We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B on the beach”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chesterman Beach Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 41 Tofino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Of all the B&Bs we stayed in during our three week visit to Canada this had the most amazing location - right on the beach in Tofino. We had the Lookout Suite which enabled us to do just that - look out onto the beach ...if only the weather had been a little kinder it would have been perfect! The room is very well designed if a little small with a good bathroom and a good sized outside deck.

Our hosts made us feel very welcome and this set up is designed for the ultimate in privacy. I feel sure that if you put your mind to it you could be entirely private and not see anyone for your whole visit. The breakfast option is very good and Linda produces very healthy offerings that are a little different to the standard bed and breakfast fare. We enjoyed buying and eating fresh steamed crab from the little fish shop in Tofino, and had a good meal at the Schooner restaurant. We thought the whale watching a little over-rated ( Grey whales are not that easy to see ) but the trip to see black bears was outstanding. Most of all we enjoyed walks on the beaches and in the rainforest despite the rain!

We enjoy the social nature of B&Bs so for us this was a little isolationist, and also compared to the other B&Bs we stayed at I thought this a little expensive overall - although it does reflect the location. Still an excellent choice for something a little different in Tofino.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Robinhood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 476 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2008

My husband and I loved staying in the Garden Cottage. It is equipped with a kitchen which we used for romantic dinners after a long day of touring the Pacific Rim National Park. If you like privacy, then book the Garden Cottage. Todd or Lynda brought us breakfast every morning and my husband and I loved every bit! The food is incredible and Todd is very good at recommending places to go and to eat. He even told us about a great little fresh seafood shop that has delictable "candied salmon". If you have never tried it, do....you will love it. The beach is beautiful you will not want to leave it. On the other hand, Tofino was not one of our favorite places to visit. Very touristy. Stay at Chesterman Beach or tour Ucluelet and the Pacific Rim National Park, you will be a lot happier.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jegaPentwater_Mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

My husband and I went for 4 days this July after our daughter and her husband eloped there in June! We stayed in the Lookout room. It was fantastic! The room truly "looks out" onto the ocean.Lynda made us feel welcome and comfortable. The room was great! We loved the cute bathroom and unique tub/shower! We plan on returning in a year or two. Fantastic!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tr00persmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

We just returned from our stay in the Ocean Breeze suite at Chesterman Beach Bed and Breakfast during July 7-14 2008. What a spectacular find! The suite has a stunning view from many angles that overlooks the ocean and surfers. The better part is that one can become part of this special ambient in a matter of five steps. Whether you decide to enjoy the comfort of the cottage or hit the beach, this B & B is truly a 5*. The hosts, Lynda and Todd, take extra care to accommodate your needs providing privacy and comfort. The best way to describe Chesterman Beach Bed and Breakfast is a cottage situated on the coast of Hawaii. Absolutely remarkable and a big Aloha goes out to Lynda and Todd for creating such a place here in Canada!! Renee and Peter.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TrumanEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

We stayed at the Chesterman Beach B&B for three nights in March. We stayed in the Garden Cottage which we very highly recommend. From the minute we arrived we felt very much at home. Todd was extremely hospitable and available at any time of day or night even when we locked ourselves out at 3am! If there was anything we ever needed, Todd was at his best. Whether it was rain gear, firewood, beach chairs or even a great spot to picnic while watching whales, he came through.

The Garden Cottage was very comfortable and quaint. We loved the rustic charm of the decor. The bed was the most comfortable we have ever enjoyed. The kitchen was fully stocked with all the essentials and we were able to enjoy delicious home cooked meals every night. We found that half the things we brought we didn't even need to pack. They supplied us with candles, flashlights, binoculars, corkscrews, tea, hot chocolate and a full entertainment system! We decided to forego the tv which you would likely want to do yourselves, to better enjoy your time together.

We loved that we were in a private location and away from the main house. When we asked Todd about our nighttime volume levels, he encouraged us to take advantage of the loud stereo system since the sound of the ocean peacefully drowned out any noise. There were other guests there but you would not even know it. It is a small, private place located right on beautiful Chesterman Beach. We had the opportunity to view the two other suites before we left and we found them both stunning. The Ocean View suite had great views of the waves as far as you can see, a large kitchen, spacious bedrooms and a steam room.

We will definitely return to the Garden Cottage. We loved that it is isolated in its own private garden with a fully furnished wooden patio. The beach and surrounding areas are stunning regardless of the weather, and believe me we experienced every kind of weather possible! Snow, hail, sun or rain: there's no such thing as bad weather in Tofino!

If you want to visit the most beautiful beach in the world, visit Todd and Linda at Chesterman Beach B&B! And to think, we almost went back to Mexico!

Thanks for a wonderful time Todd and Linda. We will see you again!

Love Jackie and Ian

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank parisbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days. We went specifically to watch the winter storms, but the best storm didn't roll in until the day we left (typical).
The accomodations were better than we expected, and we were both in awe of the fact that we were in such a fantastic place at such a great price,
The 2 bedroom suite we stayed in was huge!
The beds were very comfortable, we tried both. We each had a comfy robe (provided) to curl up in too.
The bathroom had it's own sauna, which we used many times, follwed by a trip out into the cool night air on our own private verrandah. Then off to the sunroom where we lit many , many tealights ( all provided by the owners of the b&b), and with soft music coming from the cd player, it was all soooo romantic!
We took our own rain gear, but that too, is provided if you need it.
Our suite had a private entrance as well, complete with a shower outside for your feet.
We took advantage of the full kitchen (no dishwasher though), and I'm glad we had it because we were hard pressed to find any restaurant food that satiated us, and we aren't picky eaters....but to each his own.
The beach is beautiful, and there are people out there surfing everyday, even in the snow!
Overall, this was one of the most romantic vacations we had ever been on, and so relaxing!
Definately give this one a try.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auntelsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

I grew up in Tofino, righf on the beach. I had recently travelled back with my boyfriend and wanted a sanctuary where i didn't have to stay with my parents. We staying in the Ocean Breeze suite. It was abosolutely phenomenoel. The most beautiful place. Amazing sun room. If you are going i reccomend the breakfast option, the food was very well done. They provide you with rain gear so its nice even if its raining to walk the sandy beach. I would reccomend this to anybody wanting a sucluded sanctuary at the beach to enjoy time to yourself. BEAUTIFUL!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hernameislola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.8 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,088 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
3 mi away
Tofino Travellers Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesterman Beach Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesterman Beach Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1345 Chesterman Beach Rd. | Box 72, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range: $72 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Chesterman Beach b&b
Chesterman Beach Hotel Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing