We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you are on a budget!”
Review of Maquinna Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maquinna Lodge
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed for two nights in August 2013, was a great place to stay to sleep and get well rested for surfing. This hotel is a good for what you are paying and is close to the water and in the heart of Tofino. The hotel itself is also quite dated. The parking is very limited. The parking lot is an uphill grassy area which was a bit odd.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahJ896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 137 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Best part of this hotel is the great location and if you ask for a harbor view it is lovely. We decided to get take out and a bottle of wine and eat at the little table in our room overlooking the harbor. Watched the planes taking off and landing and the colors change as the sun set. Beautiful and at a fraction of the cost of the very expensive restaurants! The beds were fine, the bathroom was clean and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Yes it is basic but we were on the go all day so fine for us. There is a dining room on the first floor with tea and coffee and a fridge etc. Would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a harbor view on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vicki288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Central location in downtown Tofino, Close to docks, stores and is very clean, tidy , has comfortable beds and friendly staff = great value for the money
For $70 per night you can't go wrong.?...it's not plush but is good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

After reading a few reviews I was a little hesitant to stay but settled because of the price. This place is very much 'you get what you pay for'. Happy to report that room and bathroom was very clean, however there is no air conditioner, no coffee maker, etc in the rooms. This place is ideal if you just want a place to throw your stuff while you go play outside all day (good for young carefree travelers). If you are a customer who plans on spending more time at your hotel, and have a higher standard of living you wont be happy here.
It is also a GREAT location, right in town, close to grocery store, liquor store, walking distance to all shops and right by the water.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Tofino is a place for seeing nature at its best. Seashore, mountains, rain forest. Pacific Rim has it all. this hotel is in a great location to explore th natural wonders which surround it. The rooms could be noisy as the was no sound isolation between the rooms. Reasonable, I guess for a expensive tourist location, but still too much for a basic hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Well, this hotel is quite dated to say the least......prob decorated in 1982 I would guess.
all that aside, the room was very clean, the bathroom sparkled! But if you are going there wanting a nice spa shower, don't get your hopes up, the shower head was a handheld that wouldn't stay on the holder once the water pressure was turned on! As we sat at the end of the bed, it flipped up! But then again the sheets were so crisp they felt as if they had just come off the line outside! So if you are looking for a cheap place to stay in Tofino at high season and just want to explore the beach rather than spend much time in your room, not a bad deal. If you are used to staying in a resort, this may not be the place for you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A quiet place not very fancy but had all the essentials that need to be there. We booked the harbor facing family room. The rooms were of good size for 3 adults. We could not make the heater work but that was okay for us since it was not so cold. It also does not have the usual bar fridge and tea arrangements that you expect in a hotel room nowadays. That might surprise or put off some visitors. Despite they have a lounge room at the main floor with a community fridge where you can put your food at your own responsibility.The hotel does not have elevator. Otherwise we found it good. We stayed there for 2 nights. Initially we were a little uncomfortable with all the arrangements but gradually got used to it and started liking it. It is like going back to basics renouncing the fanciness that we all are so used to nowadays. The hotel crew were nice and they worked hard as we gathered.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerofLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1 mi away
Meares Vista Inn
Meares Vista Inn
#14 of 16 in Tofino
46 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
2.4 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
335 reviews
1.4 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maquinna Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maquinna Lodge

Address: 120 First Street, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Price Range: $44 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Maquinna Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maquinna Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maquinna Hotel Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing