We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We've just had a three-night stay at the BW Tin Wis with our student daughters, in between a few days in Vancouver City and another week in Ontario. At short notice we found it hard to secure rooms in the Tofino area for the dates we wanted, and were relieved when we found this. If this hotel were in a less enchanting location we would have minded its 'basic' elements (tiny bathroom, thin walls, mediocre decor..), but the view from the window of the lawns sweeping down to white beach and ocean more than made up for any lack. The breakfasts were fantastic, and it was very handy that there was a small laundry for guest use close to our room. Tofino itself was a 3km drive from the hotel, so very convenient for the bear and whale-watching excursions we'd booked. Our daughters were able to book a two-hour, expertly-led paddle-boarding session with instructors based at the hotel, so that was a great bonus. We would return to this hotel because of its chillled atmosphere and wonderful location.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Sheena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted B, General Manager at Best Western Tin Wis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 250-725-4445.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

762 - 768 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2014

I must confess that the last time I stayed here was a couple of years ago. The Tin Wis satisfies most of the requirements of a nice stay. The rooms were comfortable but not lavish. The staff was friendly and helpful. But few come here for hotel amenities. It's all about the beach and the location. The Mackenzie Beach is one of Canada's jewels. Mostly unspoiled and tidal, it is a perfect spot for paddle sports, kayaking, and just plain walking. It's a great place to spend a couple of days on a tour of Vancouver Island,

Room Tip: All rooms have a beachfront view. Simply choose the one that fits your budget. Remember, the room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptOlaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted B, General Manager at Best Western Tin Wis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 250-725-4445.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

On your next trip, please call me directly to book your next stay.


Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We needed a last minute room pet-friendly room in Tofino and ended up choosing Tin Wis for it's excellent location/proximity to MacKenzie beach (calm bay, soft sand, family and dog friendly, paddle boarders, cruise bikes, beach fires, etc). We paid the same price for a ho-hum two queen room that we would've paid for a luxury studio in Ucluelet at Black Rock. The beaches in Ucluelet are beautiful to look at but rugged and rocky. We opted for Tin Wis because we could hang out on the beach all day and into the night, yet have our room only steps away. Walls are thin and you can hear people next door and up above. Staff were very friendly. I'd try the other hotels like Middle Beach Lodge first if you're looking for charm.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rachel6086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted B, General Manager at Best Western Tin Wis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 250-725-4445.

On your next trip, please call me directly when making your reservation.


Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This place has huge potential, being right on the beach just outside Tofino. It is a very relaxed, not-too-fussy spot so is good for kids. Parking is almost at your doorstep. No air conditioning which seems to be very common on the island in general. It does cool down at night but sometimes there is not enough air movement for comfortable sleeping. The decor is very basic but reasonably clean. We did receive a call from the front desk shortly after checking in to ask if everything was alright which was a nice touch. The room had a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and kettle.
Tin Wis means "calm waters". The beach is lovely to walk along and many folks were having a fire on the beach in the evening which of course created the smell of smoke that wasn't so pleasant in one's room. WiFi was sketchy to say the least.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean - huge plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted B, General Manager at Best Western Tin Wis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 250-725-4445.

On your next trip, please call me directly when making your reservation.


Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Ample parking, friendly reception decorated with a First Nations theme as is most of the hotel.
All rooms face the beach & sea with either a patio or balcony for the upper floors which is ideal for the spectacular sunsets or just watching the dog walkers during the day. You're allowed to have camp fires on the beach and reception will sell you wood & fire starters or you can collect driftwood straight from the beach.
Breakfast was good, one day we tried elsewhere and they recommended Tin Wis as the best breakfast in the area! Evening meals were always good as was the service.
If there aren't enough walks in the area to keep you active then there is a gym and two hot tubs at the hotel as well as a surf/kayak school.
Tofino is probably about 1.5 miles away.
We stayed for 4 nights and would stay again at the drop of a hat.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ToonBarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted B, General Manager at Best Western Tin Wis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 250-725-4445.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

On your next trip, please call me directly when making your reservation.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights, staff were all friendly and professional, room was clean with all amenities, good wifi, great and easy walking beach. The attached restaurant and complimentary coffee and cookies in the lobby added to our stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms gave the easiest walkout access, though you may hear the person above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lad369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted B, General Manager at Best Western Tin Wis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 250-725-4445.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

On your next trip, please call me directly to book your next stay.


Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a standard Best Western in a very beautiful location steps away from one of Tofino's great, wide beaches. You are paying for the beach and that luxury is not cheap. The restaurant is pretty routine but fairly priced. My big beef is the terrible wi-fi service. Spent an hour in the "business center" trying to print out a boarding pass and gave up after it conked out five times.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Escritor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted B, General Manager at Best Western Tin Wis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 250-725-4445.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

On your next trip, please call me directly to book your next stay.


Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
328 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meares Vista Inn
Meares Vista Inn
#13 of 16 in Tofino
46 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tin Wis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tin Wis Resort

Address: 1119 Pacific Rim Hwy | Box 389, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Best Western Tin Wis Resort Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tofino
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: $100 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Tin Wis Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 85 luxurious oceanfront rooms The Best Western Tin Wis Resort Hotel offers impressive Tofino accommodations. Relax on your private patio and enjoy a perfect summer sunset. Feel the pulse of a winter storm from the comfort of your cozy bed with a most breathtaking view. With a variety of rooms to choose from, our Tofino Resort Hotel is sure to have exactly what you're looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Tin Wis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tin Wis Hotel Tofino
Best Western Tofino
Tofino Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing