We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Breathtaking View"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“"Breathtaking View"”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

As part of a birthday treat to my wife I made a reservation for brunch at 11AM in the "Point" on Sunday 5th May. To our huge surprise, we were initially the only couple in the restaurant so were seated at front view table overlooking the Point that has to be one of the premier West Coast locations I've ever seen, that, coming from one born and raised on the BC coast. We were immediately serviced the most delicious fresh fruit juice followed by a perfectly prepared pair of cooked breakfasts one could imagine. All this serviced by the most personable charming young lady who provided us prompt attention to our every need while engaging us in absorbing conversation. A great treat in the most luxurious of surrounds.

Room Tip: We did not stay at Wickaninnish Inn, so therefore cannot rate the rooms etc.....It is a beautiful pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solomoncj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,031
    157
    60
    28
    15
See reviews for
195
855
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is a gem of a hotel nestled along the coast of Tofino, BC. I now understand why they say it is one of the top 100 things to see in Canada and this place beats all the rest. Five star all the way. Food is top notch breakfast, lunch and dinner. Hard to pull away to try some of the other great restaurants in the area...and there are many. Great spa too. Sorry we didn't stay longer, but have to come back. It will be worth the trip.

Room Tip: Stay in the Pointe building, get a high floor on the Secret Cove side for the best views of the wave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedb548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

If you're going to the Tofino area STAY HERE! This is our second time out here, the first time we stayed at another hotel that was recommend to us and it pretty much put a damper on the whole vacation. This time I chose the wickinn and from the time I called in to book the room until the day we had to leave we were in heaven! The staff is amazing and so helpful and I mean everyone from the valet driver to the front desk to the house keepers everyone has smiles on and are so nice. It is child friendly, my husband and 3 year old daughter played on the beach while I had an amazing massage at the spa. If you have a chance to stay here don't even think about it do it!! We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawsie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We wanted a scenic remote getaway for our birthdays. This Relais Chateaux property is gorgeous, perched on the ocean's edge. The rooms are lovely--all that we saw had views. Service was first rate, the spa exceptional and the restaurant relaxed but sophisticated. We ate there 3 nights and in town once at Sobo--an excellent recommendation.
The concierge was very helpful---our bear watching tour was a kick and informative, too. The Pacific Rim National Park is right there--a temperate rain forest. Lots of trails for hikes/walks. Bald eagles everywhere. We can't wait to go back.
Also, the Vancouver airport is, and should be, highly rated. We flew Orca Air to Tofino---fun and fast in a 7 seat twin engine prop.

Room Tip: We had a corner room with 180+ views of the ocean. (ours was 109) When you call for reservations t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merrill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Wick is awesome, it has gorgeous views, incredibly detailed staff and lovely rooms. I spent half a week in Tofino and loved it, although I only spent a night of that at the Wick. Tofino has so much to offer all types of travellers, and it's where some of the coolest people on the West Coast reside.

Overall, I only gave the Inn four stars, because while it is luxurious and has two person soaker tubs (nice job, btw) in the bathrooms, it is missing the best part of Tofino - the people. The staff were incredibly professional to the point where it felt like they were a little cold or pretentious, and considering how welcoming and amazing everybody else is in Tofino, it felt like a generic hotel in any major city. I probably wouldn't stay at the hotel again, because staying there is like taking a vacation from Tofino itself, and it misses the best part.

Also, the massage I had was terrible, awkward and teeth-grittingly painful at times - my skin was so badly chafed on my legs that I still have a weird rash after a little over a week later.

Don't get me wrong, the experience was fantastic, it just wasn't very authentic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llamano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelationswick, Guest Relations Coordinator at Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Llamano,
Thank you for posting a Review of your recent stay at our Inn on Trip Advisor.
While we are pleased you enjoyed our Inn and the Town of Tofino, we were most disappointed to read that you found the service provided to you to be cold or pretentious and that you did not enjoy your treatment at our Ancient Cedars Spa.
Our primary concern is for our guests’ overall experience and we pride ourselves on delivering friendly, sincere service and I am sorry this was not your experience. As each of our team members are provided with personalized ongoing departmental training and also participate in seminars created by us and specifically tailored to our Inn, it was disappointing to read that you did not receive the level of service we expect our team members provide. It is our goal to provide each and every guest with a service experience that meets and hopefully exceeds their individual expectations and apologize that we did not meet this goal in your case.
Please also accept our apology that your treatment at our Ancient Cedars Spa was not the relaxing experience you were expecting. Our Spa treatments are designed to encourage relaxation and promote a general sense of well being and most certainly are not to be painful or have uncomfortable lasting effects. Again, we are truly very sorry.
As we would like to discuss and learn from your experience and as there are no relevant log book notes concerning your experience, we would appreciate being provided with your contact information either by way of Trip Advisor’s messaging system or directly at sandy@wickinn.com so a member of our senior management team may be in contact with you.
Again, please accept our most sincere apology that we did not meet your expectations and we sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to speak with you personally.
Sandy Stocker
Guest Relations Coordinator
Wickaninnish Inn & The Pointe Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were at the Wickaninnish for two nights in April and it was lovely. The location and view is incredible. Our room was lovely and the view was breathtaking. We ate all our meals at the Pointe and they were all 5 star. A very expensive getaway but worth it. The staff was excellent and very caring, it is truly a place where you are well taken care of. It will be difficult to stay anywhere else now when you have already experienced the best!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

How wonderful this inn is and what a great time we had. Our room(304) had a wonderful view of the ocean. The front desk on our arrival showed us all of the wonderful amenities which were many including rain jackets, backpack, umbrella, music books as well as the wonderful features including a hidden television and sliding doors on the bathroom to look out.

Our last night we had the most fabulous meal in Pointe Restaurant with wonderful service and such a great view. Our breakfasts were also amazing. The food is a bit pricey but almost everything is made on site including the breads,jam, juice,etc.

The only downside was the menu at the Driftwood Cafe. It is limited to Tapas type food or was when we were there. The servings are small and pricey. The service though was wonderful.

Oh the bikes were not in good shape but we were told they are been replaced. That being true the chains could have been oiled especially when we asked for them in advance.

Room Tip: Try for the third floor as the view will be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofino
0.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.7 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
125.2 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,036 reviews
128.2 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,197 reviews
1.8 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Property: Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Address: 500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#1 Family Hotel in Tofino
#1 Green Hotel in Tofino
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickaninnish Inn, a Relais & Chateaux property since 1997, overlooks the Pacific Ocean from a rocky point on Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast, near the eclectic town of Tofino and Pacific Rim National Park. Two contemporary cedar buildings, set against a backdrop of ancient rainforest, boast an extensive local art collection (complemented by the neighbouring wood carving shed), and all rooms and suites offer ocean or beach views, gas fireplace, soaker tub and individual balcony. Uncompromising service, including a Clefs d’Or Concierge team, is a standard. The sole resort on Chesterman Beach, Tofino’s longest at 2.5km/1.5mi, the Inn is home to refined West Coast cuisine at The Pointe Restaurant and naturally-inspired treatments at its intimate Ancient Cedars Spa. Tofino’s McDiarmid family welcomes you to this locally owned, world renowned sanctuary offering Rustic Elegance on Nature’s Edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Hotel Tofino
The Wickaninnish Hotel And Pointe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing