We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great if you are on a budget!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maquinna Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maquinna Lodge
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Tofino
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great if you are on a budget!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed for two nights in August 2013, was a great place to stay to sleep and get well rested for surfing. This hotel is a good for what you are paying and is close to the water and in the heart of Tofino. The hotel itself is also quite dated. The parking is very limited. The parking lot is an uphill grassy area which was a bit odd.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahJ896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    36
    40
    14
    6
See reviews for
13
47
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Best part of this hotel is the great location and if you ask for a harbor view it is lovely. We decided to get take out and a bottle of wine and eat at the little table in our room overlooking the harbor. Watched the planes taking off and landing and the colors change as the sun set. Beautiful and at a fraction of the cost of the very expensive restaurants! The beds were fine, the bathroom was clean and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Yes it is basic but we were on the go all day so fine for us. There is a dining room on the first floor with tea and coffee and a fridge etc. Would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a harbor view on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicki288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King City, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Central location in downtown Tofino, Close to docks, stores and is very clean, tidy , has comfortable beds and friendly staff = great value for the money
For $70 per night you can't go wrong.?...it's not plush but is good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

After reading a few reviews I was a little hesitant to stay but settled because of the price. This place is very much 'you get what you pay for'. Happy to report that room and bathroom was very clean, however there is no air conditioner, no coffee maker, etc in the rooms. This place is ideal if you just want a place to throw your stuff while you go play outside all day (good for young carefree travelers). If you are a customer who plans on spending more time at your hotel, and have a higher standard of living you wont be happy here.
It is also a GREAT location, right in town, close to grocery store, liquor store, walking distance to all shops and right by the water.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wezembeek-Oppem, Belgium
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Tofino is a place for seeing nature at its best. Seashore, mountains, rain forest. Pacific Rim has it all. this hotel is in a great location to explore th natural wonders which surround it. The rooms could be noisy as the was no sound isolation between the rooms. Reasonable, I guess for a expensive tourist location, but still too much for a basic hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Well, this hotel is quite dated to say the least......prob decorated in 1982 I would guess.
all that aside, the room was very clean, the bathroom sparkled! But if you are going there wanting a nice spa shower, don't get your hopes up, the shower head was a handheld that wouldn't stay on the holder once the water pressure was turned on! As we sat at the end of the bed, it flipped up! But then again the sheets were so crisp they felt as if they had just come off the line outside! So if you are looking for a cheap place to stay in Tofino at high season and just want to explore the beach rather than spend much time in your room, not a bad deal. If you are used to staying in a resort, this may not be the place for you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

A quiet place not very fancy but had all the essentials that need to be there. We booked the harbor facing family room. The rooms were of good size for 3 adults. We could not make the heater work but that was okay for us since it was not so cold. It also does not have the usual bar fridge and tea arrangements that you expect in a hotel room nowadays. That might surprise or put off some visitors. Despite they have a lounge room at the main floor with a community fridge where you can put your food at your own responsibility.The hotel does not have elevator. Otherwise we found it good. We stayed there for 2 nights. Initially we were a little uncomfortable with all the arrangements but gradually got used to it and started liking it. It is like going back to basics renouncing the fanciness that we all are so used to nowadays. The hotel crew were nice and they worked hard as we gathered.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerofLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.4 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
2.2 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 18 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
1.4 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 18 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 stars 928 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maquinna Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maquinna Lodge

Property: Maquinna Lodge
Address: 120 First Street, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Maquinna Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Maquinna Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maquinna Hotel Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing