We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but cost dictates it should be perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good but cost dictates it should be perfect”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at this resort for 3 nights recently, and while being highly impressed by the beachside apartment we had, I can not give it 5 stars purely due to several problems. I will start with the positives- everything was very clean and tidy, the view from the windows was fantastic, and there was a lot of room. It was very quiet and comfortable, and the barbecue put on by the hotel on the last day was good and tasty.

However, as the title suggests, you expect nigh-on perfection to come with a high price, but our beach house had a couple of problems. Firstly and most bizarrely was a problem with the locks on doors- the lock to one bedroom did not actually lock the door, and another lock decided to refuse to unlock itself on the last day, temporarily locking me in the toilet. How hard is it to put a lock on a door that works? Another problem was the terrible wifi- there were multiple connections, none of which were at all reliable, and this is really hard to understand in such an upmarket resort. We also found the pillows to be too soft, meaning your head completely flattened them with ease.

Otherwise the place was very good but I have explained why I cannot give it 5 stars and claim it is perfect.

Room Tip: We were in beach house 27. There is a great view from here, and I would assume any of the previous o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TShillam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backroom, General Manager at Pacific Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Tshillam, thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Pacific Sands Beach Resort we appreciate your patronage.
Concerning the issues you experienced regarding the locks, occasionally due to certain levels of humidity static keys will demagnetize requiring reprogramming and our sincerely apologies for the inconvenience of the sticky lock on the bathroom door in Beach House 27. It has been repaired. Also for future, we do have firmer or additional pillows as a request always.
As for the internet service, unfortunately the company that serves our location in Tofino has a small bandwidth that is frequently over striped by demand. It is our understanding that much of Tofino experiences this same issue. We have invested considerable sums to provide numerous signal transfer stations to improve the feed we receive and are continuing to maximize capabilities of the service (or lack of) available in the area. Fiber optics will be installed in Tofino in 2016 and hopefully the service will be remedied at that time.
Please accept our concern that your stay was interrupted by these deficiencies, our aim will always be to provide an immaculate stay for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,358
    381
    86
    32
    12
See reviews for
654
860
33
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in of the 'beach houses'. I have to say that the accommodation was very comfortable, clean and relaxing. There were great views, plenty of natural light and the house was well-equipped with a kitchen and spacious bath, which had a scenic view of Cox Bay. The hotel barbecue was good and a guided walk we went on was informative and well worth it.

Several reasons contribute to the resort not getting 5 stars. Given the price we didn't expect problems such as faulty key cards, very slow or sometimes non-existent wifi and a mistake with the bill. However, these weren't major disturbances, so overall, I would recommend this place, although the price may put you off.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamS97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backroom, General Manager at Pacific Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear SamS97, thank you for your review and for staying with us at Pacific Sands Beach Resort.
We regret that you felt your stay was less than perfect and apologize for the issues you experienced.
On occasion, due to certain levels of humidity and static keys unfortunately will demagnetize.
As for the internet service, unfortunately the company that serves our location in Tofino has a small bandwidth that is frequently over striped by demand. It is our understanding that much of Tofino experiences this same issue. We have invested considerable sums to provide numerous signal transfer stations to improve the feed we receive and are continuing to maximize capabilities of the service (or lack of) available in the area. Fiber optics will be installed in Tofino in 2016 and hopefully the service will be remedied at that time. Needless to say we share your frustration but hope your experience to Clayoquot Sound was otherwise enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed in a beachfront suite, which was very comfortable for a family of four (2 kids under 12). The view was spectacular, the service very friendly, the amenities adequate, and the hotel is close to town (10 min drive). Loved the board games, DVDs, etc. that kept us occupied when we were not exploring the beach or rainforest. Great bunch of casual restaurants (Tacofino, Wildside Grill, Chocolate Tofino) are very close as is the Pacific Rim park. Kids loved boogie-boarding; need wetsuits from same restaurant complex.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bombaymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great place with clean, updated rooms. We got a last minute special and only stayed one night. Would have stayed much longer if we could as it has lots of casual events like summer walks and marshmallow roast. Staff was friendly and resort was bright and well maintained. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JellyfishWhalesBreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked the 2 bedroom beach house and it was perfect. We are a couple with 26 old month son. The beach houses are well maintained, comfortable beds and bathrooms. It was our first time to Canada, Vancouver Island. As we read about Tofino, we thought it would be smart to take some grocery shopping from Vancouver. But Tofino has a great supermarket with a good range of fresh fruit, vegetable and breads. Also a lot of places where you can go for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It is only 10 minutes drive from the hotel. We also rented the bikes. On our arrival day we did not want to cook so we walked to the Long Beach Hotel, next to Pacific Sands. It is only 5 minutes if you walk along the beach. Great food!

I would like to give some attention about curtains in bedroom. This is for the beach houses so not for other rooms. The master bedroom has roller blind but not for entirely windows. If you stay in summer be aware that it will be very light in your room from 04.30 am. The second bedroom had roller blinds covering whole window, but they do not black out. Therefore our son was totally wake up at 5 in the morning. As we are frequent travellers we are aware of this problem, so we covered his window with black garbage bags. It is not a big problem, but I only would like to mention it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CRokers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here a wee while ago with the family during storm season. We had a beachfront townhouse and while not cheap, it was worth the extra spend. For 2 adults and 2 kids, there was a lot of space and no feeling of being underfoot. The kitchen, l.room and overall layout, and quality were super. While there isn't much in amenities, just look out the windows and go from there. If you love the sound of the sea with crashing waves and stunning views, look no further. I'll be back with the fam for sure! Note, for food options, Tofino is a short drive and offers gobs of options. It does require a dedicated driver if you have a few wobbly pops but it's a small price to pay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a great place for a family or as a couple or solo. Right on Cox Bay it is outside the Pacific Rim National Preserve so park permits are not required to (park your car) stay here. This resort is very well maintained and is easy on the pocketbook. Feel pampered and well taken care of without breaking the bank. The kitchenettes are well-stocked and so convenient. The resort hosts a Gazebo buffet (Wednesday & Saturday) with Red Can catering that it out of this world delicious - highly recommend. And there is a nice hike/walk out Pettinger Pointe to watch the sunset across Chesterman Beach. We loved our week long vacation here. An amazing place close enough to Tofino and the small town bustle of restaurants and coffee shops, but far enough away to escape. The only reason I gave it 4 of 5 stars was because the queen sized bed was a bit cramped and house-keeping a bit too early (8:30 am) on some mornings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.7 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
2.5 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
308 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
0.1 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Sands Beach Resort

Property: Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Address: 1421 Pacific Rim Hwy. | Box 237, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Tofino
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#4 Family Hotel in Tofino
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Sands Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Sands Beach Resort is located on 41 pristine acres of property and 2500 feet of ocean front on Cox Bay. Adjacent to the Pacific Rim National Park all suites and Luxury Beach Houses offer spectacular ocean or beach front views, mesmerizing sunsets and breathtaking storm watching. A walk to Pettinger Point is a must. Enjoy unrivaled culinary splendors at one of Tofino's many restaurants. Adventure tours of the Clayoquot Sound, beach combing and surfing are the most popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pacific Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Sands Beach Hotel Tofino
Pacific Sands Beach Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing