We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive but worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed in delux two bedroom, three bathroom, condo on the ocean. The unit was beautiful with every ammenity. We go at "storm season" as we can not afford more popular times. We always love it, and will continue to return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCBridefamily123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,948)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,335 - 1,341 of 1,948 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

I hadn't been back to Pacific Sands since the remodel and want to report that it is still a wonderful place to stay and offers great value for families. We were on the main floor with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a kitchen, living room, and small patio - all this plus a great view of the ocean. Travelling with three generations - including an infant - was super easy in this friendly resort with its direct access to a wonderful beach and nature path. We went for storm watching and got sun, the weather here is so unpredictable. I also appreciate the friendly staff, and I like the other guests - they're quiet and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was our sixth stay at the Pacific Sands Resort - and it was FABULOUS as ever! We've always chosen this resort for the great service, excellent staff and location - beach front on Cox Bay and close to town. We had a wonderful view of the beach from our second floor lodge suite. We stayed for 5 nights, the suite was very cozy including full kitchen, nice gas fireplace and wide screen TV with a player for video. They are not kidding when they say you can have all the popcorn and movies you want. We ate almost two bags a day along with loads of coffee and hot chocolate - a nice treat at the end and start of the day. We want to thank the staff for a wonderful visit and can't wait to come back!!! Downside: There is no restaurant - but it would be hard to beat Sobo's (absolutely yummy) restaurant in downtown Tofino!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DangerGirl_KM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was our third stay at the Pacific Sands Resort and we chose this resort because of the great location right on Cox Bay. We had a lovely second floor suite which afforded great views of the beach. The suite was comfortable and well-appointed including full kitchen facilities, fireplace and wide screen TV with a DVD player. A wide selection of CDs is available for loan from in the main lobby. We had two complaints - the very small bathroom and the extremely uncomfortable bed. The bed was extremely hard, just a mattress on a plywood base which made for very sore backs. Fortunately the sofa in the main salon was comfortable. Based on this latest experience, we will not be back.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bonniegirl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacificsands, Manager at Pacific Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Helga R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy that you agree that our Resort truly is in a magnificent setting.
Thank you for making a comment regarding our beds, we are in the process of purchasing new mattress' with pillow top that will feel like you are sleeping on a cloud. We are all excited to have these in all of our rooms and we look forward to future guest comments.
I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Lara Kemps
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was our 3rd time at Pacific Sands, but the first time in the Beach Houses. These are joined, 2 storey suites that are available in 2 or 3 bedroom. The view is spectacular from the living room and master bedroom. There are ensuite bathrooms for each bedroom. Kitchen is well equipped. I agree with a recent reviewer that the bed was uncomfortable and does not reflect good value for the rates being charged. The beach house master bedroom also have a beautiful soaker tub overlooking the beach. It also has a washer and dryer, full size fridge, stove and dishwasher, flat screen tv's for living room and each bedroom and also has a DVD player in living room and in the 2nd bedroom.

At this time of year, there are storm season special packages with reduced prices and complimentary espresso drinks, popcorn and hot chocolate.

There are several propane BBQ's for guest use, rain jackets, complimentary daily newspapers, free use of board games, DVD's, food convenience items including frozen entrees for sale.

All service employees were very friendly. They even worked around our schedule and returned to clean the room at a later time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaelonthecoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Lighthouse suites affordable in off season. Well appointed kitchens, fireplace, great view of crashing waves. Terrific closed in public gazebo with open fire pit and BBq's close to water. Dog friendly with towels, outside shower and biscuits for fido.
Book upper floor as noisy if on lower floor. Reception has groceries for purchase, movies and a great espresso bar. Private beach terrific for walking, surfing, dogs.
Only 7 km from downtown restaurants. Staff very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELES ESCAPE B a... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I came here for our 20th wedding anniversary. We stayed in the Sunset Point room, which was a studio suite with a jacuzzi on the balcony. The room was clean and well appointed. You are paying for the spectacular view. The jacuzzi had a few jets that didn't function, but it was very nice to relax after a walk in the cool weather to warm your bones and watch waves. The bed itself was not comfortable, for a similar price per night at a Fairmont, you sleep on a cloud. The mattress was hard and if your partner moves a lot, you move a lot as well. The bedding was nice, down duvet and cozy with extra blankets tucked in the room. There is no restaurant, we had to walk down the beach in the dark to the Longbeach lodge for a bite to eat. You can get lattes and coffees in the reception area. You do have a kitchen, so i guess the assumption is that you will cook. We found out during checkout that we could have had a light breakfast delivered in the morning, but were not told this at check in. Overall,, we had a fabulous time and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalenawalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
2.0 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
2.5 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
328 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
0.1 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Sands Beach Resort

Address: 1421 Pacific Rim Hwy. | Box 237, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Tofino
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#4 Family Hotel in Tofino
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: $201 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Sands Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Sands Beach Resort is located on 41 pristine acres of property and 2500 feet of ocean front on Cox Bay. Adjacent to the Pacific Rim National Park all suites and Luxury Beach Houses offer spectacular ocean or beach front views, mesmerizing sunsets and breathtaking storm watching. A walk to Pettinger Point is a must. Enjoy unrivaled culinary splendors at one of Tofino's many restaurants. Adventure tours of the Clayoquot Sound, beach combing and surfing are the most popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pacific Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Sands Beach Hotel Tofino
Pacific Sands Beach Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing