We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay in Tofino”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay in Tofino”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was our first visit to the Pacific Sands at Tofino and after this if we did return to Tofino then we would stay here. Plenty of space and comfortable with a great view of the beach. It didn't matter when it rained because we could still watch the surfers who were out in all weathers. The kitchen was great for what we needed, pizza (great from Red Can Gourmet foods) and breakfast. The housekeeping staff were always friendly every day. We did not take advantage of the BBQ but ate out at Shelter (good meal) and the Spotted Bear (also recommended).

Would recommend the Pacific Sands to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillybeans88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,335
    374
    86
    30
    12
See reviews for
635
854
33
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Pacific Sands Beach Resort many times over many years and every time we go we marvel at the spectacular scenery right out of our door. Rain or shine!
There is something so peaceful and restoring about walking on the beach right outside your door listening to the pounding waves. The sunsets are another treat!
The accomodations are spotlessly clean and the kitchens are very well equipped.We have always found the staff friendly and welcoming and always willing to go the extra mile. Minutes away in Tofino there are many restaurants if you don't wish to cook for yourself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OMB7939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Great location, good sized rooms, friendly and knowledgeable staff, very peaceful atmosphere and good value.

Continental breakfast is brought to your room in a bag and was basic but delicious. Good range of restaurants in the area (including a couple within walking distance, though the rest are in town) mean that it's easy to eat out in the evenings if you wish.

Kitchen in my suite was fine for just me, but would have been a bit small if we'd have had two people in the king-sized bed and one or two people staying in the sofa bed as well. Cooking would have been OK, but the space was a bit cramped for washing up and there was no dishwasher.

That said, this is a minor nit and I greatly enjoyed my stay. The walks on the beach were super and there's a great lookout point on the property for the sunsets, which were a non-event one night and spectacular the next.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_S_Hunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our first trip to Pacific Sands was in 1992 and it has managed to maintain its' special feeling of quiet, privacy and restoration in our busy world. We have stayed there with our 4 children in the early years and with one or two since then. We have stayed in every type of accommodation offered and they have all been clean and comfortable.
We appreciated the coffee bar and grocery items available during our most recent visit.
Every few years we need to touch base with Cox Bay and leave feeling refreshed and ready to re enter the busy world we live in.
Thank you for maintaining a special place for us to return to and not turning it into a busy resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ontheroadagain2for2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was our first trip to Tofino. We were awed by the scenery driving along Long Beach and Pacific Rim National Reserve and it continued right to our room. When we arrived at Pacific Sands we were very impressed with the cleanliness of the grounds. Our room was spotless when we entered. The staff went out of their way to be friendly, even offering to help us with our luggage. They made us feel like we were home from the moment we stepped out of the car. We had hoped to get a Beachfront room but ended up in a lighthouse suite. We were not at all disappointed. The view from our room was spectacular. We hated to leave so much that 2 days after we checked out we re-arranged the remainder of our vacation and returned to Pacific Sands to finish our vacation.

Room Tip: Views of the ocean from the Lighthouse Suites is just as nice as those from the Beachfront Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Had another fantastic stay in one of their Beach Houses. Great for the family. Kids had their own room. Dog loved the heated floors. Great view of the beach and surf. Nice to see Tofino Coffee in the rooms and the JBL docking stations for iPods. Great size kitchen and towels for the dog after a walk on the beach. They also had a spot to rinse the dog off outside with a preset nozzle and warm water. Great idea!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our recent stay at this resort was wonderful.
Oceanview , lots of beach to walk and close to Tofino....that's what we were after and this resort delivered! Oceanviews from the bedroom, livingroom and kitchen as well as the balcony meant we could watch the surfers anytime. The kitchen was well equipped and beds comfortable. Everything was very clean and inviting....we give this resort a"two thumbs up"

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canuckcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.7 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
2.5 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Sands Beach Resort

Property: Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Address: 1421 Pacific Rim Hwy. | Box 237, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Tofino
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#4 Family Hotel in Tofino
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Sands Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Sands Beach Resort is located on 41 pristine acres of property and 2500 feet of ocean front on Cox Bay. Adjacent to the Pacific Rim National Park all suites and Luxury Beach Houses offer spectacular ocean or beach front views, mesmerizing sunsets and breathtaking storm watching. A walk to Pettinger Point is a must. Enjoy unrivaled culinary splendors at one of Tofino's many restaurants. Adventure tours of the Clayoquot Sound, beach combing and surfing are the most popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pacific Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Sands Beach Hotel Tofino
Pacific Sands Beach Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing