We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Coast Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MacKenzie Beach Resort
Ranked #18 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a very comfortable beach front cabin at Mackenzie Beach Resort. Beautiful setting, and an amazing view of the wild west coast from Cabin #4. It was perfect and very clean. We definitely would book again - staff was friendly and cabin was well supplied with a lovely stone fireplace.

Room Tip: Loved Cabin #4 - very private setting and beautiful view of Mackenzie Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 318 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed from May 26-30 2012; great room and fantastic location. Beach is beautiful. Hard working managers keep this older property ship-shape and comfortable. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Never seen washrooms and showers this dirty! The price was very high, internet did not work even though there was a charge. Will do better research next time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank WLTrailrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Beautiful old cabins right on the beach. It's rustic, but nice especially if you're looking for some peace and quiet in a beautiful place. A must to check out when in Tofino.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tar42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

As visitors who had completely overlooked the fact we were trying to camp on labour day weekend, places to stay were limited. In fact, any reservable spot in the area seemed totally booked up, so our only choice was a first-come first-served campsite. We had wanted to stay in the provincial park site, but as we were needing to stay put all weekend the lack of shower could have been an issue! So we chose Mackenzie Beach, on account of it a) having spaces and b) having showers!

So, the good stuff - right by the beach. Lovely beach, and some nice surrounding walks. Tofino itself was also a half hour walk from the campsite, so it was good to not have to drive everywhere! Pleasant staff, though a little indifferent.

The not-so-good - well, firstly, our first experience of a Canadian campsite was in a provincial park (Qualicum Falls) so we had a bit of a shock when we turned up at Mackenzie Beach and the pitches were practically on top of each other. Very little space/privacy. We also couldn't really comprehend the 'no alcohol' rule. What? No beers by the campfire? Though there was nobody enforcing this rule, so we were of course still drinking (sensibly and responsibly I might add!). The showers had half a curtain covering the doorways and were scalding - with no temperature controls - i've never had a shower like it. I physically couldn't stand under the water it was so hot! Additionally, one of the toilets got blocked one evening - though to their credit it was sorted out the following day. The whole toilet/shower block had a bit of a ramshackle feel, it's the little things that are so easy to improve that would go a long way. I wouldn't stay again, and wouldn't recommend it either. It's a shame, as with their location they could really make it a place to remember (in a good way too!)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bio_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We should have read reviews before... terrible stay in Tofino. So many things to complain about... When we tried to open the door to our cabin, it was jammed. We were told we would get a discount for that... however, on the next day nobody was responsible/had the authority, we had to wait for the manager and so on... In the end the guy who always delayed the decision turned out as the manager (you guessed it) and we got no discount.
Oh, wondering about how the rooms were? Have a look at the pictures, says it all...
Staff was generelly unfriendly and not interested in serving customer needs...
Oh, not to forget the stairs down to our cabin, which were barely illuminated.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Markus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Sadly all RV camps were fully occupied. Hence we had to stay one night at MacKenzie Beach Resort with our RV. For a little bit more money you can get much better places to stay around Tofino. The camp is old, "swimming pool" is dirty, restroom and showers: dirty. I would advice everybody to stay away from this place.

Only positive: its very close to a beautiful beach.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
7  Thank Rob0367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.2 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Meares Vista Inn
Meares Vista Inn
#13 of 16 in Tofino
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
328 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Cox Bay Beach Resort
#9 of 16 in Tofino
333 reviews
2.3 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacKenzie Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacKenzie Beach Resort

Address: 1101 Pacific Rim Highway, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Price Range: $71 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MacKenzie Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Resort is located on beautiful MacKenzie Beach and has cabins and suites only 2km from town of Tofino. Camping area for tents and RV's. Indoor heated salt water swimming pool(which is currently down for repairs) and hot tub for guests Resort & camping open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your MacKenzie Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackenzie Beach Hotel Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing