We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for relaxing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Crow Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 41 Tofino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Huge, well furnished room. Loved sitting by the open window or on the veranda watching the change of scenery with the tides going in & out. Well supplied with music, books and games. Short drive to Tofino for restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hikers5152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 174 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We booked this place further to the great reviews on tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. It was in a beautiful, quiet location right on the estuary. We stayed in the huge sanctuary suite on the first floor with the most beautiful views. The room had a sofa for chilling out and a super comfortable bed.

Melanie's hospitality was understated and spot on. And her breakfasts were to die for- home made crumble, breads, croissants all that could be eaten at our little table in our room overlooking the water. The canoes and hot tub (with fluffy robes and towels in the room!) were a really nice touch.

This is a really special place, peace and relaxation but in close proximity to all the lovely trail walks, whale watching and restaurants that Tofino has to offer. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muzmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our three-night stay at the Red Crow made our two-week vacation of the Pacific Northwest. We looked forward to the stunning sunrise vistas each morning and to each day's different breakfast delights--truly amazing food. This is a very special place and we hope to return someday soon.

We spent the next three nights at the Wickaninnish Inn, and it proved to be a big disappointment in contrast to the privacy and beautiful scenes at the Red Crow. Three cheers for the Red Crow!

Room Tip: We stayed in both the Otter's Suite and a room upstairs--both were divine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudio O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

WOW!!! After slowly making our way west across Canada, Tofino was the farthest west my wife and I traveled, and we were so delighted to spend three nights at the Red Crow Guesthouse.

From the warm welcome we received when we arrived, to the delicious breakfasts served in our room, to the amazing views from the Sanctuary Suite, to the secluded and moonlit hot tub (we loved the fluffy red robes and towels that were set aside just for the hot tub!), my wife and I felt absolutely spoiled during our stay. Although Ann was out of town, Melanie was the perfect host and was quick to offer help with any questions that we had about the property or surrounding area.

Aside from the beautiful house and amazing service, a few other intangibles that we enjoyed were:

1) Silence - with no televisions and very few neighbours, it really felt like we were staying in a secluded cabin even though the Red Crow was at capacity during our stay and Tofino was just a quick walk away.

2) The View - looking out of our upper level windows we were surrounded by nothing but nature. Watching the tides come in and out twice a day - transforming the inlet from a blue expanse of flat water to a field of muddy puddles - was something us prairie-folk found utterly amazing.

3) The Flexibility - Example #1 - We had a bear watching tour booked early one morning and Melanie was more than gracious in making alternate arrangements for our breakfast. Example #2 - The room was loaded with so many little additions - from board games, to plates and cutlery, to a much need and used corkscrew - that we were free to enjoy our time without having to bring everything we owned with us. Example #3 - Being able to enjoy a bottle of wine in the hot tub - enough said.

Of the nine locations my wife and I stayed in during our trip, the Red Crow was easily the best!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roadvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Beautiful location, beautiful accommodations, the best vegan breakfast away from home ever; friendly, warm, and interesting host. Smartly decorated room, a spacious rustic veranda on which to sit and look out over the water. We saw a Bald Eagle both days we were there. This place could easily "make" your holiday.

Room Tip: All the rooms are simply great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This guest house absolutely MADE our stay in Tofino. I went with my boyfriend for our anniversary in early July, and Red Crow was just wonderful. It's quiet and secluded, some ways out of the Tofino town centre, and is right on the water.

You have the option of having breakfast brought to you every morning of your stay, and you MUST -- they were absolutely amazing, and the owner had no problem making exceptions for my vegan diet, which was incredibly thoughtful.

There were two bikes available for guests to borrow during their stay, which was very helpful, as well as canoes for guest use, a fire pit, and a hot tub secluded down a little forest path overlooking the inlet. It's walking distance from the Tofino Botanical Gardens, where you can grab an EXCELLENT lunch at Darwin's Cafe, as well.

If we go to Tofino again, there is no way we would stay anywhere else. I cannot reccommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: The River Otter Suite was very large and nice, with the most comfortable bed in the world. Great for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic 15 night trip to the west coast of Canada & we were fortunate enough to spend 5 of those nights at the wonderful Red Crow guesthouse in Tofino.
As I always do when I put a trip together, I did extensive research on where was the best place to stay for us & even with the help of maps of the area it was hard to choose where would be right, as there are many different options.
Finally after reading other reviews on T/A I chose the Red Crow & we are both so pleased & thankful that I chose so well & we had a wonderful stay. The owner Ann is a very friendly & gracious host & she was ever helpful with advice for all the questions that we seemed to ask her.
The property is right on the foreshore & over looks Mears island (which is very large) & other smaller islands & it is so wonderfully peaceful there & very beautiful. The scenery was constantly changing because of the weather ( we had a rather damp & overcast week) & I seemed to be forever grabbing my camera because I had another view I wanted to have a picture of that I hadn't seen before.
We had the second floor room of the large & very well kept house which goes from the front of the house to the back with lots of windows & light ,a huge comfy bed, a table & 2 chairs, & a large sofa & coffee table. Then there is another room with ample wardrobe & floor space , a coffee machine & kettle & microwave & small fridge & then a door that goes into the lovely sized bathroom with a toilet ,a large seperate shower , big bath & a long sink unit with a window affording you another view of the water.
As we aren't very big breakfast eaters we chose to buy our own fruit & cereals & ate them in our room & Ann gave us any extra cutlery or plates that we required. We even had 2 take out meals but it was dry enough for one to be eaten outside enjoying the total silence there.
We used the lovely jacuzzi twice & thoroughly enjoyed it but sadly didn't get round to using the canoe or the bikes that Ann offers free use of.
We enjoyed walks along the rocky foreshore when the tide was out & really couldn't believe how silent it was.
The guesthouse is only about 1 mile from the town where you can choose from a very good selection of restaurants serving great quality food & book any boat trips if you want to go Whale or Bear watching. Probably the best hi light from our WHOLE trip was the morning we went out with Mike White who owns Browning Pass charters & he took us up Browning Passage & we were lucky enough to see 9 Black bears including a mummy & her 2 young cubs as they all foraged at the shoreline at low tide for crabs to eat for their breakfast. It was magical stuff & we were thrilled & privileged to be able to observe them at close quarters in the wild.
There is plenty to do in Tofino even with poor weather like we had, which just gave everything a different kind of beauty but the Red Crow was a real sanctuary to return to after our days out & evening meals. It's quite unusual for my husband & I to feel so rested & settled on a holiday where we have a number of stops but we both felt totally relaxed at the Red Crow.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay at this delightful property.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelmadIver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.7 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
328 reviews
1.6 mi away
BriMar Bed and Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Tofino Trek Inn
Tofino Trek Inn
#1 of 41 in Tofino
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Crow Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Crow Guesthouse

Address: 1064 Pacific Rim hwy, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range: $87 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful private entry waterfront suites with ensuites, down duvets & fireplaces; stunning views overlooking Tofino Inlet and tidal waterways of the bird sanctuary. Have your coffee on the verandah in the morning sun and enjoy the bird life in a most tranquil oasis. Additional 4+ person Garden Cottage in a glade of magnificent old growth cedars. Forest Hot Tub; Complimentary WiFi, Canoes & Bikes; Helpful and welcoming hosts. Walking distance to Tofino village & beaches. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing