We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed April 4-6, 2014 and was impressed with almost everything. The location is great, situated on Mackenzie Beach and it would appear that every room would have a view. Only a few minutes from the the town of Tofino.
The room we had, King Executive was beautiful and updated. Loved hearing the crashing of the waves even with the door closed.
We had a ground floor room and our own picnic table to enjoy. The grounds, directly infront of us, had some random garbage (counted about 6 different pieces) --- that is the only complaint ... and not that big of a deal. We had a great time. There are two hot tubs with a view of the ocean. Would love to stay here again! Great staff too!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    475
    118
    50
    24
See reviews for
314
599
40
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pender Island, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Great beach access and views. What beach front accommodation in Tofino is all about. Clean rooms and excellent value. The hotel is well situated for easy access to all the tourist attractions in Pacific Rim National Park. Be sure to check out the Wild Pacific Coast Trail in Tofino.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We recently stayed for 2 nights Mar. 27 - 29 at the Tin Wis and must say were very happy with everything. It is a great location, the beach right close by and the sound of the waves at night was very pleasant to listen to. The grounds are kept up very nicely with some work ongoing. Beds and pillows were most comfortable. The weather even co-operated making it a most enjoyable stay. We had dinner at the restaurant and the meal was very good as was the service. The room had everything we needed and for the time actually spent in the room (not on the beach) it was very comfortable. Would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 718beaches2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I have rated this hotel a 5, not because of its rooms, but because of the service and atmosphere.
My mom and I got the 3 nights for $99.00 a night deal...which is unfortunately over now. Anyhow we were greeted by very nice reception (staff) They gave us a room on the first floor, but i asked if we could have a room on the 3rd floor. With no hesitation they gave us one. If your thirsty , they have complementary bottled water from a dispenser, tea or coffee, and fresh complimentary fresh fruit... (in the reception area) The hotel has beautiful Native artwork through out the hotel...even in the bedrooms. Our room was very basic, but had a beautiful view of the beach and ocean. We had 2 Queen beds, small table with 2 chairs, nice size flat screen TV, dresser, and small microwave and coffee maker, and bar fridge. It also had a nice balcony with a small table and 2 chairs. The beds and pillows were very comfy.
The only thing that I would suggest, is if they could supply maybe microwave plates, or paper plates, and some cutlery, and a couple of real coffee cups. You should bring your own...if you are going to use the microwave. The restaurant that is in the hotel....did let us borrow a couple of spoons though.
We had a great sleep all 3 nights, with the soothing sound of the waves from the ocean.
My mom wanted a different type of tea, then what was supplied in our room, and they hand delivered 3 different types to our room with a smile...such great service !!
The exercise room is very nicely laid out, with fresh bottled water, towels, Free weights, 2 tread mills, all facing the ocean.....what nice scenery to look at while your having a workout. There is a TV there too....for those that want to watch a movie, or the news. The only draw back is that there is no wash room in the work out area, but there is one in the hot tub room...just outside, and down one flight of stairs. There are 2 very nice hot tubs in a cozy room....very clean, and windows to view of the ocean and tree's.
We went to the restaurant located in the hotel, and had a lovely reasonable dinner with again with a great view. The service and food were EXCELLENT .
The hotel has a small playground for children, and of course the beach.. just steps away from the hotel.. to have a stroll, or jog.
Tofino town is about a 7 min drive from the hotel.... or you can get a taxi into town for about $12.00 (including tip)
All in all I would recommend this hotel......the price and location is great.....The rooms are not too fancy.....but the service and atmosphere is awesome. All the staff of the hotel are very nice and make you feel welcome. Thank you Tin Wis staff for a great stay in your lovely hotel.

Room Tip: rooms on the 3rd facing the ocean in the newer building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubberducklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The rooms were redone/updated, comfortable king bed. Tiny washroom with a very loud fan!
Rooms weren't the most soundproof, (I think they should replaced the entrance doors to cut out the sounds from walkway/parking/surf school area.)
The restaurant had the slowest services staff ever (considering there was not very many people eating breakfast)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AiramV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The room was good. Seems all the rooms offer a nice view. The location is nice and easy to find. Short driving distance to town. Food was overpriced at the restaurant but was tasty. Do dinner in Tofino instead, small menu without a lot of options.

Room Tip: TIP: Get the rate which includes breakfast, its a good deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charwarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Best Western Tin Wis Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Tin Wis Resort; this feedback is important in helping us to work at improving both the product and service we offer. I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall and wanted to let you know that we are curently in the process of redesigning our dinner menu to improve both the variety and value. We will have this completed for the start of the summer season and would like to have you visit us again in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Loved looking out at the beautiful ocean view from our room. I was great to take a walk on the sandy beach whenever we wanted. The hotel accommodations were clean and very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this as a place to stay and will likely return at some other time. We did find the rooms not to be very well insulated, so it was noisy at times depending who was above us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank V H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.6 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,029 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
0.8 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tin Wis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tin Wis Resort

Property: Best Western Tin Wis Resort
Address: 1119 Pacific Rim Hwy | Box 389, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Best Western Tin Wis Resort Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tofino
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Tin Wis Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 85 luxurious oceanfront rooms The Best Western Tin Wis Resort Hotel offers impressive Tofino accommodations. Relax on your private patio and enjoy a perfect summer sunset. Feel the pulse of a winter storm from the comfort of your cozy bed with a most breathtaking view. With a variety of rooms to choose from, our Tofino Resort Hotel is sure to have exactly what you're looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Tin Wis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tin Wis Hotel Tofino
Best Western Tofino
Tofino Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing