We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Clean, but very basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maquinna Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maquinna Lodge
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Tofino
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean, but very basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

After reading a few reviews I was a little hesitant to stay but settled because of the price. This place is very much 'you get what you pay for'. Happy to report that room and bathroom was very clean, however there is no air conditioner, no coffee maker, etc in the rooms. This place is ideal if you just want a place to throw your stuff while you go play outside all day (good for young carefree travelers). If you are a customer who plans on spending more time at your hotel, and have a higher standard of living you wont be happy here.
It is also a GREAT location, right in town, close to grocery store, liquor store, walking distance to all shops and right by the water.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    35
    32
    9
    5
See reviews for
12
40
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wezembeek-Oppem, Belgium
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Tofino is a place for seeing nature at its best. Seashore, mountains, rain forest. Pacific Rim has it all. this hotel is in a great location to explore th natural wonders which surround it. The rooms could be noisy as the was no sound isolation between the rooms. Reasonable, I guess for a expensive tourist location, but still too much for a basic hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Well, this hotel is quite dated to say the least......prob decorated in 1982 I would guess.
all that aside, the room was very clean, the bathroom sparkled! But if you are going there wanting a nice spa shower, don't get your hopes up, the shower head was a handheld that wouldn't stay on the holder once the water pressure was turned on! As we sat at the end of the bed, it flipped up! But then again the sheets were so crisp they felt as if they had just come off the line outside! So if you are looking for a cheap place to stay in Tofino at high season and just want to explore the beach rather than spend much time in your room, not a bad deal. If you are used to staying in a resort, this may not be the place for you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

A quiet place not very fancy but had all the essentials that need to be there. We booked the harbor facing family room. The rooms were of good size for 3 adults. We could not make the heater work but that was okay for us since it was not so cold. It also does not have the usual bar fridge and tea arrangements that you expect in a hotel room nowadays. That might surprise or put off some visitors. Despite they have a lounge room at the main floor with a community fridge where you can put your food at your own responsibility.The hotel does not have elevator. Otherwise we found it good. We stayed there for 2 nights. Initially we were a little uncomfortable with all the arrangements but gradually got used to it and started liking it. It is like going back to basics renouncing the fanciness that we all are so used to nowadays. The hotel crew were nice and they worked hard as we gathered.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerofLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Never had a room so close to the main street and it was very noisy throughout the night. Because there is no air conditioning or fan so the air circulation is poor, feeling NO air in the room. We finally went with open window for air instead, so we had to live with very noisy street until around 11pm. Make sure you bring a hair dryer with you, We paid almost $200 for the family suite only to find out there is no hair dryer in the room .This place is clean and friendly. The old gentleman at the front desk is very nice and helpful. The place feels more like a HOSTEL with view of the harbour; it has a big lounge that has a common fridge, microwave oven, coffee & tea and sugar but NO creamer or coffee mate. Beds are old and soft and my son's bed make a funny noisy each time when he turns. They provide free WIFI but signal comes in and out. There is also a co-op supermarket right on the corner so its very convenient. If I were to stay here again it would be just for the great location.

Stayed Aug 2013, travelled with family

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very friendly staff. Right in the heart of tofino. Staff very friendly. Free parking was awesome! Rooms are in need of a renovation, but size of the rooms are great. Nice feature was a community kitchen if you have your own food. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hammertimem1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The ocean view room had a great view of the dock and harbour. The lounge facilities offered people the chance to bring in their own food. There were lots of restaurants, shops, and galleries nearby. Staff were nice and accommodating. No Mini Fridge in the rooms

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bora_bora_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.4 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
2.4 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#10 of 18 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 18 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 stars 906 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maquinna Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maquinna Lodge

Property: Maquinna Lodge
Address: 120 First Street, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Maquinna Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Maquinna Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maquinna Hotel Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing