We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MacKenzie Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Tofino Resort + Marina(Tofino)(Great Value!)
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Tin Wis Resort(Tofino)(Great Value!)
$264
$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$226
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tofino Motel HarbourView(Tofino)(Great Value!)
$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Middle Beach Lodge(Tofino)(Great Value!)
$257
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveler rating
85
59
30
40
110
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
59
30
40
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmackenzie beachcoffee grinderwood stovebedroom cabinpouring raingreat beachoff seasonsound of the wavestofino areaocean viewstorm watchingdorothydogfirewoodkitchensurfingwalks
Filter
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 324 reviews
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Beautiful old cabins right on the beach. It's rustic, but nice especially if you're looking for some peace and quiet in a beautiful place. A must to check out when in Tofino.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tar42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

As visitors who had completely overlooked the fact we were trying to camp on labour day weekend, places to stay were limited. In fact, any reservable spot in the area seemed totally booked up, so our only choice was a first-come first-served campsite. We had wanted to stay in the provincial park site, but as we were needing to stay put all weekend the lack of shower could have been an issue! So we chose Mackenzie Beach, on account of it a) having spaces and b) having showers!

So, the good stuff - right by the beach. Lovely beach, and some nice surrounding walks. Tofino itself was also a half hour walk from the campsite, so it was good to not have to drive everywhere! Pleasant staff, though a little indifferent.

The not-so-good - well, firstly, our first experience of a Canadian campsite was in a provincial park (Qualicum Falls) so we had a bit of a shock when we turned up at Mackenzie Beach and the pitches were practically on top of each other. Very little space/privacy. We also couldn't really comprehend the 'no alcohol' rule. What? No beers by the campfire? Though there was nobody enforcing this rule, so we were of course still drinking (sensibly and responsibly I might add!). The showers had half a curtain covering the doorways and were scalding - with no temperature controls - i've never had a shower like it. I physically couldn't stand under the water it was so hot! Additionally, one of the toilets got blocked one evening - though to their credit it was sorted out the following day. The whole toilet/shower block had a bit of a ramshackle feel, it's the little things that are so easy to improve that would go a long way. I wouldn't stay again, and wouldn't recommend it either. It's a shame, as with their location they could really make it a place to remember (in a good way too!)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bio_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We should have read reviews before... terrible stay in Tofino. So many things to complain about... When we tried to open the door to our cabin, it was jammed. We were told we would get a discount for that... however, on the next day nobody was responsible/had the authority, we had to wait for the manager and so on... In the end the guy who always delayed the decision turned out as the manager (you guessed it) and we got no discount.
Oh, wondering about how the rooms were? Have a look at the pictures, says it all...
Staff was generelly unfriendly and not interested in serving customer needs...
Oh, not to forget the stairs down to our cabin, which were barely illuminated.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Markus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Sadly all RV camps were fully occupied. Hence we had to stay one night at MacKenzie Beach Resort with our RV. For a little bit more money you can get much better places to stay around Tofino. The camp is old, "swimming pool" is dirty, restroom and showers: dirty. I would advice everybody to stay away from this place.

Only positive: its very close to a beautiful beach.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
7  Thank Rob0367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

This property is on a family beach with 4 other resort properties. There is calm water, an opportunity for peaceful contemplation, and a great sunset view. The best aspects of being here are a great beach, doggy friendly attitudes, and exceptional tolerance of people for one another.
We have stayed here several times, over the years. This time, we were in a two bedroom cabin. It has been upgraded recently, with good tile floors, well maintained appliances, and an excellent stove in the fireplace. It is clean, the linen is clean, and the sofas are in good shape.
Tofino, in the summer, is stretched beyond its means, and this place is no exception. With an oversubscribed campground, RV's in every available space, limited parking, and cabins, the price/value margin for accommodation seems low.
It helps if you like dogs, while staying here. There is a lot of space, and dogs are happy. We were told -- you can take you dog pretty well to any beach in the area; just transfer him to the beach on a leash, manage his behaviour while off leash, and pick up his poop.
There are few staff here, and the office sometimes closes early, so it is sometimes difficult to find help.

Room Tip: Stay in a cabin.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kidssleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews