We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family-friendly suites on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed in a beachfront suite, which was very comfortable for a family of four (2 kids under 12). The view was spectacular, the service very friendly, the amenities adequate, and the hotel is close to town (10 min drive). Loved the board games, DVDs, etc. that kept us occupied when we were not exploring the beach or rainforest. Great bunch of casual restaurants (Tacofino, Wildside Grill, Chocolate Tofino) are very close as is the Pacific Rim park. Kids loved boogie-boarding; need wetsuits from same restaurant complex.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bombaymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,033)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,321 - 1,327 of 2,034 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great place with clean, updated rooms. We got a last minute special and only stayed one night. Would have stayed much longer if we could as it has lots of casual events like summer walks and marshmallow roast. Staff was friendly and resort was bright and well maintained. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JellyfishWhalesBreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked the 2 bedroom beach house and it was perfect. We are a couple with 26 old month son. The beach houses are well maintained, comfortable beds and bathrooms. It was our first time to Canada, Vancouver Island. As we read about Tofino, we thought it would be smart to take some grocery shopping from Vancouver. But Tofino has a great supermarket with a good range of fresh fruit, vegetable and breads. Also a lot of places where you can go for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It is only 10 minutes drive from the hotel. We also rented the bikes. On our arrival day we did not want to cook so we walked to the Long Beach Hotel, next to Pacific Sands. It is only 5 minutes if you walk along the beach. Great food!

I would like to give some attention about curtains in bedroom. This is for the beach houses so not for other rooms. The master bedroom has roller blind but not for entirely windows. If you stay in summer be aware that it will be very light in your room from 04.30 am. The second bedroom had roller blinds covering whole window, but they do not black out. Therefore our son was totally wake up at 5 in the morning. As we are frequent travellers we are aware of this problem, so we covered his window with black garbage bags. It is not a big problem, but I only would like to mention it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CRokers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here a wee while ago with the family during storm season. We had a beachfront townhouse and while not cheap, it was worth the extra spend. For 2 adults and 2 kids, there was a lot of space and no feeling of being underfoot. The kitchen, l.room and overall layout, and quality were super. While there isn't much in amenities, just look out the windows and go from there. If you love the sound of the sea with crashing waves and stunning views, look no further. I'll be back with the fam for sure! Note, for food options, Tofino is a short drive and offers gobs of options. It does require a dedicated driver if you have a few wobbly pops but it's a small price to pay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a great place for a family or as a couple or solo. Right on Cox Bay it is outside the Pacific Rim National Preserve so park permits are not required to (park your car) stay here. This resort is very well maintained and is easy on the pocketbook. Feel pampered and well taken care of without breaking the bank. The kitchenettes are well-stocked and so convenient. The resort hosts a Gazebo buffet (Wednesday & Saturday) with Red Can catering that it out of this world delicious - highly recommend. And there is a nice hike/walk out Pettinger Pointe to watch the sunset across Chesterman Beach. We loved our week long vacation here. An amazing place close enough to Tofino and the small town bustle of restaurants and coffee shops, but far enough away to escape. The only reason I gave it 4 of 5 stars was because the queen sized bed was a bit cramped and house-keeping a bit too early (8:30 am) on some mornings.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have stayed here several times mostly because it's so close to the beautiful beach and the setting and atmosphere are amazing! The rooms are furnished with higher end furniture. Nice kitchenettes with everything you need to cook your family a meal. Very clean. Lovely grass around property (we live in Arizona so the grass is nice to see). We will be back many times to come.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betojefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Beachfront room with fireplace, which you will need even in the summer, fully stocked kitchen, separate bedroom. Overall quiet, clean. Pacific Sands doesn't have many amenities but the outdoors takes up your day with hiking, enjoying the large beaches and the surf. Staff was very helpful and friendly. There is no onsite restaurant but its a short drive to many options in Tofino and the hotel does offer coffee and limited pastries. Nice patio to read and relax, large fire pit BBQ with special events during the week in the summer. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a beachfront on the end of the building, quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
2 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
1.3 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Sands Beach Resort

Address: 1421 Pacific Rim Hwy. | Box 237, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#3 Green Hotel in Tofino
#4 Family Hotel in Tofino
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: $173 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Sands Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Sands Beach Resort is located on 41 pristine acres of property and 2500 feet of ocean front on Cox Bay. Adjacent to the Pacific Rim National Park all suites and Luxury Beach Houses offer spectacular ocean or beach front views, mesmerizing sunsets and breathtaking storm watching. A walk to Pettinger Point is a must. Enjoy unrivaled culinary splendors at one of Tofino's many restaurants. Adventure tours of the Clayoquot Sound, beach combing and surfing are the most popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pacific Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Sands Beach Hotel Tofino
Pacific Sands Beach Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing