We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Qualicum Beach, Canada
1 review
“Gorgeous location!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I recently took my husband to the Wickaninnish Inn for his 65th birthday. I must say, that this was the most enjoyable stay I've had anywhere. From the friendly and extremely helpful staff, the luxurious room, the absolutely breathtaking view of the ocean, to the amazingly delicious dinner and dining environment, we were extremely impressed with our experience and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyMacFarlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,046
    162
    62
    28
    17
See reviews for
207
864
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morell
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Wickaniinnish is an incredible place to stay.....Luxury at its finest. They have covered all the details, from binoculars in each room to raincoats in each closet.
They are the epitome of Canadian beauty and sustainability. I love that their compost bins are called "TEMPLE OF ORGANIC TRANSITION". I hope I have the opportunity to stay there again.

Donna Glass
Morell, PEI

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed two days Jan 29/30, 2013 at this resort, after staying 3 nights prior at another resort. It was so romantic, large rooms, very pet friendly, great beach. THe rooms and staff were incredible. Very spacious filled with all items you would need to take your dog for a walk on the beach during storm season. They have stations outside to wash your pet off with dry towels so you don't track all the sand in the hallwa, as well as rain gear for us. Our dog was so tired after the first day there of hiking that she just layed by the fire in our room while we went for dinner to the dinning room and never moved until we came back. Loved the iidea of rain gear in our room to go out in the storm and walk on the beach. Had dinner at the Pointe Restaurant with incredible views overlooking the ocean the first night. It was good but I have to say to much presentation as opposed to amount of food. We also had lunch there the next day but chose to leave the resort on the second night dinner, which was sad as we were tired but wanted a nice meal for our last evening there. I hate to say but we went back to the Long Beach Resort for our 4th dinner.
Don't get me wrong, will definitely go back again and stay in the rooms, and next time make time for the beautiful spa! Moosepoop!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moosepoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary by treating ourselves to a 3-night stay at the Wick in late January and enjoyed it immensely. We'd been there for one night last year and couldn't wait to return for a longer stay. This year we took our three-year-old springer spaniel along and planned to do little but read and hike the beach and trails (twice a day!)... and of course eat and drink rather well. All of which we managed... The hotel's dog-friendly policy is a real plus for us -- what better place to walk your pet than on the broad expanse of Chesterman Beach!
We had two very fine meals in The Pointe... (imho the fois gras appetiser was second only to a somewhat similar dish at Au Pied de Cochon in Montreal -- the best ever!). The meals and service were excellent overall. And the bar's selection of single malts is very impressive indeed... including a forty-year-old Bowmore available for something over $1000 a shot... a good conversation piece if nothing else... We also had a good meal at Shelter in Tofino.
My wife spent a morning in the spa and rated it highly as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairway, Kansas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights as the start to our Canadian Honeymoon( we are from the US) and we cannot say enough great things about this hotel! We arrived very late as the drive can be challenging...try to travel during day light as the roads can be hard to navigate. Upon arrival we were immediately offered a warm beverage and bottled water. The staff was so inviting, even at 11pm, making sure everything was taken care of. Our luggage was brought to our room and the bell boy took a significant amount of time showing us the features of our room, the amenities and helping us get our bags put away.

Room: amazing! We stayed in room 210 in the pointe building with excellent views of both sides of the pointe. Spacious, inviting, very clean! Fireplace, tv, DVD player, very nice alarm clock with settings to hook up iPods. Minibar was fully stocked with anything you could ever think of...even mixed drinks in bottles. Coffee maker was superb with delicious coffee. Rain gear for storm season was provided even with rain boots for rainy day walks along the beach (which were fabulous). Bathroom was very luxurious, tub with excellent view, spacious vanity, beautiful linens, towels, and robes.

Service: outstanding, best service I ever experienced from a hotel. All staff was so attentive, learning our names from the get go. Housekeeping was brilliant, even leaving notes each night detailing times of tides, temps, sunsets, etc for the next day. Turn down service included candles and CDs of various artists each night...these details made our stay that much more incredible. Valley service is free, however, the car park is a just a short walk from the entrance. Concierge was always available to help with anything we needed or there to simply suggest things to do, see, places to eat, etc.

Food: the pointe Restuarant was basically the only choice for food and was very expensive offering a limited menu each day. I would say this was the Only part of the trip that was (only a little) disappointing to us. Service here was still top of the line, but again, options are limited. Wine list very pricey. We chose to eat breakfast once and dinner once, and then found off site places (which can be difficult in Tofino during storm season)

Overall: extremely happy with our stay! We continued on to Whistler for the remainder of our trip where we stayed at the four seasons, and we both found ourselves wishing we were back at the "wick inn" during our Whistler stay! Can't say enough about this fabulous property! It is a must see and we will definitely be returning and also telling friends and family!

Thanks Wick Inn for this special time!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

A friend told me about Tofino and said that should we decide to visit that there was no other place than the Wickaninnish Inn. It was a little more expensive that we'd hoped but in the long run it was definitely worth it. The setting is incredible and we found ourselves watching the tide levels quite intensely, something we'd never thought that much about at other beach locations. The hotel lobby was very nice with great views. The guest room was perfect with everything we needed. The fireplace was a big plus as was the nice deck from which we watched out over the view. The staff was in general very good. Only complaint was that our server at lunch one day in the Point restaurant wasn't very friendly, which really stood out as everyone else was quite pleasant. All in all it was a perfect stay and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend not only the Wickainnish Inn but the entire Tofino area which was incredibly beautiful. We hope to return one day during storm season as again, we got hooked on just watching the ocean tides.

Room Tip: 3rd Floor rooms with unobstructed views, and if you're lucky the corner rooms appear to be the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were blessed during our stay at the Inn to have an ocean view room and was not unusual to see different animals daily. We enjoyed the beaches and had a private party on a secluded beach that was wonderful!!!
A must see and do if looking for adventure. We love Tofino!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soggy-Dollar-Bar-JVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofino
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,049 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,224 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Property: Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Address: 500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tofino
#1 Green Hotel in Tofino
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickaninnish Inn, a Relais & Chateaux property since 1997, overlooks the Pacific Ocean from a rocky point on Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast, near the eclectic town of Tofino and Pacific Rim National Park. Two contemporary cedar buildings, set against a backdrop of ancient rainforest, boast an extensive local art collection (complemented by the neighbouring wood carving shed), and all rooms and suites offer ocean or beach views, gas fireplace, soaker tub and individual balcony. Uncompromising service, including a Clefs d’Or Concierge team, is a standard. The sole resort on Chesterman Beach, Tofino’s longest at 2.5km/1.5mi, the Inn is home to refined West Coast cuisine at The Pointe Restaurant and naturally-inspired treatments at its intimate Ancient Cedars Spa. Tofino’s McDiarmid family welcomes you to this locally owned, world renowned sanctuary offering Rustic Elegance on Nature’s Edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Hotel Tofino
The Wickaninnish Hotel And Pointe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing