We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peace and quiet on a spectacular beach”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chesterman Beach Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 41 Tofino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a very inviting, small, and quiet place located directly on a spectacular beach. There are just three suites – two in the main house and a separate garden cottage. The Lookout Suite is on the second floor and has a sweeping view of the beach and ocean. The suite is rustic and cozy, with a recliner, small couch, and side table. Kitchenette has a microwave, small fridge, teapot, etc (no sink). No TV, which to us is a big plus. Only downside is a lower ceiling height in the bathroom, but I’m six feet and generally do fine. You bathe in a “soaker” tub with a hand-held nozzle, versus a full bathtub; it’s kind of quirky but fine for a short vacation.

You don’t spend much/any time with the other guests and may not even see them. If you order breakfast, it’s delivered on a tray to a waiting spot outside your room and a phone call lets you know it’s ready. The proprietors Todd and Lynda strike a great balance of being there to answer questions or just chat while also valuing your privacy.

Chesterman Beach itself is pretty wonderful. There’s a great distance between high and low tides. The light and wind conditions are always changing and make for some beautiful vistas, especially when the fog rolls in or around dusk. We love to just walk, or sit on the beach and watch the waves, the walkers, the dogs, and the occasional bald eagle.

Tofino is a good base for sea kayaking or short hikes. It’s a major surfing destination; I took a half-day intro to surfing class and had a blast. The town also has some good restaurants with local seafood. (We’re big fans of BC wines, which we have a hard time finding in the states.)

We like to explore new places and rarely return to the same vacation spot twice, but this was our second trip to Chesterman Beach B&B and as we checked out we made a reservation for a third visit next year. Great place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank denver_mg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 470 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

Chesterman Beach B&B was absolutely perfect! The ocean breeze suite was beautifully decorated, comfortable and super clean. Todd and Lynda were so kind and thoughtful and were more than happy to help us with anything we needed. Lynda's breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented. We also enjoyed Todd's amazing photography displayed throughout the suite.

The suite fit all 6 of us (4 adults and 2 kids ages 5 and 7) very comfortably. We loved being just steps away from the beach. They had boogie boards and a surf board for us to use and a warm outdoor shower to rinse off. We also enjoyed the chairs on the beach and the fire pit every evening.

I read all the glowing reviews before booking this place and they more than exceeded all my expectations. I have already recommended this place to my friends and family. I cannot say enough good things about this place! Thanks Todd and Lynda, for making our stay so enjoyable and comfortable!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights. The room is on the beach and walking the beach was something we did every day. For those not familiar with Tofino the beach is several miles long and from 50-300 feet deep. We were in the lookout suite. It had a small kitchenette (microwave, fridge, no sink) so we could have breakfast no problem. Dishes were cleared and washed everyday so not having a sink was not a big deal. The suite had a shelf with helpful books plus a CD player, no TV which was a plus.
Bathroom has a step down and low ceiling so needs a bit of getting used to.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 643retiredguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I are already planning our next trip to Tofino. We stayed in "The Lookout" suite for four nights, and it was perfect. Our view was incredible (even more gorgeous than the photos on their website). Todd and Lynda were very helpful and offered delicious suggestions for meals (all of ours were amazing). They even made reservations for our dinner and bear watching boat trip. On the last day we enjoyed Lynda's heavenly breakfast on our porch. We loved our walks and beach-combing (I've never seen so many starfish) on Chesterman Beach. Thank you, Todd and Lynda!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I feel in love with this bed and breakfast in Tofino, we will definitely be back!! The location is great and "ocean breeze suite" is decorated exquisitely. The kitchen is well appointed, and the sunroom is a great place to read a book and relax. The view from the back porch is great and Todd was very helpful!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Juliachunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay with Todd and Lynda. The location is truly fabulous. We had 'The Lookout' - the view is stupendous, with a clear view of Chesterman Beach and the sea. Everything about the accommodations were efficient, clean, comfortable, and considerate. Besides, Todd and Lynda are open and friendly, but only if you initiate contact - otherwise they leave you alone! Not only that - they do the dishes so that you can have a real vacation. We intend to return soon!

Room Tip: For couples the best value is The Lookout. But the two-bedroom suite is also great if you can share...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our family of 4 (kids aged 7 & 10) had the most wonderful weekend on the west coast and this accommodation was perfect! It was very clean, full of beauty and character, the property fabulous and the beach access and experience the best! The owners are so very helpful and respectful. We spent one night in the 2 bedroom beach front suite and it was absolutely gorgeous. The other 2 nights we were in the garden cottage and it was so full of character and really was a great place for our family to spend time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.8 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,077 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
327 reviews
0.2 mi away
BriMar Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesterman Beach Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesterman Beach Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1345 Chesterman Beach Rd. | Box 72, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range: $72 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Chesterman Beach Hotel Tofino
Chesterman Beach b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing