We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MacKenzie Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay on the beach”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We were a group of 7, all adults, three couples. We only had three nights for this trip from Vancouver and wanted to be on the beach. This worked very well.
Cabin #4 is up the hill a bit with a lovely view and you are right on the beach in seconds.

It was comfortable with all the basic amenities. Table sits six but we crowded in for at home breakfasts and one dinner. Customer service was great. We arrived really late at 11:10 pm (about an hour after we said) All was dark but a quick call and she was right there cheerful and apologizing to us. She supplied extra towels and wine glasses and a cork screw upon request and volunteered to come over and scrub our BBQ when she knew we planned to cook out there. Beds were comfy. There is a microwave and regular stove, a coffee maker and pots and dishes.

Worked well for our group

Room Tip: #4 has a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConValerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    53
    26
    35
    98
See reviews for
81
91
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stopped here and had no plans to stay, however the owner was so nice, and friendly. She gave us the off season rate during peak time. The rooms are not fancy, but they are clean, and have nice linens. It was very quiet and peaceful. Our cabin overlooked the,ocean and it was amazing. It is just steps to the beach. I loved it and would stay again!

Room Tip: Next time I would choose the cabins directly on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This was our fifth stay at MacKenzie Beach Resort and once again we were not disappointed. Cabins were excellent. Management was helpful and accomodating. We could not have asked for a more beautiful setting as it is located on one of the best beaches in Tofino. Great all around Family Resort on the West Coast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happycamper504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a very comfortable beach front cabin at Mackenzie Beach Resort. Beautiful setting, and an amazing view of the wild west coast from Cabin #4. It was perfect and very clean. We definitely would book again - staff was friendly and cabin was well supplied with a lovely stone fireplace.

Room Tip: Loved Cabin #4 - very private setting and beautiful view of Mackenzie Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed from May 26-30 2012; great room and fantastic location. Beach is beautiful. Hard working managers keep this older property ship-shape and comfortable. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Never seen washrooms and showers this dirty! The price was very high, internet did not work even though there was a charge. Will do better research next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank WLTrailrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tofino hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Beautiful old cabins right on the beach. It's rustic, but nice especially if you're looking for some peace and quiet in a beautiful place. A must to check out when in Tofino.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tar42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.3 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacKenzie Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacKenzie Beach Resort

Property: MacKenzie Beach Resort
Address: 1101 Pacific Rim Highway, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — MacKenzie Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Resort is located on beautiful MacKenzie Beach and has cabins and suites only 2km from town of Tofino. Camping area for tents and RV's. Indoor heated salt water swimming pool(which is currently down for repairs) and hot tub for guests Resort & camping open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your MacKenzie Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackenzie Beach Hotel Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing