We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, terrible house cleaning in the campground!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of MacKenzie Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MacKenzie Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice location, terrible house cleaning in the campground!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Paid $56 for one tent, two adults on the beachfront. Had to pay extra for our kids, the location was great, right on the beachfront. Tent sites were about 10'x 14' and crammed close together, had to walk through neighbors site to get to the beach! Had an outdoor sink for washing, but only had cold water, garbage everywhere, and disgusting insect larva around the wash area! Definitely needs to be better taken care of!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Leigh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    52
    26
    35
    98
See reviews for
78
90
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Black Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We had a really wonderful stay here. We just stayed in one of the suites because we weren't there to experience the room but the beauty of the West Coast. The bed was so comfy & the room super clean. The staff in the office were amazing!! Helpful, polite and kind. The pool and hot tub were busy but clean. We were in suite 8 and could lay in bed & see the ocean & hear the surf. We will definately be back & will probably go with friends the next time & rent a cabin.
A great place to stay for sure.

Room Tip: The suites are tiny but if you're just looking for a plade to rest your head at night it is defi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleyK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed here in early June, the managers created a great atmosphere (younger couple). They were very helpful and kind. However, since having returned last week I have to say I will be taking my business elsewhere. The new Manager (an older lady) was extremely rude and gave the impression that she didn't care about us. As I spoke to other people around the campground it became apparent that we were not the only ones being treated poorly. The prices were more expensive then some of the nicer places in town and I over looked this on my first stay but will not do so again. Hopefully the owners get some new managers or put a bit of time and care into their resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank barbra g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tofino hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We were a group of 7, all adults, three couples. We only had three nights for this trip from Vancouver and wanted to be on the beach. This worked very well.
Cabin #4 is up the hill a bit with a lovely view and you are right on the beach in seconds.

It was comfortable with all the basic amenities. Table sits six but we crowded in for at home breakfasts and one dinner. Customer service was great. We arrived really late at 11:10 pm (about an hour after we said) All was dark but a quick call and she was right there cheerful and apologizing to us. She supplied extra towels and wine glasses and a cork screw upon request and volunteered to come over and scrub our BBQ when she knew we planned to cook out there. Beds were comfy. There is a microwave and regular stove, a coffee maker and pots and dishes.

Worked well for our group

Room Tip: #4 has a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConValerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stopped here and had no plans to stay, however the owner was so nice, and friendly. She gave us the off season rate during peak time. The rooms are not fancy, but they are clean, and have nice linens. It was very quiet and peaceful. Our cabin overlooked the,ocean and it was amazing. It is just steps to the beach. I loved it and would stay again!

Room Tip: Next time I would choose the cabins directly on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

This was our fifth stay at MacKenzie Beach Resort and once again we were not disappointed. Cabins were excellent. Management was helpful and accomodating. We could not have asked for a more beautiful setting as it is located on one of the best beaches in Tofino. Great all around Family Resort on the West Coast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happycamper504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a very comfortable beach front cabin at Mackenzie Beach Resort. Beautiful setting, and an amazing view of the wild west coast from Cabin #4. It was perfect and very clean. We definitely would book again - staff was friendly and cabin was well supplied with a lovely stone fireplace.

Room Tip: Loved Cabin #4 - very private setting and beautiful view of Mackenzie Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.4 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacKenzie Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacKenzie Beach Resort

Property: MacKenzie Beach Resort
Address: 1101 Pacific Rim Highway, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — MacKenzie Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Resort is located on beautiful MacKenzie Beach and has cabins and suites only 2km from town of Tofino. Camping area for tents and RV's. Indoor heated salt water swimming pool and hot tub for guests Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your MacKenzie Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackenzie Beach Hotel Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing