We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel is really special. We had a fantastic time. It almost goes without saying that the location is amazing, and the views of the pacific terrific. There were two things in addition, however, that really set this hotel apart for us.

The first was the service - extremely friendly and nothing seemed too much for the staff - from showing us several rooms so we could pick the one with exactly the view that we wanted (thanks Jamie), to the doorman who went to especial care to get everything we wanted and ensure a drop of rain never fell on our heads (thanks Ron) to the reception staff who went to great lengths to get a copy of a book for us when we left as my wife hadn't finished it, to the guy who took care to ask my opinion about the new exercise bicycle in the fitness room and to all the staff who seemed to automatically know our names whenever they did anything for us. All the staff gave the impression that they were extremely proud of their hotel and keen to show it off to its best advantage, resulting in exceedingly good service.

The second thing that really made this hotel stand out was the attention to detail in the rooms. As well as all the usual luxuries (bathrobes, toiletries,coffee machines etc) our room had a hand carved fireplace, drift wood furniture, umbrellas and rain gear, binoculars and blankets and a decent little library of books on local wildlife etc. Whoever, designed the rooms did them elegantly and clearly thought hard about what the guests would need to make their visit more special. These details really helped distinguish our room from the slightly bland / corporate style that you get at some other luxury hotels.

All in all one of the best stays we've ever had in a hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 103 which we really enjoyed but suspect most are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavinpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,009
    153
    56
    27
    14
See reviews for
189
836
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

April 9 & 10, 2014 Spent an evening at the Inn with my sister and niece. Hotel staff attention to hotel guests was always that next step to courteous & accommodating. The room was perfection. View of the ocean...what more could one ask for. Drinks and appetisers at the Pointe Restaurant relaxing and satisfying, the oysters, delish! Ended the evening with candle light a glass of red in a large, built for two, bubble bath while over looking the ocean. Alas I was alone. However an option for a return trip with someone special. Highly recommended would go back for another visit. Thank You Wickaninnish Inn for a lovely stay. Debra-Lynn

Room Tip: Good to use travel sites to get the best rates. All the rooms over look ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra_LynnB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

From the minute we parked and the Valet grabbed our bags to the time when we had to go everything was fabulous. We stayed for 3 days at the "Wick" and my wife and I both said were coming back. The property setting is outstanding , the rooms are beautiful, the restaurant 5 star and you dont get a better view than from you table. We brought along our dog and she was welcomed with a Dog basket which included doggie bowls, biscuits, towels , a ball and a bed which made us feel good as we did not know what to expect as this was our first time taking our dog with us. Our room faced the beach as they all do and we were about 100 feet from the beach. The rooms were amazingly quiet for being so close to the pounding surf and it was pounding. Everything in the rooms was decorated to the westcoast theme and the big tub had a view to die for, automated roller blinds, heated floors, gas fireplace, luxurious robes, slippers and they even have rain wear and rubber bots for you as well. They really thought of everything. Loved our stay and look forward to going back again.

Room Tip: Dont think there is a bad room at this place, enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dale s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay as it is usually a little out of our price range. However, we are from Port Alberni and there was a "locals" special on for the month of March and we took advantage of it! Had I known it was going to be such a lovely time I would have booked two or three nights!

We were on the 1st floor which worked out well as we had our 4 month old son and all his stuff. We still had an excellent view of the ocean. The beach is just steps away. The room was spacious and cozy. The bath tub was huge and we took full advantage of a glass of wine and a dip in the tub while the baby slept!

I will be keeping my eye out for specials and would love to return!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashley_O83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had a wonderful getaway here. The Wickaninnish is perched on the edge of a magnificant beach, and our room had panoramic views of the beach, the open sea, and the sunset. The room had everything we needed - a fireplace, a big soaker tub, luxurious bathrobes, and a huge comfy king bed. We spent hours by the fire watching the crashing waves, the surfers, the sunset...The service was excellent - front desk, housekeeping and the restaurant staff. We had a casual dinner one night in the Driftwood Lounge by the fire, and there just happened to be live music...what an unexpected delight! The menu was small but well thought out, and the food excellent. The next night we splurged at the Pointe...and it was worth every penny. The chef's tasting menu was fantastic. The location is breathtaking. The spa was heavenly, specially with that lovely steam room, and outdoor chairs for your foot soak.

The Wickaninnish is just a short drive from Tofino, where there are several good restaurants to choose from, and a very good bakery. It is also a short drive to get to Long Beach, in Pacific Rim National Park. You have to pay a user fee when you park, but it is well worth it.

I'm already dreaming of my next stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

What can you say about a hotel room that has three huge windows? Walking into the room you are greeted by a full-sized picture window next to a fireplace. For me, trips to Tofino are about relaxing, and I spent hours and hours sitting in a squishy comfy chair, sometimes watching the sea or the surfers, and sometimes just reading. The second window is sliding doors onto the balcony; a balcony which is recessed rather than protruding and so is not at all overlooked. On the balcony are two adirondack chairs, and in your closet you will find a vast (and iconic) Hudson's Bay Blanket in case you are chilly. The chairs have slats with gaps between them, which is handy, because the back wall of the balcony is a full-sized window into your luxury bathroom. You can actually sit in the tub (it is designed to accommodate two comfortably) and watch the beach, while the backs of the chairs protect your modesty.
My partner and I try to get to the Wick every year, and it really does get better and better. Most establishments would rest on their laurels at this point, but the Wick always strives to improve. New this year are a remote for the blind at the bathroom window, and a dresser with a television that appears at the touch of a button (replacing the former, somewhat inelegant, armoirs).
Think you can't afford the Wick? We certainly couldn't at the height of summer, but rates change through the year, and our trip this month cost only $260 per night.
Customer service at this hotel is in a class of its own. A bottle of sparkling wine and basket of fruit greeted us in the room, along with vouchers for a free yoga class, and for coffee and house-made pastries at the Driftwood lounge (I think these bonuses were because we stayed 5 nights). My yoga class was delayed (the teacher's child had an issue at school - these things happen), and not only did they find another excellent teacher just an hour later, they also invited me to come back for a complimentary class the next day.
Other than the hotel itself, a highlight of this trip was encountering a fisherman on the daily walk down the beach. He had just deposited the head of the tuna he had caught that morning at the water's edge for the birds. We watched with him as first one crow and one eagle found the bounty. It didn't take long for word to spread. By about the five-minute mark there were 9 eagles and many crows negotiating their place in the pecking order.

Room Tip: I see from the reviews that most people prefer the original building but, having stayed in both, my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverViolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had a wonderful two days staying in a one bedroom suite in Beach building. Everyone at the Wick is ready and willing to make you feel like you are the only guest staying there. A special thank you to Christine and Laura for taking such wonderful care of us. All our meals were first class and the atmosphere and servers were great. Our couples massage was excellent and by far the best massage we've ever had. Thanks for making my birthday a memorable one.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,027 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,627 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Property: Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Address: 500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#1 Family Hotel in Tofino
#1 Green Hotel in Tofino
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickaninnish Inn, a Relais & Chateaux property since 1997, overlooks the Pacific Ocean from a rocky point on Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast, near the eclectic town of Tofino and Pacific Rim National Park. Two contemporary cedar buildings, set against a backdrop of ancient rainforest, boast an extensive local art collection (complemented by the neighbouring wood carving shed), and all rooms and suites offer ocean or beach views, gas fireplace, soaker tub and individual balcony. Uncompromising service, including a Clefs d’Or Concierge team, is a standard. The sole resort on Chesterman Beach, Tofino’s longest at 2.5km/1.5mi, the Inn is home to refined West Coast cuisine at The Pointe Restaurant and naturally-inspired treatments at its intimate Ancient Cedars Spa. Tofino’s McDiarmid family welcomes you to this locally owned, world renowned sanctuary offering Rustic Elegance on Nature’s Edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Hotel Tofino
The Wickaninnish Hotel And Pointe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing