We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tofino's hidden jem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chesterman Beach Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 42 Tofino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tofino's hidden jem”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The only thing we would've liked to change during our stay in the Garden Cottage at Chesterman Beach was the length of our stay. Unfortunately we only spent one night, but to honest there's no amount of time that would've been long enough. Todd and Lynda were incredibly welcoming and accommodating and ensured that we were provided with everything to enjoy our stay to the fullest. If you are looking for a cozy & blissful hidden oasis just steps away from the ocean, this is where you want to stay!

cheers

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMR_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    8
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
91
267
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed in the Garden Cottage for two nights, and it was definitely not enough - we wanted to stay forever! The interior is so cozy and beautifully decorated. Despite the fact that it is a bit on the small side, it had the perfect amount of furniture without feeling cluttered. The kitchen came fully stocked with a stove, microwave, fridge/freezer and coffeemaker/grinder which was wonderful to make your own breakfast in. All of the stunning photos in the cottage are taken and printed by one of the owners Todd.
As soon as we arrived Todd greeted us outside. He asked if it was our first visit, which it was, so he immediately walked us to the beach (only 15 seconds from where you park your car) and explained the surroundings to us. He then gave us recommendations on places to visit, where to eat, and fun things to do. This was very much appreciated for someone who has never visited a small island town before.
Todd & Lynda have the perfect balance of making themselves available while also giving you all the privacy you desire. They stayed out of our way the entire time, but told us how to contact them if we ever needed anything. Since the cottage doesn't include breakfast we bought food but forgot to buy ketchup... which they lent to us and let us keep for the duration of our stay. This was such a small gesture but again, it was very much appreciated!
I couldn't possibly rave about this place enough. None of the photos or reviews of it do it any justice. The location couldn't be better, the service is unrivalled, and the buildings and interior are absolutely beautiful. If you are ever visiting Tofino do yourself a favour and stay at this Bed & Breakfast. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAleonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent 3 nights there in dDecember for our honeymoon. We were upgraded from the cottage to the Beach Suite and served champagne as a welcome. Can't beat that! The suite was an oasis on the beach and the cottage was lovely cozy, roomy nest . All well equiped for doing anything or enttertaining a family of 6! Thankyou!
Jacqueline and Roger

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We just spent a glorious weekend at Chesterman Beach B&B. We stayed in the Ocean Breezes Suite along with our good friends.The setting on the beach is heavenly. The suite is a perfect blend of rustic and elegance. There is plenty of room for two couples in this suite. It is beautifully decorated, comfortable, well equipped and absolutely spotless. The hosts are helpful with ideas about local restaurants and things to do. The breakfasts are scrumptious. It is a great place to kick back, relax and visit with friends, with a world class beach and scenery right outside.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed for three days at the Garden Cottage at Chesterman Beach. Was definitely not enough - wanted to stay forever! The Garden Cottage is cozy and comfortable with beautiful photos of the area on the walls that Todd, the owner with his wife Lynda, took himself. Spectacular! I wanted to abscond with them as well! Todd helped to make our visit perfect with his welcoming smile, a map of the area and his offer to contact him if we needed anything. Later we met Lynda who is as engaging as Todd Yes, like we would need anything. The Garden Cottage is fully equipped - from a box of Kleenex and hairdryer in the bathroom, to the comfortable bed, to the kitchen that has everything, and I mean everything. I left Victoria thinking we would eat all our meals at restaurants - why bother with restaurants when you have a fully-equipped kitchen in the warm environment of the Garden Cottage and the Co-Op Store? Can't wait to return, and bring our grandchildren. Like us, they would love the beach which is just steps away from the cottage. Thanks Todd and Lynda for a wonderful stay. Yes - we are safely home now but wish we were back at the Garden Cottage - forever! We'll be back!.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

From the moment we arrived, our stay was heavenly. Todd and Lynda had taken care of every detail, from turning on the heat and having music playing quietly local radio station before we arrived. For us, it was these small details that made Chesterman Beach B & B a cut above most other places we have stayed, as it shows the owners really care about their guests by making them feel as relaxed and pampered as possible. The Ocean Breeze Suite was beautifully appointed andtastefully decorated, and it is literally steps from the beach. The views are fabulous from all of the windows. Pictures on the wall were photos of local scenery and wildlife. The kitchen was well stocked with practically everything needed for food preparation, and it was wonderful to have a dishwasher! Todd told us to call them if we needed anything (and when we did call, they were very gracious and immediately came). Other details: soft, velvety towels in the bathroom, heated tiles on the bathroom floor (divine when you come in from the beach with cold feet!), most lighting throughout on dimmers, comfortable beds, pillows and sofa, fleece throws in the living room, vases with native greenery, a flashlight for going to the beach at night(first place I've stayed where a flashlight was provided for guest use), tin foil and saran wrap in the kitchen, candles and matches in the living room and bathroom. Although there are 2 other units there, we couldn't hear anyone else nor did we see the other guests. It truly felt like our own private oasis in the woods on the beach front. We are already planning to return next year for our Christmas get-away!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I'm overwhelmed by the generosity of kindness, words, time, effort and of course, breakfast. I cannot express in words how full we felt from the moment we arrived till we left. We feel rejuvinated and fresh, ready for another chapter in this journey. We had the pleasure of arriving before a gorgeous sunset,and also had the joy of staying in two of the smaller suites. The house will have to wait till summer surf lessons.
As we were packing to leave I was reading the guest book and was in a full snot cry when time to leave. So I did not and was not able to write anything. But this my friends is and was a gift to give your soul. And that it did. P.s. take all advice for Tofino,,they are all right!

Room Tip: Doesn't matter,,but couples can do either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.9 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.8 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
BriMar Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesterman Beach Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesterman Beach Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chesterman Beach Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1345 Chesterman Beach Rd. | Box 72, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Chesterman Beach b&b
Chesterman Beach Hotel Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing