We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Tin Wis (Calm Waters)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2006

Checked into our 3rd floor room, saw the view and knew we'd arrived at a class location. The hotel is lodge style, and I would say of a good 3 star standard - but its the setting that sets it apart - absolutely stunning. All rooms are ocean facing with balconies overlooking grounds that lead directly onto the beach. They face west which meant we enjoyed spectacular sunsets each evening.

We had originally intended to move on from Tofino after a couple of nights but immediately cancelled our next booking and extended our stay here. If time had permitted, we would have stayed on even longer. Definitely one to return to.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichaelDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,201 - 1,207 of 1,362 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
monte Cello KY
19
Reviewed February 13, 2006

Well my wife and I have stayed at Tin Wis the year before and the place was so well maintained it was like everything was new.Well this year Aug 2005 we stayed at the Tin Wis again and We checked in and got our keys went to our room and the door would not open.back to the front desk and the lady gave us a new key went back to the room same thing door would not open.Went back to the front desk and asked we would like to get in the room but the door will not
open.So the lady called the maintenance and this fellow walked up and said whats the problem.My door will not open.oh he said and said I have to get the master key and let you in .So we got in to are room but we could not go anywhere cause the door lock was not fixed.to top that off their was hair in the tub and the windows where dirty.We did get a chance to get to the hot tub area what a shock the place is falling apart fitness products where missing parts and the spa has not worked 3 weeks the front desk said. the hot tub was dirty and foamy.I went to the front desk at check out and said what happened to this place I have stayed here 2 times before and it was in top maintenace and everything worked.The front desk lady said we lost the best maintenace guy in April 2005 and everything is falling apart.We are sorry for this.I said you know you should get this guy back I remember him He was a really nice guy well tell your boss you do not know what you let go. Well off to a hotel that has the things I need .
S.Gregory KY

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2006

We went up to Tofino the weekend of January 28 and 29.It was my husbands birthday getaway.
When we got there we were informed that the hot tub had broke down the following day . We were disappointed as we were looking forward to watching the waves crash on the beach while sitting in the hot tub. The front desk lady was very nice and we asked for a upgrade to a suite with a jet tub which she gave us for a very resonable rate. The room was very nice with a great view of Mckenzie Beach.
We ate every night at the restaurant at the hotel. The service was great and the food was excellent.Try the seafood Linguini.
Overall it was a great weekend sunshine on the Saturday and stormy wheather on the Sunday couldn't have been better.
Even better they got the Hot tub working on the Saturday night so we got to enjoy the hot tubbing.
The only thing I can say negative about the Tin Wis was the breakfast on the Monday morning which the chef burned the muffin on the eggs benny and they didn't seem to care much. I think they took 3 dollars off the bill, which to me they should have replaced the whole breakfast.
But overall it was a great place and we would return there in a minute.

4  Thank merrit girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2006

The location is perfect. The food and service were excellent. Even when it rained, it was relaxing and beautiful. We stayed for 3 days, but could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angelino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2005

This was the best hotel we have ever stayed at! We had the loft suite, which gave us the luxury of two balconies, and two bedrooms - ideal for a family of four.

The location is stunning, with the beach at the end of the lawn. The sunset was spectacular. The rooms were clean and well-presented.

We found the staff to be extremely courteous and helpful, and the dining room staff were particularly pleasant to our two children (aged 10 and 6) who did not want to eat from the children's menu.

If we could come back here tomorrow, this is where we would want to be.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mammyof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2005

This was our first visit to Tofino and we had a two night stay at the Best Western Tin Wis. It is a bit pricey by Best Western standards but fair compared to hotel prices in Tofino in August.

All the rooms have ocean views of McKenzie Beach. It is like having a beach in your backyard. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

I will probably check out other hotels when I come back to Tofino (just for the sake of trying out different places) but I'd return to the Tin Wis if the prices are the same.

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BLKR1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2005

For young families and other budget-conscious vacationers, the Tin Wis offers great value for the dollar in a Tofino-area hotel/motel. It is a long, three-floor motel-like building that stretches across a wide well-tended property right on a popular beach. From every room, the guest can see across the hotel's huge lawn, down to the beach, on to the bay, past the sheltering islands and out onto the open Pacific. You can see, smell, and hear the sea.

This arrangement is perfect for a family with children, especially if you take one of the ground floor rooms. Sliding doors open on to the grass where the kids can run about on the huge lawn without danger (parking is only on the land-ward side of the building), or play on the beach, where the ocean surge is severely dampened by the semi-protected nature of the bay. For parents, there is a comforting amount of foot traffic on the beach at most times of the year. It is generated by the camp sites, resorts, and hotels found all along this stretch of coast between the Pacific Rim National Park and Tofino proper. However, the Tin Wis's surrounding trees provides good separation from the other facilities.

After two separate stays at the Tin Wis (one in summer, one in winter), we have found our standard rooms to be entirely adequate. They are small but the view compensates. A balcony gave us the opportunity to sit out and enjoy the air and the view. The sheltered outdoor walkways, stairs, and breezeways give the hotel a nice outdoors feel. They also keep noise down during busy periods such as New Year's Eve. The stair and parking arrangements made for good separation between guests, so much so, that it felt almost like renting a chalet.

While breakfast is not included, the Tin Wis's restaurant is popular. Its location -- on the lawn with ocean views on three sides -- is delightful. We found the breakfast offerings reasonably priced and excellent several days in a row. It seems that many customers come to this restaurant from the other places on the beach. Unfortunately, the price for dinner was out of our range so we opted to drive 3 minutes into Tofino or order from an excellent take-out place. Since budget family eating can be a problem in Tofino, one of the Tin Wis's kitchenette rooms might be a good choice.

Service we have found to range from great to indifferent, depending on the person. The Tin Wis seems draw most of its staff from a native group. I mention this only because cultural differences may account for the occasional miscommunication or curious attitude. We had a few instances when a restaurant or desk worker seemed to have an agenda that did not include attending to a waiting customer. One occasion reminded me of an observation about the man who inspired John Cleese's tragi-comic hotelier Basil Fawlty: "He liked everything about the hotel business except the guests."

While the Tin Wis has a hot tub and some other amenities, the lawn and the beach are the prime attractions. Also, the conference facilities served my company well when we held a meeting there.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank NW_Raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.8 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
330 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
1.1 mi away
Meares Vista Inn
Meares Vista Inn
#13 of 16 in Tofino
46 reviews
2.2 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tin Wis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tin Wis Resort

Address: 1119 Pacific Rim Hwy | Box 389, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Best Western Tin Wis Resort Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tofino
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: $76 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Tin Wis Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 85 luxurious oceanfront rooms The Best Western Tin Wis Resort Hotel offers impressive Tofino accommodations. Relax on your private patio and enjoy a perfect summer sunset. Feel the pulse of a winter storm from the comfort of your cozy bed with a most breathtaking view. With a variety of rooms to choose from, our Tofino Resort Hotel is sure to have exactly what you're looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Tin Wis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tin Wis Hotel Tofino
Best Western Tofino
Tofino Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing