We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Base Camp When In Tofino”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 13, 2009

I recently had the opportunity to travel to Tofino with my 16 year old niece and we spent a wonderful couple of days at the Pacific Sands. From the moment we arrived, until the moment we left, everything was just about perfect. The room had a small and well stocked kitchen, the view onto the beach was breathtaking and the beds and all other amenities were wonderful. We literally walked out our door onto the amazing beach and we walked the beach for a good hour enjoying the surfers and the surf. The staff had recommended that we head out to Sunset Point to catch the sun setting over the Pacific, and, even though it was a bit cloudy, the view was wonderful and the hike to get there was most enjoyable. The staff were consistently friendly and helpful - whether it was helping us to choose a restaurant in Tofino or pointing out where the Yahtzee games were stored we were consistently impressed with the friendliness. My only complaint was that our stay was too short but we will definitely be back the next time we are in Tofino.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FavouriteAunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,021)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,879 - 1,885 of 2,021 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2009

We stayed in a Beach Villa (#37). It is a beautiful tri-level, two-bedroom attached villa directly on the beach. Full-height glass windows wrap around the corner of both the living room and master bedroom. The entire villa is designed with a contemporary, natural feel--wood ceilings, slate floors, gas fireplaces in the LR and MB, great furniture. But what you will be drawin to is that remarkable view and the sound of crashing waves right outside your balcony.

Everything you need for an extended stay has been thought of. The kitchen is well stocked with cookware and dishes. There is even a washer and dryer in the unit. The master bedroom has a large soaking tub open to the room and that beautiful view. Towels and linens are very nice quality. One curious omission is the lack of a TV in the second bedroom. I cannot imagine why you would even want to watch TV in this setting. However, it would seem logical to put one in what is undoubtedly used as a children's room.

One should be aware however that this is less of a "resort" as the name implies and more like renting a private villa. There is no daily maid service, no one to help bring your bags to the room (luggage carts are left in the parking lot for your use), no real resort amenities such as a pool or hot tubs or a gym. In fact there is not even a restaurant or lounge or convenience store on the property. It simply a beautiful accomodation on one of the prettiest and dramatic beaches to be found anywhere. I would stay there again in a heartbeat-but i do not require hotel-type amenities to enjoy my stay. Bring your own wine and cheese, coffe and breakfast and enjoy them on your balcony.

The Long Beach Lodge is located immediatley adjacent to the property. you can walk down the beach and enjoy a cocktail or a meal in their wonderful lodge should you wish to go out without driving.

Finally, do not miss taking a walk to Sunset Point. this rocky headland is the private property of the Pacific Sands and offers an astounding view of not only Cox Bay (where the resort is located) but also of Chesterman Beach and the crashing Pacific on the rocks. Bring a bottle of wine and enjoy it on one of the many benches the resort has set out to enjoy the spectacular scenery and sunsets.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bhtpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Room was fab. We stayed for 3 nights but should have stayed longer.
Room has great views and we could walk out the 'front door' and almost straight onto the beach. Rooms on the floor above (hotels room only on 2 levels - ground level and one level above) might have had a slightly better view but they only had access to beach from their back door.
Hotel reception office staff were very helpful. DVDs available to rent, body boards available for use, could book whale watching etc etc.
Cox Beach is one of the most beautiful on the coast between Ucluelet and Tofino - we did look at some of the others but they just weren't as good.
Our kids loved the surf and now want to take lessons.
It was also good to be able to do some simple meals in the room and not worry about having to go out anywhere after eating out for many days beforehand.
Overall just a wonderful place to chill out

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pambolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

The location is great, you're right on the beach! Lots of mix of people staying at the resort, families, couples, group of friends.

The kitchen in the suite was very small, which was fine for a short stay, but I would bring some of my own cooking supplies next time. The stuff provided was rather old and scratched up.

The furniture smelled and which made it unpleasant and the fireplace didn't work. Oh and there is no phone in the room, so if you want to request something, I guess you would have to walk to the front desk or use your cellphone to call them. The internet reception is not good, so I wouldn't bring my own laptop there or count on being able to use internet in my room.

Not the most luxurious suites, and need some updating. Seems like with a bit more effort, this could have been so much better.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TofinoAug2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

The Pacific Sands Resort was our favorite location of the 6 stops on our trip to BC and Seattle. While not the most luxurious Resort of the trip (This goes to Beach Club Resort in Parksville – see our review), for enjoying the scenery this was the winner. We had a 1 bedroom ocean view suite. The interior was very well maintained, and had a complete kitchen with full size appliances. Tofino is about 5 miles away if you don’t want to cook, as the hotel does not a have a restaurant. The hotel does a BBQ every other night, also they have gas and charcoal grills.

Visiting Pacific Rim National Park was terrific. I can’t think of many places in the continental US that gives you a feeling of being this far away from things, and being able to return to all the comforts of home within minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EurotravelerTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Checked in for 5 days into Villa 37.

I wondered what the view would be from Villas further away from the center of the property (20s is closer to the center of the property. The higher the number the further away from the center). There is a piece of land that sticks out and blocks the view to some extent for the villas further away from the center. As it turns out there is an opening in this piece of land and you can see the waves roll in and smash against the rocks. This is absolutely a scenic spot on the property. I was in villa 37 but I think one can see the waves roll in in this spot from Villa 35.36, 37 and 38

The view of the main beach is partial from villas 35 to 41. Regardless of where you are the sound of the waves is loud, clear and absolutely stress melting on this property. I visited some of the other properties but the waves here are the best,

The villas themselves are perfect with three levels and wonderful views and balconies. Grocery market in Tofino (5 minutes away) and good restaurants like the Schooner.

Do not forget to walk on the trail to Sunset point on this property. Lots of things to do in and around this area.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dallastrav2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Reserving a place to stay far away from home is always a gamble. However, I realized that this resort was special even before we arrived. A day earlier, our waiter at a nice Vancouver restaurant became excited when we told him that we were heading for the Pacific Sands. He told us of his many surfing and storm watching trips to Tofino. He always stayed at this resort. He was right; this place was superb.

The online reservation system in the Pacific Sands web site is a bit confusing. I called and e-mailed the resort a few times before booking our stay. I always received prompt replies. The staff was eager to help. Finally, I reserved an ocean view studio. There was even a special going on!

We arrived in Tofino on Orca Air. The resort is less than 10 minutes drive from the airport. There is an abandoned Pacific Beach Hotel a few miles before you reach the Pacific Sands. Don't get confused as we did and keep driving. You will see the sign for the Pacific Sands in a few miles on the left-hand side. The check-in is in the separate building. It is the first house on your right once you enter the resort; you can miss it.

Our check in was quick and flawless. The front desk staff also helped us to select a few excursions. They do have a few companies they prefer to deal with (Jamie's Whaling Station). However, if asked they will contact any of the Tofino outfitters. They also sell various passes to the Pacific Rim National Park.

Our studio was located in a three-story lodge. We stayed on the second-floor. Parked was right in front of the building. Accommodations were superb. The living area was spacious with a large comfortable bed facing the deck. There was also a couch, a dining table, and a TV with the DVD player. Our studio had a small kitchen with all the major utensils and kitchenware for four. The bathroom was basic, but with plenty of towels. There was a lot of closet space. The room also had a gas fireplace. It quickly heated the room and were rarely used it. The best part of the room was of course the ocean-facing deck. The beach was only a few steps away. Our view was spectacular. Very conveniently, a laundry room was located on the first flow of the building. You could buy laundry detergent in the gift shop.

The resort has no restaurant. Not to worry! There are many excellent restaurants in Tofino nearby. Alternatively, you can buy fresh seafood, a bottle of wine, and eat in. There are few grills right next to the beach that you can also use. The staff usually steers you to the higher end establishments. Ask the locals. They're plenty of dives with cheaper food.

We stayed at the Pacific Sands for just three days. We could have spent at month there. I would love to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gene_Augusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
2 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,088 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
0.1 mi away
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Cox Bay Beach Resort
#9 of 16 in Tofino
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Sands Beach Resort

Address: 1421 Pacific Rim Hwy. | Box 237, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Tofino
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#4 Family Hotel in Tofino
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: $165 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Sands Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Sands Beach Resort is located on 41 pristine acres of property and 2500 feet of ocean front on Cox Bay. Adjacent to the Pacific Rim National Park all suites and Luxury Beach Houses offer spectacular ocean or beach front views, mesmerizing sunsets and breathtaking storm watching. A walk to Pettinger Point is a must. Enjoy unrivaled culinary splendors at one of Tofino's many restaurants. Adventure tours of the Clayoquot Sound, beach combing and surfing are the most popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pacific Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Sands Beach Hotel Tofino
Pacific Sands Beach Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing