We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Ideal Beachfront Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Ideal Beachfront Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Tin Wis is the ideal choice for anyone wanting a beautiful beach/oceanfront hotel accommodation in the Tofino area. With many great attributes, the key advantage of this hotel is that every room has a good view of the beach but the accommodation is different between the three buildings. We stayed in July and in the newest wing with three floors. Our unit was a corner room with a kitchenette, which is highly recommended! In this structure, ask for a room closer to the overpass (smaller numbers - like 501, 601, 701) so you have a better view down both sides of the beach. While the décor is adequate (not luxurious or quaint), the room was spacious, well equipped and had a great view! The kitchenette came with a toaster, kettle, mini-fridge, microwave, dish soap, and 2 stove top burners along with a sufficient supply of dishes but mish-mash of cutlery. Note that they don't supply paper towels or salt/pepper. The bed was comfortable. It was great to have a sofa to sit on. The balcony is roomy and had nice, new furniture for sitting and enjoying the view. Although mostly clean, their house keeping level could improve. When we arrived, there was a bag of garbage left in the closet and towels had not been stocked. We also found a dirty glasses, but the house keeping girls were very nice and were quick to fix these issues. It was nice to have the fireplace but the glass on the fireplace was too dirty to see the flames. A couple of other CONS to mention, these are - i) very slow WIFI and nearly not worth using and ii) no outdoor hot tub.

We loved the close proximity of the buildings to the beach and that there were benches and BBQs (gas and charcoal style) on or next to the beach for guest use. The booking process was also very easy with no deposits and super friendly front desk staff. And, there is ample parking.

We had a wonderful stay and I would consider returning. It is indeed, the best of the Best Western hotels! However, we felt it was not the best value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_FBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    436
    115
    47
    24
See reviews for
280
536
34
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Tin Wis is located on McKensie Beach just outside of Tofino. The rooms are modern, clean and spacious with wonderful oceans views and a gas fireplace if the nights are cool. For families there is a large green lawn with play equipment and the beach itself is perfect for long walks and building sandcastles. Their restaurant, Calm Waters, offers great views of the ocean and is a perfect setting for watching the sunset with a glass of wine. We found the staff to be welcoming and helpful in every way.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have an ocean view but if you travel in the fall or winter you might also want a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bookworms2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

For location this hotel takes some beating in that it sits right on the beach overlooking the Pacific. The downside is that it is nearly two miles out of Tofino (a 30 minute walk) although the local taxi is very good if you want to go out for a meal and not drive. As other reviewers have said, it is a motel type of building with First Nations owners and staff who generally are very good and helpful. Room prices appear to be negotiable according to how busy the hotel is and you need to remember that Tofino gets more visitors than it has hotel beds for many months of the year! Nearly all rooms have fantastic sea views which are better from the upstairs rooms. Prices tend to be for room only so take note that every single item at breakfast is charged for. Evening meals seem to be, at best, average so you may need to be getting to know the taxi owner whose knowledge of the area and menus at every restaurant is encyclopaedic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JourneymanNumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

You can't ask for much more in a location. We could walk out of our room and onto a stunning beach.

The rooms are good standard chain hotel rooms.

We ate in the resturant 3 times, twice for dinner and once for breakfast. The food is great (recommend the mac and cheese with salmon and bacon) but the service is better in the evening than the morning.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in sept. and had a great time. Friendly efficient staff welcomed us, we checked in smoothly. We got to our room which was clean and had everything we needed and the view was amazing!!! We dropped our bags and headed for the beach for a walk. We ate in the restaurant two evenings and one breakfast. It was extremely busy at all times but service and food was excellent. We did not have reservations for any of our meals and we were accommodated no problem. It would be an advantage to make a reservation because they are so busy. I can't say enough good things about this hotel, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank fantasticvoyage28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds. UK.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

After reading all the reviews we were a little apprehensive but absolutely delighted when we walked into our room and saw the amazing view .We had a basic room but it was really big and it was so lovely to lie in bed at night listening to the waves outside .Very comfortable bed and spotlessly clean ..would stay again like a shot .We did not have dinner ...met friends at the Schooner which was very good but breakfast was excellent and we found all the staff really friendly and helpful .Our only regret was only staying one night !

Room Tip: We were on the right hand side as you stand on the beach looking at the resort and we had a superb v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliacarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was booked to stay in a regular room, but upgraded once arrived with my family. The executive suite was worth the extra price! The hotel is really nice (and was receiving a new coat of paint while we were there), and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful - the management should appalud their efforts. The hotel is situated right on a very sandy beach. If you're a fan of First Nations art, then you'll also be spoiled by the decor here. I didn't notice any for sale - I think the hotel could capitalize on the opportunity to do so.

The only complaint that I have is that the wireless internet connection is terrible. Both my wife and I had trouble maintaining a link to the wireless network, and the rooms don't include the option for connecting via an internet cable. As we both had business work to do while in Tofino, this proved to be quite a pain.

We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveldude765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.6 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort

Property: BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
Address: 1119 Pacific Rim Hwy | Box 389, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tofino
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 85 luxurious oceanfront rooms The Best Western Tin Wis Resort Hotel offers impressive Tofino accommodations. Relax on your private patio and enjoy a perfect summer sunset. Feel the pulse of a winter storm from the comfort of your cozy bed with a most breathtaking view. With a variety of rooms to choose from, our Tofino Resort Hotel is sure to have exactly what you're looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tin Wis Hotel Tofino
Best Western Tofino
Tofino Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing