king rooms (Room 209) of which there are 3 at the inn (109, 209 and 309). The views were unbeleievable. Unlike most rooms which appear to only have two large windows facing in one direction, we had several sets of windows facing two directions so we were able to get the full benefit of the Inn's amazing location. Everytime we told a member of the staff what room we were in they would also respond with a knowingly nod when we told them we were in Room 209. To the extent it is available, I would highly recommend one of these three rooms. The rooms look exactly like they do on the web page and are immacualtely clean. The beds are very comfortable as are the chairs. All of the bedding and linens are Frette and the toiletries are Aveda. There is twice daily maid service and they do a very nice job maintaining the room. One thing that I did not see advertised but that was a pleasant suprise is that each room is equipped with complimentary high speed internet access. Although the point of staying here is to get away from it all, this was nevertheless much appreciated. I should mention, however, that the hotel offers two work stations (one in the Pointe Building and one in the Beach Building) where guests can log on and print anything one likes. The spa is located on the first floor and while small is excellent. My wife and I both enjoyed a couple of treatments and were impressed by the service. My wife also took the group yoga class every morning and really enjoyed it as there were never more than two or three in the class. The Pointe Restaurant is, as everyone else has stated, excellent. Yes it is expensive but it is worth it. We at several breakfasts and two dinners there and each time the meals with great. The service at dinner is more formal and more professional at dinner but the service was all around very good. Our server at both dinners--Michael--was as good as any waiter we have had in the best San Francisco restaurants. Adjacent to the restaurant is a small lounge where you can get lighter meals at lunch and dinner and there is a cafe on the ground floor of the beach building which is opened from 7:30 to 3:30 for muffins, coffee and light pastries and sandwiches. The staff at the hotel, while young, is very good and it is clear that ownership takes great pride in its staff and the staff really seem to enjoy helping out. The location of the inn is tremendous as there is a great beach right at the doorstep and you are only a few minutes from Tofino. Tofino is an interesting little town--part surfer, part artist, part bohemian and it all works. There is not a lot to do in the actual town and you can vist the stores and galleries in about 1/2 a day. We really enjoyed dinner one night at the Rain Coast Cafe and at SOBA (in the Botanical gardens) and enjoyed Breakers (although not the friendliest of service) and Cafe Vicente. We did find that most meals were quite expensive, however. There are tons of outdoor activities in and around the area. We went bear watching with Jaimie's which was a lot of fun and whale watching with Lance at Aquamarine Adventures in Ucluelet which we would highly recommend. Lance was fantastic! We also rented bikes at The Wick and tooks numerous walks along the beach. The inn is right near the Pacific Rim National Park and there are some great hikes in the park as well. The Inn is quite a drive from Vancouver as it requires a ferry ride and then a good three hour drive accross to the west coast...while parts of the drive are spectacular it is slow going much of the way. Overall, this was a great experience and one that I would highly recommend to anyone who is interested in "getting away" from it all without sacrificing great food and great lodging.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Bowdoin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2006

Stayed here during a tour of British Columbia. It was the one hotel which we were desperate to stay in and we weren't disappointed. Travelling with 2 children aged 11 and 14, I don't think that we were their typical guests! Never the less the staff were very helpful and even went to great lengths to get us a whole reel of string when our kite string broke and they stocked children's DVDs. It is just the perfect environment. All the decor is subdued colours and natural materials, and the setting was just unbeatable. We could have spent the whole time just lying on the beds looking at the view. With 2 children of course they had other ideas. They loved the beach and rock pools and rain forest walks. Ideally this would be a honeymoon venue, or anniversary destination, but if you are visiting Tofino with children, this is certainly not a stuffy, grown up hotel - just a really relaxed place to be.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sheds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2006

Look, I don't want to be the damp cloth on the Wick Love Fest that one reads on TripAdvisor. But here are a couple of things to keep in mind before you travel to one of the most beautiful locations in Tofino. Big things: the rooms are spotless, sleek, and capacious. We booked a canopy suite on the beach. Bi-level with king bed loft. Little things: light bulbs out, phone set stuck, no remote for one of the tv's, screen door broken, cabinet doors wouldn't open, but these are minor. More problematic: obstructed view from all rooms on the west end of the beach (newer) inn. We had beautiful picture windows with intimate views of, um, tree trunks. From our private deck we had a charming view of the restaurant maintenance doors. No advance warning (and no price differential). Be sure to book east end of beach building, and even then your view pales compared to the "Pointe." Staff mean well and are uniformly pleasant, but do not confuse their good cheer for knowledge or expertise. Likewise, the vaunted spa is cramped, the steam room co-ed. Your complimentary Aveda gift is a mini-lip balm lifted from a sample drawer (I needed a coupon for this?) My massage therapist forgot to appear for my appointment, which can happen, but until management got involved, it appeared to be something close to my fault. In praise of Samantha Whitney, your key to a successful spa experience, we found her skills to be in short supply. Once she got involved, we suddenly had offers of free massages, vegetarian meals (we had been turned away from the restaurant), and a nice gift of Aveda products to assuage our ruffled feathers. It was the kind of gesture likely to get is to try again. Hence the title of this review. Fourth star pending...

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank jackfurlongesq_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofino
0.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.7 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
125.2 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,036 reviews
128.2 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,198 reviews
1.8 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Property: Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Address: 500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#1 Green Hotel in Tofino
#1 Family Hotel in Tofino
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickaninnish Inn, a Relais & Chateaux property since 1997, overlooks the Pacific Ocean from a rocky point on Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast, near the eclectic town of Tofino and Pacific Rim National Park. Two contemporary cedar buildings, set against a backdrop of ancient rainforest, boast an extensive local art collection (complemented by the neighbouring wood carving shed), and all rooms and suites offer ocean or beach views, gas fireplace, soaker tub and individual balcony. Uncompromising service, including a Clefs d’Or Concierge team, is a standard. The sole resort on Chesterman Beach, Tofino’s longest at 2.5km/1.5mi, the Inn is home to refined West Coast cuisine at The Pointe Restaurant and naturally-inspired treatments at its intimate Ancient Cedars Spa. Tofino’s McDiarmid family welcomes you to this locally owned, world renowned sanctuary offering Rustic Elegance on Nature’s Edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Hotel Tofino
The Wickaninnish Hotel And Pointe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing