We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer family vacation spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Spent several days at the resort in one of the townhouses. I loved everything. The townhouse in located right on Cox Bay and had great views from the living room and bedroom. The house was well appointed and there were rain coats provided as it rained while we were there. The main house has frozen food for purchase from Sobo in Tofino and that was very convenient. The food from Sobo was fantastic. It exceeded my expectations after visiting the site and reading other reviews. It was the perfect ending to our 2 week trek across Canada.

Room Tip: The townhouses are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,033)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,033 - 1,039 of 2,033 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

The setting of cabin 41 is amazing with nature trails next door and easy access to beach even with a walker. My husband was able to maneuver the hard packed sand beach quite well. The cabin is luxurious with all the tools and necessities better than at home. We had a hot tub and BBQ on a wrap around deck with views of the beach. And the bedrooms are to die for with their fluffy duvets. Loved our family stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert & Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our second trip to Tofino and Pacific Sands and it didn't disappoint! Enjoyed the beautiful beach and the sound of the waves at night. Our dog had a fabulous time on the beach, basically getting as sandy and wet as possible. The pet washing stations came in handy to get some of the sand out before bringing him back to the unit. The unit we stayed in was an ocean view king, it was comfortable and had everything we needed. The bathroom area was a bit small but the view and the bed/sitting area made up for it. We were happy to get our room cleaned since it seemed like we couldn't avoid getting sand everywhere. My only issue was that none of the surfaces were wiped down, and the sink still had our dirty mugs/cups in it. Perhaps that's not included with the cleaning service? Overall we had a great stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Naomi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Loved everything about our stay!! Guest Services made us feel SO VERY SPECIAL!! Our room was absolutely beautiful with an amazing ocean view!! We spent our honeymoon here 35 years ago and have spent several times since then at this same location!! The room was very clean and had everything we could have wanted!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wayne & Catheri... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Had the pleasure of staying in the Sand Dollar Suite for 3 nights. The beachfront views from the wrap around deck were well worth the all day travel which included a plane ride, ferry ride, and drive from Duke Point. Beds were comfortable, the 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, living room and dining area provided plenty of space for a family of 4. Kitchen had everything we needed plus the private hot tub was very welcome after a long day of traveling and walking on trails. Children enjoyed exploring the tide pools filled with sea anemones and beachcombing for sand dollars during low tide (we found plenty in the sand). Although Pacific Northwest beaches do not have the warm balmy weather of Southern California beaches, they are definitely more peaceful and less crowded. At the busiest times of the day I could only count 12-30 people on the beach and often, in the early morning or late evening, we were the only ones on the beach. Wish we could stay longer but had to continue to our next destination. Will remember the beauty of Cox Bay and would love to come back to this resort. Tip: If driving across the island from Nanaimo, stop along the Kennedy River and explore the river rocks. Lots of tide pools filled with guppies. Good photo opportunities and side adventure for children. There is a pull off on the side of the highway with stairs to take you down to the river.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 123JLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Our suite was located ocean front, and we were entranced by the beauty only steps away from us. The hike to Pettinger Point was breathtaking, and so close to what felt like our own private beach. The service staff were professional and helpful. An overall wonderful experience for our honeymoon. We let the front desk know it was our honeymoon upon booking and found a bottle of champagne awaiting us, a nice touch!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tonee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

So close to Tofino yet totally isolated. Great accommodations, friendly and helpful staff. We had a 2 bed beach house steps from the beach so we are able to stroll the beach every day. We will stay there again for sure maybe in the fall.


  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jameslesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
2 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
1.3 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Sands Beach Resort

Address: 1421 Pacific Rim Hwy. | Box 237, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#3 Green Hotel in Tofino
#4 Family Hotel in Tofino
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: $173 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Sands Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Sands Beach Resort is located on 41 pristine acres of property and 2500 feet of ocean front on Cox Bay. Adjacent to the Pacific Rim National Park all suites and Luxury Beach Houses offer spectacular ocean or beach front views, mesmerizing sunsets and breathtaking storm watching. A walk to Pettinger Point is a must. Enjoy unrivaled culinary splendors at one of Tofino's many restaurants. Adventure tours of the Clayoquot Sound, beach combing and surfing are the most popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pacific Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Sands Beach Hotel Tofino
Pacific Sands Beach Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing