We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING escape to paradise for Canada!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING escape to paradise for Canada!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Everything was amazing about this place. The service was excellent. Amazing view from the rooms and from the suites. Will come back every year!
The food was delicious. The town is small and cozy and really forces you to relax as there is not much to do there but enjoy the ocean breeze and quietness.

Room Tip: Franklin suite is great! It's a corner suite, so you get a view of the forest and a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Excitedtraveller1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,046
    162
    62
    28
    17
See reviews for
207
864
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our room was fabulous!. The deck is a great place to watch the ocean or listen to the waves later in the evening. The decor is modern and updated. The room was crisp and clean. Shower was awesome. The food at the restaurant was fantastic, service was excellent and the view is unbelievable. Would love to go back!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sptravelfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I just returned from 4 days at The Wick and everything exceeded my expectations. The hotel is beautiful - inside and out. The setting is incredible and the service is great. Very professional without being too formal. The rooms are very well done, as noted by other reviews, and include some really nice touches like rain gear, a Bose sound system (complete with 10 CDs by Canadian artists), and a DVD player.

A couple suggestions should you plan to go:
* If you want crashing surf RIGHT outside your window, which I did, then stay in the Pointe building. If you stay in the Pointe building (rather than the Beach building), my suggestion is to stay on the 3rd (top) floor and in a low-number room (ex: 301, rather than 315). The low numbers are further from the elevator but, more importantly, they are further out on the point, so you get more of the surf experience. Ask if your room has a tree in front of it - you can get completely unobstructed views or views that have a tree or two in them.
* Eat at the Pointe restaurant. Great food, really interesting cocktails, lots of local wines to sample.
* If you fly into Victoria, the drive from the airport is about 4.5 hours. If you go in the storm season, like I did, rent an SUV. The drive is pretty but there was LOTS of snow.

Definitely worth every cent and I'm already planning my return trip. And I've only been home two days!

Room Tip: As noted above, all of the rooms have a great view. I'd suggest a higher floor (so you have les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OaklandBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Absolutely the best in hospitality. We stayed her for our 4 year anniversary, and we couldn't be more statisfied with our stay. This hotels thinks of all the details to enjoy your stay. First of all we stayed in the beach building overlooking the beach, and the view from our giant window was breathtaking. The hotel even has binoculars in the room so can enjoy everything from the comfort of your room by the fireplace. Wow is just one of the few words to describe the room and the view. The room has a Bose Stereo with a IPOD connector, and a library of music CD's to enjoy. The hotel even provided a Sarah Maclachan Christamas CD to listen while drinking wine by the fireplace enjoying the sound of the surf pounding against the rocks. There's a library of books in the room so you can enjoy bird watching, whale watching, and plant identification. They even provide a rechargeable flashlight just in case you feel like walking on the beach after dark. Next they provided two canteens and a back pack to take on a hike or walk. If you want to sit on the beach, they also provided a blanket. If it's raining they also provided a raincoats and an umbrella. This hotels has thought of all the details to enjoy and get the most out of your stay and has provided it for you on the property or in the room. The coffee bar in the room is fully stocked with plenty of coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. Someone refills the liquid coffee creamers and the coffee bar on a daily basis. We felt so spoiled in our room that it was hard to leave or room. The staff is very attentive,and they go out of they way to provide you the best stay possible. The staff here knows hospitality, and it shows. This staff is the nicest I've met in the hospitality industry, hence I was totally impressed with the staff and the way they treat while you are their guest. The Bathrom was huge with a two person tub overlooking the ocean. The view from your tub can't be beat. The other cool feature is the heated floors in the bathroom which felt so good on your bare feet. The hotel has a shuttle service into town, and I think the Airport. I just can't say enough good things about the hotel, the staff and the location. I can go on and on, but the only I need to say is, "stay here while visiing Tofino and you won't regret it it." The cost was worth it, and I would recommend this hotel. I'm already thinking aboout our next visit and stay at the Wickannish Inn. Outstanding doesn't come close to describing this hotel. I would recommend this hotel and it eraned everyone of the 5 stars.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room in the Beach building that had a spectular view. It was also very privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVELLERSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

If you want Four Seasons Hotel type attention in the wilderness, you should take the trip to the Wickininnish Inn. Tofino is of course a beauty in itself with it mile long beaches along the Pacific Ocean. Makes you think about Hawaii, when you are strolling along the beaches seeing the multitude of surfers in the waves. Yes, Tofino is a hot spot for surfing-but use a wetsuit!

The property is very nicely situated on a point and we had a beautiful view from our room to the ocean and opening the balcony door, the waves could be heard. Cozy fireplace and great decor. Spacious room, and nice bathroom. Yes, a tub, but we were in the original building, so it is not as upgraded when it comes to bath vesrus shower cabin as the other building. The decor and other things are great though.Furniture and carpets, flat screen TV etc are all perfect and recently upgraded.
The nice thing for us pet owners are that they accept dogs, and they actually embrace them. When our liitle one barked when we were trying out the restaurant, they actually had a pet sitting service-great for us! And room service is also great.

The very nice touch was when we the first day stumbled upon the 4 o'clock happy hour, where both the Ops Director Christine (?) and the owner Charles were serving bubbly, cheeses and little appetizers in the library. We spent over 2 hours just having a great time with them and other guests. What a nice touch!

So for quiet enjoyment, luxury in the wilderness, super friendly staff from all over the world and nice hosts and a beautiful piece of property, splurge and try it out! 3 hours drive from Nanaimo ferry terminal through beautiful wilderness! And if you don't have your own rain jacket, they actually provide that as well.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are nice, but we stayed in the Premium on ground floor and still had a great vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mats G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

There are many reviews detailing out the nice ammeneties of the Wick, so I won't repeat. We went the first week of December for storm watching. If you want to spoil yourselves, this is the place. Going in the off season, it seemed like we had a private vacation in a wonderful setting. Every staff person was polite and sincere. The little details make it perfect. For example, the rubber boots are not cheap or stiff, but soft and comfortable, and they insulate from the cold ocean, should you venture in. Top quality rain gear as well. However, there are a few minor things to make you aware of. 1) The HVAC fan in the room is a bit on the noisy side, but we did not use it as the fireplace added a bit of warmth when needed, and opening the door let in some nice coolness at night, not to mention the steady rumble of the ocean waves! 2) There is wireless internet in the rooms, although on the slow side. Of course we were there to relax, but in this day and age of technology, we seem to want instant gratification when surfing the internet. 3) For Canadian travellers with cell phones, Rogers coverage is terrible, but Koodo (Telus) was good. 4) In a few years, the tree growth will block some of the excellent views from the rooms, so the hotel needs to keep this in mind. Bottom line on the Wick - would we go back? Yes. Was it worth every penny - absolutely!

Room Tip: Get the corner rooms with views in two directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We spent two glorious nights in #309 in the Pointe Building. This room is outstanding. Its rapt in windows, on the top floor overlooking the crashing waves. We had the fireplace for warmth and ambience and opened the sliding doors for the sounds of the ocean while cozying up under the duvet of an incredibly comfy bed. Add to this a double soaker tub in the bathroom also overlooking the ocean.

We ate and two outstanding breakfast/brunch meals and one dinner in the Point Restaurant. Fabulous room jutting out over the ocean. Best version of Eggs Benedict. It comes on cornbread with pulled pork and a little kick in the hollandaise sauce. mmmm mmmm mmmm Also recommend the French toasted Brioche with deep-fried maple ice cream. mmmmm The housemade granola and yogurt with fresh fruit was excellent. Every piece of fruit was ripe and sweet. While we did enjoy the shredded potato encrusted oysters, we were for the most part disappointed with our dinner. I'm assuming it was somehow an off-night. We also ate in the Driftwood Cafe one night. We enjoyed the casual setting and the lighter selections that night.

Its a beautiful location for beachcoming and hiking.

One thing that really struck me as how professional the staff is. They are warm, friendly and courteous, but still very professional. It was something special.

Room Tip: #309 I think is probably the best room in the Point Building. Its expensive, but you get a room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofino
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,049 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,225 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant

Property: Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Address: 500 Osprey Lane at Chesterman Beach, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tofino
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#1 Green Hotel in Tofino
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wickaninnish Inn, a Relais & Chateaux property since 1997, overlooks the Pacific Ocean from a rocky point on Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast, near the eclectic town of Tofino and Pacific Rim National Park. Two contemporary cedar buildings, set against a backdrop of ancient rainforest, boast an extensive local art collection (complemented by the neighbouring wood carving shed), and all rooms and suites offer ocean or beach views, gas fireplace, soaker tub and individual balcony. Uncompromising service, including a Clefs d’Or Concierge team, is a standard. The sole resort on Chesterman Beach, Tofino’s longest at 2.5km/1.5mi, the Inn is home to refined West Coast cuisine at The Pointe Restaurant and naturally-inspired treatments at its intimate Ancient Cedars Spa. Tofino’s McDiarmid family welcomes you to this locally owned, world renowned sanctuary offering Rustic Elegance on Nature’s Edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickaninnish Inn And The Pointe Restaurant Hotel Tofino
The Wickaninnish Hotel And Pointe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing