We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family few days...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crystal Cove Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The drive from Nanaimo to Tofino was one of the most amazing drives ever with mulitple stops for pictures! When we arrived at Crystal cove the staff were lovely and very helpfull. We chose the two story cabin with our own hottub. You are able to park your car right outside the cabin making moving cases into the cabin easy.

You have your own wood store outside the cabin that is filled up twice daily free of charge and firelogs inside the cabin just in case you dont want to build a fire yourself. The kitchen is sufficent for family needs but if being honest could do with a referb as starting to look slightly dated. The bedrooms were amazing as was the bathrooms. The main bedroom upstairs has access onto the decking balcony where the hottub is with lovely views first thing in the mornings.

The beach is less then a minute walk and is stunning with loads of room for kids to run about!! IF the weather isnt amazing you are able to borrow DVD's from reception which we did and the kids loved roasting marshmellows over the fire.

Negative points:

As mentioned the kitchen needs updating
The TV is wall mounted above the fire and either needs moving or a bigger TV as the size of the fire dwarfs it!
The outside log walls around the hot tub could do with a really good scrub as the felt dirty due to the steam from the tub.

Dont let the negative points put you off it is an amazing place to stay and as a family we loved it!

Room Tip: Treat yourselves and have your own private hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJ B, General Manager at Crystal Cove Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Matt.

Thank you for the great comments about our resort and I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us. The log cleanliness issue you brought up has been delt with and we do have a log cleaning program in place that we do quarterly, as the logs do get sandy and such with our oceanfront location. As for the kitchen comment, we have started a cabin renovation program that began last year with the first 5 cabins getting upgrades which include the kitchens, bathrooms and flooring. We will be doing another 5 this year and more each year moving forward. I look forward to showing you the upgrades upon your next visit.

Sincerely

J.J. Belanger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,394 - 1,400 of 1,524 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed in our tent trailer for a week at the end of July and had a great time. We were lucky to have one of the larger sites and a small trailer - otherwise, the site would have been cramped. Despite being small, the sites do offer privacy as they are well insulated with brush between each site.
The location is great! Two minute walk down to the beach and short drive into Tofino.
The facilities are immaculate and the playground was perfect for our children.
I found the office area a nice reprieve from the unseasonably chilly weather and the staff were very nice.
It was wonderful to have the free firewood.
We would definitely recommend this as a camping spot to other families.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Langley2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in our RV on the Crystal Cove resort. It was paradise! Within a short walking distance of the beautiful cove and sandy beach, beautifully landscaped too. The site provided first class facilities (and free coffee at the office every morning!) A perfect location for families.we hired bikes and rode into the centre of Tofino, whale watched, rode along endless sandy beaches,visited the botanical gardens. Brilliant place.....and my teenagers even got wifi!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claireh98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was our first time here, we had cabin #6 which I believe has the best view, which is looking directly out across the beach. We came here for relaxation, peace & quiet & that is what we got, no phone, wood fireplace, sound of the waves at night. The beds were unbelievably comfy, we had as much firewood as we could burn (which was alot over the two days). It is a little expensive but well worth the money to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckysue28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJ B, General Manager at Crystal Cove Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Luckysue.

Our team is very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to keep it a very relaxing place for our guests and to offer you the services needed to minimally impact you peace an quiet.

Please let us know if there is anything we can do better for you in the future and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely.

J.J. Belanger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a week, with our 20 year old kids, so it was a little cramped. We liked the cabin. The beds weren't the most comfortable, but the cabin was clean and conveniently situated close to the beach. The staff were friendly and competent. This is a good place to stay with younger kids. Even good for just a couple.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJ B, General Manager at Crystal Cove Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Russell C.

We are pleased you enjoyed your time at Crystal Cove. As for your comment about the beds, I am hoping you could let us know which bed in particular (regular bed or Futon) you found uncomfortable? We replace our beds with top of the line hotel quality beds from a well known supplier every 5 years. However should we get complaints such as this we would like to ensure that if there is an issues with a certain bed that we investigate it and change the bed out immediately for your comfort during your stay.

I would love to discuss this further should you have any more questions or comments.

Sincerely.

J.J. Belanger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Overall the resort is quite nice and it has easy and quick access to a very nice beach. We like the fact that it is pet friendly so we didnt have to leave our dog behind this time. The cabins are log cabin style, kind of rustic with an 80s feel to the cabinets and decoration. But they are very cozy with plenty of firewood and fire starter for the wood stoves and electric heat in case you dont like the idea of making a fire. Our cabin #11 was on a noticeable slant which felt funny to walk on at points. We had a slight view of the ocean through some trees and could hear the waves crashing when out front of the cabin as well. We were within 5min drive to Tofino and about 10min drive to Long Beach which was just spectacular. Only had a couple of small complaints. The hottub outside the cabin was not hot when we arrived and noone suggested we turn it up when we arrived so the first night in the hot tup ended before it began. I understand them wanting to save power but I would have appreciated a tip to turn it up when I arrived. The second thing was that the DVDs they offered at the front desk were scratched very badly from overuse so the movie that we got only played half way and then stopped. When I told them at the front desk the next day they said ya we know they are getting worn out and then just put it back on the shelf for the next guy to have the same problem. I expected a little better service and product for the cost. You dont have to offer DVDs but if you do make sure they work otherwise you just let people down.

The beds were very soft and comfortable (but small) and we were able to pick up Wifi faintly from the lobby as our cabin was close. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would come again. Just turn up the hottub when you arrive and bring your own movies.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view if you can. The view can be seen from each cabin on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark0319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJ B, General Manager at Crystal Cove Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Mark.

I apologize on behalf of the team here at Crystal Cove if we missed the opportuntiy to ensure all aspects of your stay were not perfect.

As Tofino is a small community on the west coast, our hydro power can be an issue with surges and blackouts from time to time. The hot tubs are affected by these as well and they will automatically reverts back to their factory preset temperature settings. We try to get to each hot tub after a hydro spike to reset them before a guest checks in. Somehow we did not get to your in time for your arrival. All our tubs are set at 103 degrees so you can jump in and relax right away.

As for the scratched DVD, again I am sorry this happened, but I am more upset that our staff member at the office just put it back on the shelf. We have over 500 complimentary DVD's to choose from and we do get the odd complaint about scratches. Our policy is to remove the DVD from the rental shelf and buff out the scratches before re-renting it to our future guests. This was brought up at a recent staff meeting and has since been rectified.

Thanks for your input on where we can improve in hopes that your next stay with us is flawless.

Sincerely.

J.J. Belanger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This resort has some of the nicest log cabins and beach property on Vancouver Island. The units are spacious and very well equipped. Cabins have fully equipped kitchen, wood fire place with unlimited firewood included, a gas BBQ and wifi access.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin nearest the water, but almost any are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John3554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,091 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Cove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Cove Beach Resort

Address: 1165 Cedarwood Place, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#4 Green Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: $48 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among ancient cedars at the edge of the Pacific Ocean, enjoy our 34 modern log cabins with spectacular views and all the amenities. Our well appointed, self contained cabins complement the incredible surroundings making Crystal Cove Beach Resort life as it should be. From Oceanfront Cabins with private hot tubs, to secluded Cabins set in the Rainforest, you will be immersed in the beauty that is Tofino. Our family oriented, pet friendly resort is located on Mackenzie Beach 5 minutes from the town of Tofino and 15 minutes from the Pacific Rim National Park and the famous Long Beach. For those who prefer to rough it in style, we also offer 60 well treed, private RV sites only a short walk from the beach. Don't have your own RV? No problem - try our Tofino Glamping Experience, 9 large 5th wheel units offering the feel of camping but with all the comforts of a cabin. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crystal Cove Beach Hotel Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing