We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting for pampered experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had a 3rd floor room with a deck, fireplace, and a soaking tub that looked out over the bay. I didn't see the inside of any of the other rooms but just looking at the windows from the outside, it seems like they all have nice views and that I would have been happy with any of them. It was wonderful to wake up in the morning and see the clouds, the sand and the surf. The room was super comfortable, with plenty of space, cushioned chairs, tables, desk, and heated bath floor, The staff at the hotel were wonderful. If there was anything we needed or wanted, they were there to help. It was two days of heaven, worth driving over the passes in a snow storm to get to... and, once there, warm enough to set out on the deck in only a sweater.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank old_lady_who
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

774 - 780 of 1,389 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband,6 month old baby, pug, and I stayed at the wick right before valentines day as they offered a great mid week deal for local residents. We were blown away by the following things:

The awesome doorman and check in staff who let us check in early and did it so invitingly!

Our room was set up with a crib and cozy quilt for our baby and dog bed and toys for our pug! Thank you as that made us ALL feel welcome.

The room service from the point restaurant was phenomenal! We ate the scallop dish and the club sandwich was to die for. We also ordered breakfast which was top notch!

Upon checking out the staff and doormen again were so gracious and personable!

Its really all the little things and superb personell that work here that make it a memorable place to stay.

We appreciate the quality and service also extends to locals.

Now only if they extend the local rate throughout the year!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ncora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My wife and I recently spent three nights in room 309 in the Pointe Building as a delayed celebration of a milestone anniversary and in a desire to do some winter storm watching without getting too cold or wet in the process.

The stay at the Inn exceeded our expectations in every regard. The views from the room were exceptional in all directions. The fireplace created warmth to balance the stormy outside. The nightly turndown service included inserting CD's in the Bose player, creating a nice touch upon returning to the room. The room is spacious and well equipped. Perhaps a sitting area to put on / take off shoes before / after a walk on nearby Chesterman Beach is the only feature missing from an otherwise exceptional / excellent room.

Staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Joseph at check in and Joel at the Driftwood Cafe on Wednesday were both exceptionally professional and competent. Joel dealt with an extremely busy situation in a very cool, professional manner.

We really enjoyed our meals in the Pointe Restaurant, particularly our breakfasts. The restaurant does not open until 8:00 am, but at least in midweek / midwinter was extremely uncrowded. That helped get personal, friendly service, no doubt. However, even absent that, the food was excellent.

I appreciated as well staying at a luxury resort that did not "nickel and dime" its guests, instead offering complimentary valet parking and complimentary in-room wi-fi.

A highlight of our stay was our daily walks on Chesterman Beach. There is easy access from the hotel and one can walk well over a mile to the east of the hotel along the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We live locally and had an opportunity for a one night staycation when family were visiting and able to watch our pre-schooler. The Wickaninnish Inn is just down the road but from the moment we arrive we felt a world away. We had a spa treatment booked for 4:00 and wanted to use the steam room in advance. We were aware check in time is 4:00, but staff welcomed and accommodated us when we arrived at noon for brunch. Our bags were taken care of and during lunch someone from the front desk found us in the dining room to inform us they could check us in earlier than 4. After an amazing (see my food notes at end), we found a crib board in the library and went down to the Driftwood Café for a game and glass of wine. Again, a staff member found us around 2:30 to inform us that our bags were in our room waiting for us and we could make our way there at our leisure. We stayed in the Point building, our room was on the north side on the second floor - very private, quiet and wonderful view overlooking the cove. We had not been in the rooms since the renovations and we appreciate the improvements - we love that the shower/tub still opens into the room for the view but it now is glassed in (spotlessly I must add) for privacy. The steam room and couples massage was perfect - and at this point we felt like we had been away for much longer than a few hours.

Regarding the food - outstanding. I had the duck confit eggs benny at brunch and I am still thinking about it - amazing. Dinner was excellent. We each had six items from the chefs eight item tasting menu and switched it up so between the two of us tried everything. Everything was wonderfully prepared, seasoned and portioned. We left the meal extremely happy and satisfied. Our getaway ended with a relaxing and delicious breakfast the next morning.

I must add the every single staff person we encountered was friendly and sincere. We are so fortunate to have such a world class Inn in our beautiful back yard, and we cant wait to book our next get away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sara_bc_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Spent a weekend in February at the Inn. Highly recommended for a retreat from city life. Best walk we found was right on Chesterman beach - no need to drive anywhere, just stay and enjoy the resort. We also did the Schooner Cove walk to the beach (8 minute drive from the resort) which is a boardwalk trail through the woods to the beach. Tofino is pretty quiet in the off season, more lively in the spring/summer (after March 1st) so some restaurants in town were closed, etc.

Food at the Driftwood Cafe was great, fresh west coast style cuisine. We actually preferred it to the Pointe Restaurant. Good wine selections, including wine by the glass. The restaurants did a decent job of trying to accommodate dietary restrictions (vegan and gluten free). Staff were friendly and attentive in all instances and management followed up with us whenever we had any comments whatsoever.

Did a yoga class which ended up being private (they book a maximum of 5 people per class but the morning we did it it was just the two of us). Also had a great massage in the spa. Allow time for the steam cave.

Room Tip: Try for a room on an upper floor, the view is stunning. We were on the third floor in the Point bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed with our do, he was made more than welcome and I think he may have enjoyed himself more than us, it that's possible. First day the weather was sunny, walks on the beach and trails all day, second day rain, almost snow. Hotel had raincoats and boots, we showered our dog and he sat in front of our fireplace to dry. The breakfast, lunch and dinners were so good they were not out done by the winter storm waves outside the restaurant windows. This stay is the best experience on the west coast of north America.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripstocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

If you are looking for breathtaking sunsets, storms that are awe inspiring, long sandy beaches to be contemplative on as you walk, air full of the smell of cedar and peace...you've found it.

One of Canada's best kept secrets, the rooms, although casual have everything you could imagine. Bose stereos, fireplaces, with blankets to curl up in, books to read, CD's with local music to listen to, deep tubs, fantastic food and wonderful wonderful wine.

We've stayed in the main building, 3rd floor and in a suite in the beach buidling. It's all beautiful. So beautiful that we choose to elope there 3 years ago. Best decision of our lives - to get married and to get married there.

It's a spot of relaxation and healing. It's calm and blissfull. Highly recommend the massage in the "love shack", wine on your balcony, a walk at sunrise and sunset....and don't forget to go through the forest path...where I married the most wonderful man in the world.

Go there and fall in love.

S.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephLB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.7 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
0.6 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Address: 500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#1 Family Hotel in Tofino
#2 Green Hotel in Tofino
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: $271 - $584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickaninnish Inn, a Relais & Chateaux property since 1997, overlooks the Pacific Ocean from a rocky point on Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast, near the eclectic town of Tofino and Pacific Rim National Park. Two contemporary cedar buildings, set against a backdrop of ancient rainforest, boast an extensive local art collection (complemented by the neighbouring wood carving shed), and all rooms and suites offer ocean or beach views, gas fireplace, soaker tub and individual balcony. Uncompromising service, including a Clefs d’Or Concierge team, is a standard. The sole resort on Chesterman Beach, Tofino’s longest at 2.5km/1.5mi, the Inn is home to refined West Coast cuisine at The Pointe Restaurant and naturally-inspired treatments at its intimate Ancient Cedars Spa. Tofino’s McDiarmid family welcomes you to this locally owned, world renowned sanctuary offering Rustic Elegance on Nature’s Edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Expedia and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Hotel Tofino
The Wickaninnish Hotel And Pointe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing